Read the Catalog Online - Now
Order (Or Download) The Print Catalogs Here

Questions? LIVE CHAT

Aerostich Insulated Elkskin Gauntlet Gloves

Videos

Aerostich Insulated Elkskin Gauntlet Gloves #469-479

35 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$133.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 35 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Awesome - UK Winter Review by WRG
My hands measure 9.5cm so I followed the advice of the other reviewers and went for a size 10.5. They fit really well. A couple of long rides totalling approx 5 hours at about 3 centigrade and a bit of rain and the gloves are awesome! The palm leather is obviously hard wearing but thin enough to give good feedback (better than my textile winter gloves) and the top layers work brilliantly. Heat from the heated grips transmits well and all in all, the've proved a success so far. One happy customer! (Posted on 11/6/12)
Insulated Elkskin Gauntlet Gloves Review by Chris
I recently purchased the Insulated Elkskin Gauntlet gloves prior to an early fall ride around the Smokies. I am very happy with this purchase. I bought the gloves one size larger than a non-insulated glove. They were tight and a bit bulky at first, but after a few hours on the bike they began to fit like I expected and after several days, the fit was perfect. We had several very chilly (high thirties and low forties) mornings and a couple of very cool evenings; without these gloves, those rides could have been miserable. (Posted on 10/17/12)
Insulated elkskin gauntlet gloves Review by Frederic
These are great gloves, I ordered 1 size larger than the competition elksin roper gloves and they fit perfectly. I had a pair alpinestars that didn't fit right and were slick on the palm which required much more pressure on my right hand. The aerostich gloves are far better and less expensive. (Posted on 9/22/12)
Gauntlet Gloves Review by peter
I purchased the Insulated Gauntlet Gloves. Very happy with them. High quality, well made, very soft and pliable. It hasn't been real cold of late, but so far they seem to be beautiful gloves and I think they will keep my hands plenty warm in the cold. The size chart said I needed the smaller of the size 10, but having read what others have written about getting them bigger, I got the size 11 extra large. Was a good choice as they fit fine and think the size 10 would have been to small. I recommend these glove. You will not be disappointed. (Posted on 9/6/12)
Great gloves Review by ScottyD
I've had the Roper gloves for months now, & they're the best gloves I've ever owned.

These winter gloves arrived just after I'd left for a cold, wet 3 day ride in the mountains, whereupon they were sorely missed.

Haven't really been for a decent ride since, so haven't had a chance to break them in yet, but they seem to be the same good quality as my Ropers.

Note: If you've already gotten the usual Roper gloves (and you really should), remember that these winter versions should probably be ordered a size larger. I ordered the same size & they're very tight (all those extra layers). I reckon they'll stretch ok, but a size up would've been perfect from the start. (Posted on 6/26/12)
Just Right Review by Rainman
Live in California...Ideal for night riding (low to mid 40's). I am a 5'7" ordered gloves 1 size over, as many colleges subjected. That worked out very nicely. I was wearing leather jacked and thick hoody. Gauntlet covered me fine but if I was wearing cold weather gear the gauntlet may be a bit small. Quality craftsmanship. Turned around and purchased the "roper" glove for spring. (Posted on 4/17/12)
Nice Gloves Review by Chad
Good gloves, nice warmth at least down to about 30 with heated grips. Had to order 1.5 sizes larger. Still rather tight but working them in. (Posted on 4/5/12)
SMALL Review by Staush
Ordered a pair 1/2 size larger than measured. Too small so returned for one size larger than measured, still pretty tight but am hoping they will stretch a little. Great looking and well made glove but the sizing just isn't right. (Posted on 2/7/12)
Sweet and Smooth Review by Proaddy
I really like these gloves, they are definitely "old school", as compared to my BMW Pro Winter 2 gloves. Both have about the same warming properties, and the beemers are waterproof. But I do like the Aero's, I also use them for cold weather dog handling; they're tough and flexible and it helps to break them in. By all means, get them one size larger as recommended. (Posted on 1/5/12)
Too Small Review by Eratosthenes
Too small. I had to return the gloves that were one size larger than the chart, and get a size 1 1/2 size larger. Also, on both pairs, I noticed that it was a bit difficult getting my thumb into the right glove. I had to work my thumb in through the insulation. I had thought it was just a quirk with the first pair, but I was wrong. (Posted on 12/30/11)

Items 11 to 20 of 35 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Mr. Subjective on Insulated Elkskin Roper Gloves

The Insulated Elk Ropers are different than every other winter riding glove on the market. They are not the bulky thick common cold weather glove ski/snowmobile type glove made in Asia, with a textile and cowhide outer and a fleece inner. They are based on the Elk Ropers (our most popular glove) but feature a knit merino wool lining. The gauntlet section is lined with a slippery nylon knit so it's easier to rotate one's wrists a little without also twisting the sleeve of one's jacket. Which is what happens with unlined deer and elk leather gauntlets.

There is a lot of nuance in this glove. In addition to the thumb visor squeegee, there's a windproof fabric across the back of the hand and fingers positioned between the outer leather and the inner merino wool knit. Farther back, the gauntlet tapers out wider than most cold weather gloves, helping it go over sleeves easer. The gauntlet and wrist have Velcro tab/strap closures that are ergonomically reversed for faster easier off-and-on adjustment. The knuckle pad is made of TF 3 (same as our impact armor)... Continue

Washable Leather?

“All of the elkskin glove models are cut and sewn on the exact same patterns so they fit similarly from model to model, but there are slight variations from glove to glove because each glove is hand made and each section of elkhide is a little different. A great way to quickly custom-fit a new pair is to fully wet-saturate on a warm day when you know you'll be riding continuously for several hours, then let them dry and conform to the shape of your hands during that ride.

Elkskin and deerskin can be safely washed using warm water and mild soap. This removes accumulated dirt, oils and stains and will help gloves last longer and feel nicer. After rinsing to remove residual soap, gloves should be gently wrung damp and allowed to dry gradually at room temperature. Do not apply direct heat when drying. They shrink slightly but will stretch to fit during wear.”

–Mr. Subjective.

X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required