Questions? LIVE CHAT

#165 AD1 Motorcycle Pants - Black

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

AD1 Motorcycle Pants

65 Review(s)
SKU: 165

Availability: In stock


Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews (65)

Items 1 to 10 of 65 total

per page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7
First ImpressionsReview by Mitch
Ordered both the Darien and the AD1. The Darien fit wasn't for me. I agree, the AD1 fit is more like jeans. My normal jean size fit just about right. If I could change one thing I'd want just a tad more room in the thighs to make them roomier when seated. But they do fit well and will work fine. Both the Darien and the AD1 are built like tanks, and almost as heavy. Seriously, they are really heavy duty. But in a hard get-off it gives me the confidence that these pants will provide good protection. Overall, I am pleased. In a couple weeks I'll test them on an adventure ride and update the review. (Posted on 9/5/16)
Darian AD1 PantsReview by Rick
A lot of customers get requests for reviews right after purchase. Right, just removed them from the box and you want a review. Well now, it's been two years since I have had my Darian AD1 pants, so time for a review.

The good - Yes, I'd buy these again. Quality is top notch. There are waterproof, mostly, see "the bad". Had one oops at about 15 mph and not even a scratch, so protection seems excellent. Fit for me was spot on. The gortex liner is slippery, which I like, makes it easy to get the pants on and off, and they move around over mid layer pants and don't bind. I really like the two thigh pockets, they work very well for me.

The bad - None of these are deal breakers, but, if you are listening Aerostick, here are some improvements I'd like to see:

Ingress - Aerostich's idea is a full length zipper up the side. A holdover from one piece suits I guess. That however is not how I wear ridding pants. I simply slip them on over mid-layer pants, and sometimes boots. A zipper to upper thigh works fine. Your solution sucks. The snaps that you put on the waist simply won't stay closed. Before I taped together the waist using duck tape the side snaps would come undone about every half hour or so.

Waist height - OK, but I think an inch to inch and a half higher in the waist would be a better fit.

Lose the silly Velcro for the map pocket. It only collects lint and things. The map pocket would be too small to get a good view of your map, and I can't see trying to look down at a tiny section of may while I'm moving. If I need a map displayed that is what my tank bag is for.

Leakage areas - First of all, I've seen this complaint before, I have a pair or waterproof riding pants that cost half as much as these that have a full length barrier behind the zipper. The Darian barrier only goes about a third of the way. I've read other reviews saying the same thing, is not Aerostich listening? My solution is another waterproof layer I tuck like a bib in front of my pants when I know there is going to be a lot or rain since I don't particularly like sitting in a pool of wet. Don't think I should need to do that. Similar, but hasn't been as big of a problem I'd like a better waterproof closure to the regular upper pockets, maybe a zipper. Your waterproof cover with a small patch of Velcro allows for water to seep in to whatever is in my front pockets.

