Questions? LIVE CHAT

#3081 Koss Earplug Speakers

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Koss Earplug Speakers

21 Review(s)
SKU: 3081

Availability: In stock


Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews (21)

Items 1 to 10 of 21 total

per page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
OW! Painful when removing your helmet!Review by Lex
I need to listen to music on my Boston commute, otherwise I'd go crazy in traffic! I had previously been using the earbuds that came with my Samsung phone when I came across these Koss earplug speakers. My Samsung earbuds are actually pretty good in terms of clarity and keeping the wind noise down but I figured $19 was worth an experiment. Based on the reviews posted here, the Koss speakers appeared to be a more comfortable option. Well, I can attest that the Koss speakers are very comfortable when in use and would be nice on long rides HOWEVER they sound terrible and they are extremely painful when removing your helmet. At first, I thought the speakers were getting caught on my earrings so I removed those and tried again to take off my helmet very carefully - same painful experience (the metal/plastic part of the speaker scratched the inside of my ear). No matter how I positioned the speakers in my ear, they kept getting caught and it felt like they were ripping the inside of my ears. My ears are still irritated 5 hours later. Perhaps this is a unique issue for me and my ears - who knows? In terms of the sound quality, I wasn't expecting a hi-fi experience but I did expect the speakers to at least perform at the same level as my Samsung earbuds, which probably cost the same to manufacture. Nope. The sound was muffled and the bass was way too loud. I tried adjusting the EQ on my phone and Spotify to no effect. Further, I didn't notice any difference in wind noise compared to my Samsung earbuds. I could still clearly hear all of the important road noises so that wasn't an issue. I'm going back to the Samsung's for now. I will keep the Koss speakers as an emergency backup but I will not be using them for my everyday riding. Try them yourself and see if they work for you! (Posted on 7/12/16)
Probably goodReview by guzziv
I have a $400 pair of fitted, hard earplugs with small speakers incorporated into them. The sound is good, but they hurt my ears and don't do a very good job of blocking wind noise. So I wondered if, at only $19, these could do as well without hurting my ears. So, in this review, I am basically comparing $19 ear phones to $400 ones! I would say the sound of these earplugs is better than the $400 ones AND they don't hurt my ears at all! But there is a down side, at least for me. I think I must have unusually small ear canals. I have problems with all kinds of ear plugs because I just can't get them into my ears. And the Koss ear plugs are just a bit too big for my ear canals. So, I cannot get them in far enough to cancel wind noise. And, whenever I take my helmet off, they fall out of my ears. I suspect someone with more normal size ear canals wouldn't have this problem, but I do. Other than that, I love these things and, even with that problem, I still use them more than the $400 set I have. (Posted on 6/30/16)
ear speakersReview by bikommuter
Best "personal sound appliances" I've ever had. My second set. Better then helmet mounted speakers (Posted on 8/30/12)
Seem fineReview by suzukizone
Using them with a Garmin GPS not for any hi-fi/audio use. Work fine, inspite of warnings about blocking traffic sounds, I didn't notice a prob. I feel as if the spoken directions from the GPS are coming from inside me head, very clear. Feel the wire leads seem awfully thin, worried they can be easily damages but just a guess. Seem overall to offer good sound quality for a very reasonable price. (Posted on 4/10/12)
I LOVE these Review by John G
I have several pairs of these and have used them on LONG motorcycle rides. They are economical, are very comfortable to wear for a long time (up to 13 hours of riding in a day) and I great sound out of them. I buy at least 4-5 pairs a year since I have a problem in misplacing them. I recommend they highly............ (Posted on 8/20/11)
they read my mindReview by augie
for the longest time I tried to strecth my work ear plug over my ear phones so I could get noise blocked while at the same time hearing someting to ease the bordom. Then wala these came along. Its was like someone read my mind and solved the problem. Ive been using these for more than a decade. They don't come any better, that is the sound, than the over-priced fancy looking ones. Heavier cable and a different jack could improved the durability . The big plus for any earphone is the high teck foam that dilivers the lows that make this im my opinion the best earbuds ever . Try a pair and be impressed.
Augie (Posted on 12/19/10)
Great Stuff with a slight Mod...Review by Thomas
So this site sells two practical ear plugs. These Koss and Comply NR-10 Earphones. Well, the Comply version fits/feels better and blocks out sound better, but the Koss speakers will last for years and years but is lame when it comes to blocking out wind noise. So, I took a pair of the orange foam ear plugs they sell here, poked a hole through it (using a red-hot nail) and slid it right onto the Koss speaker tube. PERFECT. NOW we get the quality of Koss with the comfort of the Compy. (Posted on 1/7/10)
The std plug is not so co...Review by Richard Sperry
The std plug is not so comfy, but there are a few things you can do to make them much better. I took a pair of Etymotic ER20’s plugs, removed the inserter, trimmed a bit of the Koss tube that fits into the foam parts, and installed the er20's on the tube.

They are now much more comfortable, and sound better.

You and also open up the speaker housing, and insert a small piece of foam from any cheap headphone cover over the back of the speaker. This vastly improves the bass response and there you go. There is a web site devoted to headphones and ear bud speakers, I think it's called headwise? (Posted on 2/14/09)
I've used these and they ...Review by Terrible Barbarian
I've used these and they actually sound quite a bit better to me than the expensive earspeakers that I tried, which were made by Etymotic. The foam works better than the plastic flanges at isolating the wind noise. The only problems, which are subjective, are that earspeaker cords are a huge hassle on a motorcycle, and that they eventually work their way out of the ear.

After trying this approach, I decided that the solution which is less of a hassle is to mount some high-quality headphones in the helmet, which will play loudly enough to be heard through earplugs. I took the drivers from a set of Koss PortaPro headphones and fitted them in my helmet, and mounted a jack coupler to the side of the helmet, which avoids the dangling wire syndrome and makes the connection a one-handed operation, even though it makes it necessary to include a plug/plug cable in the wire from the audio source. The silicone ball ear plugs are more comfortable and easier to use than the type that inserts into the canal. (Posted on 2/12/09)
I rate these poor for Mot...Review by Robert Novielli
I rate these poor for Motorcycle earbuds. Simply put, the rubber surrounds just don't block out enough noise. I have experimented with several foam replacements for the MDR ear plugs - no joy here.

These plugs sound nice outside of the MC environme (Posted on 12/24/08)

Items 1 to 10 of 21 total

per page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3