Questions? LIVE CHAT

#912 Black

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Ortlieb Dry Bag Saddlebags

31 Review(s)
SKU: 912

Availability: Out of stock


Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews (31)

Items 1 to 10 of 31 total

per page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Exceeded ExpectationsReview by Doug
When I got a new bike I planned to get a set of hard bags for it and bought these as place holders. My last bike had hard bags and I was convinced that was the only way to go.) Well 12,000 miles later I never got around to getting that fancy hard luggage. Didn't need to. Are they sturdy? They look as good as new. Are they capacious? They seem impossible to overfill even for a long trip. Are they waterproof? After riding all day in 8 hours of blinding rain on one trip everything inside was bone dry. Easy to get on and off, too. What's not to like. (Posted on 8/21/16)
Still Dry After Fifteen YearsReview by Dan
I bought a set of these in 2001. They've been on at least seven major trips and more long weekends than I can count. I've been caught many times in rain so heavy that trucks were pulling onto the shoulder to wait it out. They have never leaked. Not one drop.

They are larger than they look, and because they're just one big compartment, the space is all usable. When I pack for a long weekend camping trip, I often find I have to take a couple extra t-shirts or socks just to properly fill them out. As a bonus, the straps that run across the top of the closure are perfect for securing a pair of muddy sandals.

Shortcomings: the roll-top closure is complicated enough that you really don't want to be opening the bags by the roadside; pack them in the morning and leave them shut till you're at your destination. That's why there are tank bags and top boxes. Like all soft bags, they will scuff any surface they're rubbing against, especially when riding in the rain. Snider's Paint Guard (item 9058) is your friend.

Defects and/or failures: after about ten years, the adhesive holding the hook & loop to one of the over-seat straps failed. Since the hook & loop was also sewn to the bag, nothing fell off. It re-bonded when I heated it with an iron, but I put in a few stitches just in case. (Posted on 6/4/16)
really goodReview by artifactory
These are really nicely designed, functionally. Easy to open and close, and capacious. Not only waterproof, they're designed so water doesn't leak in through the opening.
Having the yellow ones, there's the added benefit of high visibility - a big plus in an urban environment where a cycle sometimes seems to be invisible to impatient drivers. (Posted on 5/24/16)
So ExcellentReview by Levi
These bags are nearly perfect. So simple, so much carrying capacity (40 liters each WHAT, I can easily fit my helmet inside one), and so waterproof. I had them out in a 4 hour deluge yesterday and they stayed bone dry inside.

I ride a '79 CB750 and have no problems attaching or taking off the drybags in about 2 minutes. Could be even shorter depending on your bike setup.

I could see the strap under the butt being a potential problem depending on your seat length and the strength of your booty, but it sits just far enough back on my bike to not be a problem.

Oh, who the hell though it was cool to put a tire track on the outside of a perfectly good looking bag? Ortlieb, fire the designer who did that. It's stupid. Literally, my only complaint.

Buy these now. (Posted on 4/10/15)
Nearly perfect dualsport bagsReview by Dr. Science
Have had these for 4 years now, using them on a pre-2007 KLR. Trips have included lots of weekends, a couple of weeks, and a 17-day trip to the arctic. The contents have never gotten wet, despite extended periods of total immersion (in a mudhole... yuck). The fabric has held up to many abuses including hot exhaust pipes, vibrasion against frame members, and collision with objects like rocks and branch stubs. The bags are large; on the 17-day trip I supplemented them with a fender bag, a small tank bag, and rolltop dry bag that mostly held food and sundries. Now for the problems. The mounting system is rather primitive, though with some adaptation they can be hung on a saddlebag frame. The usual slung-over-the-seat mounting leaves you with an uncomfortable strap running under your bum, though on the KLR I can relocate the straps to run beneath the seat. They are a bit inconvenient to open or close, so I usually pack so that I can run all day without going into the saddlebags. They are a bit homely, but not really more so than other soft luggage - it always gets a bit rustic after some heavy use. Finally, the price is great compared to most other saddlebag options out there. If mine ever die, I'll probably just get another set of them. (Posted on 2/18/14)
Excellent All Weather BagsReview by Martin
I've had these bags for about a month now and am very happy with them. I've taken several multi-day long distance trips, through some pretty harsh weather and the bags perform flawlessly. They fit directly on to my '08 KLR seat perfectly. In some reviews I read, there seemed to be concerns about "all the straps". There are just three straps that mount the bags to the bike and they are very simple/sensible. The closure system is identical to what you would find on a river dry bag. A note to post '08 KLR owners who wonder if these bags need a supplemental mounting rack: they don't. The existing muffler heat shield adequately protects the bag on that side from heat. I rode all day in 113 degree Mojave heat and the bag was fine - there was slight distortion on the mounting panel but nothing that concerned me. The contents of the bag (my tent) felt warm when I got it out after a day of riding, but no where near hot enough to cause damage. I can think of no reason that I wouldn't make this purchase again. (Posted on 9/17/13)
My third set of Ortlieb saddlebagsReview by JoeBob
These bags are one of the best additions you can make to a motorcycle that is street ridden daily. Both of my daily mules have them. My third set is replacing the first which lasted more than ten years. With some bungee cords these bags will let you do almost all of the errands that you would in the car. Only caveat is that they hold water inside just as effectively as they keep water out so if your bike is out in the rain be careful of how you fold and seal them or you will be bailing. Whether you are touring or running to Home Depot, these are the ticket. (Posted on 9/14/13)
Still GoodReview by Jerry Stevens
Well, I posted a review in '09. 66,000 miles and five years later I am still using these bags. I ride a cruiser long distances and wanted waterproof w/o rain cover. These are the real deal. They never have leaked and I have ridden in hard rain. They hold a lot. They are tough. I let one touch my exhaust for a short ride though I don't recommend it but it did not melt. The rubber bracket on the bottom for the strap was injured but not ruined. (Posted on 5/14/13)
Waterproof, ReallyReview by flying_hun
It seems that every time I go on a long tour I am reminded that if something requires a cover or a liner to make it waterproof, then it isn't waterproof at all. These bags require neither, and are the only truly waterproof panniers - hard or soft - I've ever used. Just back from a ride in the UK and France that featured several days of heavy rain, and the contents of these bags remained dry. Flexible, tough, easy to get on and off the bike (Versys), and waterproof. The best I've used. (Posted on 7/26/12)
Fit wellReview by Shef
I'm really enjoying these bags. They hold a fair amount and fit on an 01 sv650 without racks and without issue.

Have yet to test how durable and water resilient they are, but the build quality gives me high hopes. (Posted on 7/16/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 31 total

per page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4