When these wear out I'll probably buy another pair ... but, while none of my complaints is a deal breaker, combined they would be enough to make me research some other options in the hope of finding something without these issues. (Posted on 1/5/16)
Great protectionReview by Cohye
First let me say that I purchased these pants with dual purpose in mind: 1) to wear over dress slacks (thin material) when commuting 2) as an alternative to wearing jeans. I understand they recommend wearing jeans underneath but I don't. I didn't get the hip pads either because I want a snug fit. I'm 5'10" 200 lbs. I normally wear 34 or 35 Levi's with 30" inseam. I went with the AD1 in 34 long which is absolutely perfect. I like the extra length since all pants hike up. When I'm walking around the length is not too long either.
If you are looking for versatility these are the pants to wear. Going camping with these pants are also perfect.
Hope this review helps (Posted on 11/21/15)
The Best By FarReview by Daniel
I have had two Roadcrafter suits(the first one in which I crashed in, saved my leg)This is my second pair of AD1 pants, I wore the first pair out. I ordered another brand after I wore the first pair out, trying to save money. After wearing the other brand for a very short time, I could plainly see that there is no comparison to Aerostich quality and function. I knew I would never be satified with any substitute.
So buy Aerostich knowing that nothing else will ever be the same, quality, workmanship, and the well thought out and time tested function can't be matched!
I wear 34x 30 jeans so I ordered 34R, these fit just perfect over my street clothes.
I can't wait until I am able(financially) to replace my 10 year old well worn Darien Jacket! (Posted on 11/16/15)
Great pants.Review by Darrell
The quality is just excellent, the fit is great. I would suggest getting one size larger than you wear in pants just to have some room for jeans under the pants. I did this and am very pleased. You can tell these were designed by riders not fashion designers. Not saying they don't look good they do. Thanks. (Posted on 11/2/15)
Great Pants, comment about fitReview by Bradford
I first purchased Darien jacket and pants about 15 years ago. Finally they were due for replacement. (the fabric and stitching still is fine but zippers, velcro and Gore-Tex gave up). Decided to try the AD1 pants this time. They are great pants and an improvement over the Darien pants in my opinion because of the greater angle at knees and the pockets. I am 6 ft 200 lb.35 - 36 inch street pant waist and 31 inch inseam. The sizing guidance put me at 36 inch for the AD1 waist. My Dariens were 38 and since I ride in winter when clear (Buffalo, NY) i need to have thick pile pants underneath some times. The 38's are great at the waist. I can take in the sides by one or two steps using snaps at the top of the side zipper when wearing thin street clothes. I ride with Combat Touring boots and find that the fit of the pants through the knee and down to the mid calf is just a bit snug but not a problem. (legs are fairly muscular) I believe I got then right size. They are wind and rain PROOF. Great Pant! (Posted on 11/1/15)
good but could be betterReview by willliam
I've had a pair for about a week. The material is stiff, but I expect it to soften up in time. Nice pockets. I like the money belt, but the buckle on the Darien is much more useful. That one you just need to buckle together, This one you have to cinch up each time. The lower legs seems a little too form-fitting and I don't see any way to let them out a bit, to allow more air circulation. Not sure what the velcro strips on the inside lower legs is for. (Posted on 9/24/15)
AD1 pants crash reviewReview by Mike
Very waterproof pants. Easy in and out. Good padding, thankfully. I crashed at about 55mph, loosing front wheel traction on a road hazard and low siding with the bike. I hit hard on my RH hip pad preventing a fractured hip, although I had soreness from the impact on my upper leg muscles which are unprotected. Good results. I was on the RH side of the moto, and slowly spun around 180 degrees with the moto. I was sliding on my side, at first sliding in a forward direction. As the moto spun around I was sliding backward. Coming to a stop, both knees had been dragging on the pavement, and the padding saved my knees. The frightening part is that the leg side leg zipper ripped open as I eventually slid backwards The split zipper exposed my one leg and knee from about mid thigh down to my boots. Fortunately, my knee pad stayed over my knee and no damage to my knee or leg resulted. It was only luck, because if the failed zipper and fully open pant size had slid off my leg or knee, I would have had very severe sliding damage and life changing damage to my knee. I repaired and am using the pants now, but I'm looking for replacement pants with either no leg zipper or else an inside leg zipper similar to the Roadcrafter. From my crash experience, the side leg zipper design is vulnerable to failure during a slide that puts pressure on the zipper. Except for the vulnerability of the leg zipper in a sliding crash, these are excellent pants. (Posted on 9/17/15)
Aerostich Customer ServiceReview by customerservice
The AD1, AD1 light, Darien, Darien light and Utility pants fit some women better with a 'Hip-Seat Ease Alteration' (#263), which adds more curve and room. Also named 'Gail's Gusset' this $75 alteration (new construction price) helps all of these pants fit better, feel better, look better and wear more comfortably on bodies with more shaped hips. See for more info and a diagram (scroll down, it's on the right side of the page near the bottom). Please contact us if you have questions about any product or available custom alteration. (Posted on 6/19/15)
women: size up if using hip padsReview by scootergirl
I ordered the regular 30 black. I'm 5'7" w/ inseam 30.5", waist 29, hip 36, a typical women's 8. The function is really great, as all the other reviews state (weatherproof, knee bend comfort, POCKETS!). This review is about fit.

I used with TF5 (thin) hip pads, and it's pretty snug to sit with jeans- sometimes the AD1 snap button pops open, even w/ the belt cinched. Without the TF5 hip pads, they fit perfect. The length is perfect for me.

My next order will be one size up for use w/ hip pads. (Posted on 6/18/15)

Items 1 to 10 of 65 total

per page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7