Questions? LIVE CHAT

Aerostich Insulated Elkskin Gauntlet Gloves

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Aerostich Insulated Elkskin Gauntlet Gloves

40 Review(s)
SKU: 469-479

Availability: In stock


Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews (40)

Items 1 to 10 of 40 total

per page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Had to buy for my SonReview by Peter B
Purchased the insulated elk skin gauntlets on my first trip to Aerostich.
They were put to the test on a Trail Ridge Road in Rocky Mountain National Park this last July. Enthusiasts of this road know that snow and sleet at 11000ft is common. I kept reasonably warm , without any glove liners . The temp was below 32F and very wet-- hands stayed dry. The rubber visor squeegee worked very well.

The fit and craftsmanship are great--Aerostich seems to deliver what they promise.

Bought this pair for my son's birthday. He will be pleased. (Posted on 8/14/15)
I Wanted to Like ThemReview by Steve
d bought these to replace some deerskin lined gloves that had become so loose that I was afraid they'd come off in a slide. I used lined gloves as a bridge between electric and unlined ones, normally 40-60 degrees F.

I was very impressed by the quality and robustness of these. But I found that they constricted my hands to the point that my fingers became number. I thought that would go away as they broke in, but it didn't. Last weekend I had to pull myself out of an exercise at the MSF Advanced Riders' Course because my fingers had become so number that I couldn't shift.

Eventually I figured out that it wasn't the leather that was constricted the blood flow to my fingers, but the lining. And that, of course, doesn't break in or stretch.

So I guess I'm going to use them for the 4 mile commute to work but can't wear them for much more than 30 minutes at a time. Which is very unfortunate. (Posted on 4/27/15)
Fantastic GlovesReview by Richard
I compared with the Held Rainstar. Aerostich is a much better fit for me and construction quality is superior. My hands stayed warm while riding in 35 degree weather. Very nice gloves. Glad to see these are US made. (Posted on 3/15/15)
Elkskin Gauntlet'sReview by richard
Perfect fit ( don't forget to order a size larger, if getting the insulated version), and very well constructed. Built to last. Rode yesterday in 37 degree weather and did not need to turn on hand grip warmers. (Posted on 11/26/14)
Well put together. Problematic in the fitReview by Timothy
Aerostitch makes greats stuff and these gloves are no exception. Quality materials and construction. I have worn these on days that ranged from low 40's up into the low 80's and these gloves have been comfortable through the entire range.

Sizing and fit is problematic and I wish all glove makers would base fit not on 1 dimension, the distance across the palm, but with another dimension which is finger length or at least the distance from the tip of the index finger around to the tip of the thumb. In brief these gloves have VERY short fingers in relation to the palm measurement and while I was already at an XL based on recommendations from the sizing tool and the PLUS 1 for insulation, I was reluctant to return them for a larger XXL since my palm already had generous space.

So, I will give the construction of the gloves a nod because for all of the finger stretching I have put them through, jamming pegs up each finger to stretch them while the glove was wet, pulling the thumb and index finger around a greased pole so I could get an unstrained grip around the throttle..... The stitching has held up. The palm dimension has been more than adequate all along, and now the fingers are just right.

I wish the fingers and palm came pre-curved in the shape of a grip with the top leather already prone to bending around the grip, and that the finger length was improved because it has been a fair amount of work to break these things in. The leather is soft upon delivery but it requires quite a bit of shaping and stretching to hold on to the bars (mostly because of the finger length) But I think after today, after about 500 miles and a couple of weeks, I'll be able to ride cramp free in the comfort that was intended and not fight the leather. (Posted on 9/18/14)
Ridiculous sizingReview by Normal
If you have the palms of a man and the fingers of a dwarf these are the gloves for you. The sizing is that far off. (Posted on 3/27/14)
Awesome gloves but...Review by Rick
My wife and I have the Elkskin ropers and love them. I wear a size 9 1/2 in them, but the insulated gauntlets are too small in a 12- the largest size available. The staff even tried on every 12 in stock and sent me a second pair , hoping for a slight variation in sizing, but to no avail. I'm really disappointed, though pricey, the gloves are well made, classy looking and I'm sure would have been warm enough. I hope this is passed on to the manufacturer so they adjust their sizing to be much more accurate and perhaps consider making them in larger sizes (Posted on 2/28/14)
Nice looking gloves, but way too smallReview by Zeke
I just received the gloves after a 4 week back-order wait. They look great, but are way too small. By the sizing chart I wear a large. The reviews say to order a size bigger, but I ordered the largest size, a XXL. It's still too tight, I wish they made a XXXL. (Posted on 2/13/14)
Great GlovesReview by Bill
I wear regular elk skin ropers almost year round - riding, driving, mowing the lawn - you name it! When the temps get down into the 30's, my heated grips don't cut it and these insulated elk skins are just the ticket. I wear them skiing as well. This is my second pair to replace ones that wore out after six years or use. (Posted on 1/6/14)
Almost...Review by Damien
Well so far the gloves are great. Super soft leather. Keeps my hands pretty warm on (semi) cold California mornings. And look great. However I'm having one slight issue. I think there is some sort of manufacturing defect with my right glove. It is not fitting quite right around my thumb and first finger. It's almost like the inner lining was not sowen in right, and there is extra material that bunches up, so the fingers don't quite bend as freely as they should, and the material also rubs against my fingers a bit. I've given it a couple of weeks to break in, and the left hand is fine however the problem with the right still exists. Also the strap that goes over the right hand is not as long as the left and barely touches the velcro, which also leads me to believe this may just be a quality control problem. (Posted on 12/12/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 40 total

per page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required