Read the Catalog Online - Now
126 Page 2014 Supplement

Questions? LIVE CHAT

Aerostich Insulated Elkskin Gauntlet Gloves

Videos

Aerostich Insulated Elkskin Gauntlet Gloves #469-479

35 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$133.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly.

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 35 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Ridiculous sizing Review by Normal
If you have the palms of a man and the fingers of a dwarf these are the gloves for you. The sizing is that far off. (Posted on 3/27/14)
Awesome gloves but... Review by Rick
My wife and I have the Elkskin ropers and love them. I wear a size 9 1/2 in them, but the insulated gauntlets are too small in a 12- the largest size available. The staff even tried on every 12 in stock and sent me a second pair , hoping for a slight variation in sizing, but to no avail. I'm really disappointed, though pricey, the gloves are well made, classy looking and I'm sure would have been warm enough. I hope this is passed on to the manufacturer so they adjust their sizing to be much more accurate and perhaps consider making them in larger sizes (Posted on 2/28/14)
Nice looking gloves, but way too small Review by Zeke
I just received the gloves after a 4 week back-order wait. They look great, but are way too small. By the sizing chart I wear a large. The reviews say to order a size bigger, but I ordered the largest size, a XXL. It's still too tight, I wish they made a XXXL. (Posted on 2/13/14)
Great Gloves Review by Bill
I wear regular elk skin ropers almost year round - riding, driving, mowing the lawn - you name it! When the temps get down into the 30's, my heated grips don't cut it and these insulated elk skins are just the ticket. I wear them skiing as well. This is my second pair to replace ones that wore out after six years or use. (Posted on 1/6/14)
Almost... Review by Damien
Well so far the gloves are great. Super soft leather. Keeps my hands pretty warm on (semi) cold California mornings. And look great. However I'm having one slight issue. I think there is some sort of manufacturing defect with my right glove. It is not fitting quite right around my thumb and first finger. It's almost like the inner lining was not sowen in right, and there is extra material that bunches up, so the fingers don't quite bend as freely as they should, and the material also rubs against my fingers a bit. I've given it a couple of weeks to break in, and the left hand is fine however the problem with the right still exists. Also the strap that goes over the right hand is not as long as the left and barely touches the velcro, which also leads me to believe this may just be a quality control problem. (Posted on 12/12/13)
These are great! Review by Michael
I got these to help battle the bitter mornings here in Northern California. I have to say these things are great! Comfortable and warm! So far it's been in the upper 40's and they've worked well on the freeway. I can still feel the cold coming through, but it's manageable. And do get a size bigger. My other gloves are XL and the XXL on these fit perfect. I'm recommending them to my friends for sure! (Posted on 11/23/13)
Insulated Elkskin Review by Jason
I've owned the uninsulated elkskin competition roper's and they have been my glove of choice for several years. After getting to try on a pair of insulated gauntlet ropers at a pop-up aerostich event, I purchased the black elkskin gauntlets and the nikwax glove treatment. They sizing instruction to add a size to the roper size worked well. A little snug, but if they stretch a little I may even get silk ski liners in for those really cold days. I've worn the new insulated elkskin gauntlets in 38-42 degree morning commutes (dry so far) and they've been great. Almost as good feel as my uninsulated and much better than prior Thinsulate A* gloves. After 26 miles the only thing that could feel any colder temp at all was my thumb. I don't have electric grips and often ride down into the 20s as long as it's dry, I'm looking forward to my winter riding much more with these gloves. (Posted on 10/21/13)
Adding warmth Review by Gerald
Ordered one full size larger than chart measure and they fit snug. Added Aquaseal leather conditioner and put them to use. Along with my Kanetsu Windstopper vest under a Harley nylon jacket, I have been commuting 20 miles to work in 33-38 Portland, OR dampness this last month and staying dry from the waist up. These gloves are dry and warm so far. (Posted on 3/2/13)
Commuting Choice Review by Tom in Iowa
I have only had these gloves for a short while, so no comments on durability (or crashworthiness). They are plenty warm for commuting 15 minutes at freeway speeds at temperatures down to about 40°F, even on the bikes without grip heaters, which is pleasing for a relatively thin glove. Unlike my other winter gloves, I can operate the keypad on my garage door with them on, and even pick up a coin from a table. Best of all, they are some of the most comfortable gloves I have worn (both moto and non-moto).

