Questions? LIVE CHAT

Aerostich Merino Wool Insulated Elkskin Gauntlets

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Aerostich Merino Wool Insulated Elkskin Gauntlets

43 Review(s)
SKU: 469-479

Availability: In stock

$135.00

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews (43)

Items 1 to 10 of 43 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
Pretty goodReview by Brian
Like people said about sizing, go ahead and order up 2ish sizes depending on your hand size. Maybe go up 2 solid sizes so they're not too tight. I have gangly skeleton fingers so I ordered to a size 11 and I'm a 9.5 in regular Lee Parks M size. The right hand is a little tighter but they're good enough. I found the threshold of temperature is roughly 34°F. You'll need heated gloves after the fact or at least brush guards to help with wind a little. I'm on a r100gs with no guards and the heated grips are old and provide minute amount of heat. Even on my old r1200gs, the heat didn't help much. Overall I'd say they're decent gloves, but don't count on them for long rides in that cold weather. Lake Shore Drive winds and 34°F had my hands hurting after my 30 minute commute, but my tolerance of cold is non existent. Good quality glove though and only have about 300 miles on them, but it's all been through this tail end of February and March in Chicago which is still no picnic, as Midwesterners are very familiar with the tumuluous weather. (Posted on 3/18/16)
Have FaithReview by Bill
It seems these grow a size when you break them in, so don't let the first fit scare you off. Go up the 1.5-2 sizes for the insulation, then have a little faith. They're still going to feel tight when you put them on. They will break in fast.

If I hadn't experienced that with the regular Elkskin Ropers before, I probably would have returned these. They felt tight even though I went up a full 2 sizes from the uninsulated gloves I wear daily and love. After I soaked them, it was worse, I could barely get my hands inside them. Then the magic started. Three wears, about five hours total. Now I LOVE them.

I'm a big fan of the gauntlets, they are easy to get on and work well over my Darien and Transit sleeves. The black dye washed out a little bit from the break in wetting -- not onto my hands, but they just don't look so fully black anymore (not anything I care about). (Posted on 12/16/15)
First Impressions....Review by Bill
My favorite gloves BY FAR are my Elskin Ropers. I started with size 10s but eventually moved down to size 9 because they really do break in and conform to your hand. The 9s fit me like, well, a glove, once broken in.

First, the gauntlets are superb. They really work well with my jacket sleeves (Darien and Transit). Second, I like the knuckle pad and wrist strap. I will almost certainly try the competition ropers in a decade or so when my other regular ones wear out.

What a dilemma on sizing. I went up all of 2 sizes from the gloves I love and got an 11 in these to follow the imperative of avoiding tightness in a winter glove. I might have gotten an 11.5 but that's not made. These 11s feel a bit snug right now out of the box, to the point where I would not buy them if they were your typical ski glove made from nylons and such. However, these are leather and wool, and with my past experience with the plain ropers I'm expecting the magic to happen as they break in and loosen up. It is, though, a leap of faith.

I'm sticking with these, wish me luck. I'm thinking that the 12s would feel better right now but in the end they'll be a little baggy. That's what's going on with my 9 & 10 uninsulated now.

I see lots of folks wrestling with sizes in the comments and can sure see how one might be put off by these on the first try-on. If I can edit this in the future after they break-in, I will update the review. If it helps anyone, I'm a big guy at 6'5" but only average boned. I usually find gloves a little loose in the palm or short in the fingers. I typically go for an XL in your standard vanilla WalMarty type glove, occasionally an L if the cut has long fingers. (Posted on 12/11/15)
Had to buy for my SonReview by Peter B
Purchased the insulated elk skin gauntlets on my first trip to Aerostich.
They were put to the test on a Trail Ridge Road in Rocky Mountain National Park this last July. Enthusiasts of this road know that snow and sleet at 11000ft is common. I kept reasonably warm , without any glove liners . The temp was below 32F and very wet-- hands stayed dry. The rubber visor squeegee worked very well.

The fit and craftsmanship are great--Aerostich seems to deliver what they promise.

Bought this pair for my son's birthday. He will be pleased. (Posted on 8/14/15)
I Wanted to Like ThemReview by Steve
d bought these to replace some deerskin lined gloves that had become so loose that I was afraid they'd come off in a slide. I used lined gloves as a bridge between electric and unlined ones, normally 40-60 degrees F.

I was very impressed by the quality and robustness of these. But I found that they constricted my hands to the point that my fingers became number. I thought that would go away as they broke in, but it didn't. Last weekend I had to pull myself out of an exercise at the MSF Advanced Riders' Course because my fingers had become so number that I couldn't shift.

Eventually I figured out that it wasn't the leather that was constricted the blood flow to my fingers, but the lining. And that, of course, doesn't break in or stretch.

So I guess I'm going to use them for the 4 mile commute to work but can't wear them for much more than 30 minutes at a time. Which is very unfortunate. (Posted on 4/27/15)
Fantastic GlovesReview by Richard
I compared with the Held Rainstar. Aerostich is a much better fit for me and construction quality is superior. My hands stayed warm while riding in 35 degree weather. Very nice gloves. Glad to see these are US made. (Posted on 3/15/15)
Elkskin Gauntlet'sReview by richard
Perfect fit ( don't forget to order a size larger, if getting the insulated version), and very well constructed. Built to last. Rode yesterday in 37 degree weather and did not need to turn on hand grip warmers. (Posted on 11/26/14)
Well put together. Problematic in the fitReview by Timothy
Aerostitch makes greats stuff and these gloves are no exception. Quality materials and construction. I have worn these on days that ranged from low 40's up into the low 80's and these gloves have been comfortable through the entire range.

Sizing and fit is problematic and I wish all glove makers would base fit not on 1 dimension, the distance across the palm, but with another dimension which is finger length or at least the distance from the tip of the index finger around to the tip of the thumb. In brief these gloves have VERY short fingers in relation to the palm measurement and while I was already at an XL based on recommendations from the sizing tool and the PLUS 1 for insulation, I was reluctant to return them for a larger XXL since my palm already had generous space.

So, I will give the construction of the gloves a nod because for all of the finger stretching I have put them through, jamming pegs up each finger to stretch them while the glove was wet, pulling the thumb and index finger around a greased pole so I could get an unstrained grip around the throttle..... The stitching has held up. The palm dimension has been more than adequate all along, and now the fingers are just right.

I wish the fingers and palm came pre-curved in the shape of a grip with the top leather already prone to bending around the grip, and that the finger length was improved because it has been a fair amount of work to break these things in. The leather is soft upon delivery but it requires quite a bit of shaping and stretching to hold on to the bars (mostly because of the finger length) But I think after today, after about 500 miles and a couple of weeks, I'll be able to ride cramp free in the comfort that was intended and not fight the leather. (Posted on 9/18/14)
Ridiculous sizingReview by Normal
If you have the palms of a man and the fingers of a dwarf these are the gloves for you. The sizing is that far off. (Posted on 3/27/14)
Awesome gloves but...Review by Rick
My wife and I have the Elkskin ropers and love them. I wear a size 9 1/2 in them, but the insulated gauntlets are too small in a 12- the largest size available. The staff even tried on every 12 in stock and sent me a second pair , hoping for a slight variation in sizing, but to no avail. I'm really disappointed, though pricey, the gloves are well made, classy looking and I'm sure would have been warm enough. I hope this is passed on to the manufacturer so they adjust their sizing to be much more accurate and perhaps consider making them in larger sizes (Posted on 2/28/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 43 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5