I find the back-strap very hard to get through the metal loop while wearing the other glove, so I always reattach the strap loosely before putting the gloves on rather than letting it hang loose. Otherwise very easy to get in and out of, especially compared to some moto gloves where it is almost a life-or-death struggle.

Some break-in notes. I treated them with the suggested Nikwak Glove Proof before using them. First ride in the rain, the leather was saturated, and was still damp after air-drying all day in the office, but the inside stayed dry. Next rain ride the leather stayed relatively dry, even though I did not do anything to them in between. I have not noticed any dye leaking (I have the black ones). The palms and fingers were more slippery on the controls than other gloves, but they are getting more “tacky” with use and are now about the same as other gloves. The lining would snag on my thumbs when putting them on, but this has gone away with use. (Posted on 11/21/12)
Almost to the bitter end Review by Shaggy
Great gloves get better with use. I have a nearly 2 hour one-way commute every day, about 130 mile round trip, so when it got below 50 I looked around for something warm. These gloves delivered. I ordered a size up as recommended and that's been fine. They break in easily, though it takes a bit of wiggling to get the wool liner to smooth out when I put them on. Feel for the controls and grip were much better than I expected. Unlike synthetic insulation, it seems to me that leather and wool can actually warm you up once cold - for example once it gets dark the air cools off and you switch gloves - synthetic insulation may stop the heat loss but doesn't seem as warm to me. Plus if your hands are wet - just try taking off and putting back on a pair of thin synthetic lined gloves, they'll be inside out and tangled in no time!! Not with these mitts.
That said, it's now below 30 and dark, and I've gone to battery powered gloves, because after more than an hour at speed, it's just too cold for anything else. But for all the middle cool-to-cold weather - these are the gloves, uh, "hands down." (Posted on 11/16/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 35 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Mr. Subjective on Insulated Elkskin Roper Gloves

The Insulated Elk Ropers are different than every other winter riding glove on the market. They are not the bulky thick common cold weather glove ski/snowmobile type glove made in Asia, with a textile and cowhide outer and a fleece inner. They are based on the Elk Ropers (our most popular glove) but feature a knit merino wool lining. The gauntlet section is lined with a slippery nylon knit so it's easier to rotate one's wrists a little without also twisting the sleeve of one's jacket. Which is what happens with unlined deer and elk leather gauntlets.

There is a lot of nuance in this glove. In addition to the thumb visor squeegee, there's a windproof fabric across the back of the hand and fingers positioned between the outer leather and the inner merino wool knit. Farther back, the gauntlet tapers out wider than most cold weather gloves, helping it go over sleeves easer. The gauntlet and wrist have Velcro tab/strap closures that are ergonomically reversed for faster easier off-and-on adjustment. The knuckle pad is made of TF 3 (same as our impact armor)... Continue

Washable Leather?

“All of the elkskin glove models are cut and sewn on the exact same patterns so they fit similarly from model to model, but there are slight variations from glove to glove because each glove is hand made and each section of elkhide is a little different. A great way to quickly custom-fit a new pair is to fully wet-saturate on a warm day when you know you'll be riding continuously for several hours, then let them dry and conform to the shape of your hands during that ride.

Elkskin and deerskin can be safely washed using warm water and mild soap. This removes accumulated dirt, oils and stains and will help gloves last longer and feel nicer. After rinsing to remove residual soap, gloves should be gently wrung damp and allowed to dry gradually at room temperature. Do not apply direct heat when drying. They shrink slightly but will stretch to fit during wear.”

–Mr. Subjective.

X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required