Get a print catalog here!
Read the catalog online here!

Questions? LIVE CHAT

#400 Wedge Sole

Aerostich Combat Touring Boots #400-480

44 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$387.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 44 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
Everything boot Review by chad
I have a pair of these boots I bought in 2004; I've ridden countless miles in them since then on the road; ridden a season of motor-X in Florida, District 36 enduro season in Norcal in them back in 2010, I just finished the 2012 LAB2V in them. 2 OMC Sheet Iron 300's..
The velcro is sacked and I have to tape them shut with electrical tape now. But they still don't leak through water crossings.
I do have to use a shin guard but it also protects my knee so I'd wear them anyway.
In short, I love this boot, they're very comfortable and durable, I'm going to get another pair just to rotate them and resole the old ones, maybe have some new velcro sewn in.
(Posted on 12/6/12)
Best pair of footwear I've ever owned Review by Nicolaus
These aren't merely a pair of boots. These are the best article of footwear I have ever (and likely will ever) own. I've had my pair since 2007. For thousands of miles, they have come with me through snowy mountain passes, through herds of buffalo, shared the path of a fox and his vixen, traversed the wild waste of the Mojave and the muck of much scoria and scrub. They've been through the worst motorcycle accident I've ever had in 25 years of riding: a sportbike flop at speed where the rear passenger footpeg strut caught my toe and twisted my foot around, grinding my toe into the pavement and dragging me behind the flopped bike for scores of feet. I was on crutches for a couple of months but my boots saved my toes and I still wear them today. There is a scrape on the right toe smaller than a dime to mark the incident. These are worth every cent. There is no other boot quite like them. (Posted on 9/9/12)
Combats are Hobbit boots no more Review by Dan
Finally size 15 for a proper fit! At 6'7" my R1150GSA fits fine, my Roadcrafter was custom made for my Teutonic frame but these Combat boots took a while to be sized to fit my dogs.
I wear 15 1/2 street shoes but these fit great.
My trip to Deadhorse suffered only in having to use my old hunting boots, next time the Combats! Thanks for rounding out your product line sizing for normal guys. (Posted on 7/3/12)
Excellent Boot Review by Brad
Have put 500 or so kilometers on the boots and I am finding them very worthwhile. Been wearing and caring for leather boots and shoes for 30 years and these are some of the nicest I have ever owned. Very comfortable, fit was excellent, break in very easy (I wore and broke in several pairs of heavy leather caulk boots and these boots are not overly stiff), and they are very easy to look after. This may not be important to everyone, but with some black shoe polish and Sno Seal, I can keep these boots looking new for many years as they are easy to polish and seal (just take care around the velcro patches on the sides of the boots so you do not foul them with whatever sealer you are using). I wear soccer shin pads in mine just to afford a little more protection when riding off pavement, but as long as a person does not treat them as a motocross boot (nor are they marketed as such) I think they are an excellent choice. (Posted on 5/17/12)
Buy 'em, especially if you have a son! Review by Kevin in Denver
Love the boots. I wear a size 10.5, ordered a size 11 and they were much too big. Easily replaced and a size 10 is perfect. Despite what others have said, the break-in was not a big deal. A few walks around the park with the dog for a week and we're good to go.

I love the close fit at the top of the boot. Because they're trim, it's now possible to wear conventional pants that will actually fit over the tops of my boots, unlike my dirt bike boots.

Only complaints: The laces stick to the Velcro pretty bad. I can see that I'll have to replace them with another lace type soon. Wonder why the manufacturer does not address this? Also, the alignment of the top Velcro flaps and the Velcro sections on the boot don't line up nicely. That's a minor disappointment, but only cosmetic.

Overall, I'm very happy with them and look forward to years of heavy use. My 18 year old son can't wait until he gets my pair! In fact, for sentimental reasons, I wrote the date of purchase inside the boot. When his old man (now 53) passes for whatever reason, he'll have some, "Good shoes to fill." (Posted on 4/20/12)
good boot Review by jerry
This is a very well made boot. I wanted something that was comfortable and protective. This fills the bill. After about 2 days of wearing them all day they started to break in. They have gotten better every day. You get what you pay for and these are a bargin. (Posted on 12/27/11)
You Get Your Money's Worth Review by MyBeamishBoy
These appear to be great boots - well made, supportive, and for me, comfortable right out of the box. I have worn them in warm weather and recently cold without complaint. I have not worn them in rain yet as I have just recently ordered a waterproofing application from Aerostich.

Just for background I own other good boots - Alpinestar Tech 10 Motocross boots and Alpinestar Web Gore-Tex street boots. The CTBs strike a happy balance between the overkill of the full-on motocross boot to under-protection of the street boot. In short, there is enough boot to make me confident that I will get reasonable protection in a crash without having so much boot that I leave them at home (the Tech 10s).

I have since ordered a replacement sole (be proactive!) as I can easily imagine that these boots will be worth repairing as they wear as well as an insole from Aerostich just to take up a bit of the roominess of the boot.

In short, my limited experience with these boots agrees with the experience of other reviewers who appreciate the quality and design of the boot. Perhaps I'll still have enough of my wits to come back in ten years and give a more qualified revue. Until then, I think I'll just take them along while I go find out what's around that next curve ....

Ride safe, y'all.T (Posted on 11/16/11)
very nice. Review by eric
love these boots. still breaking them in, but went on a week long trip with them when they were brand new. although shifting was a little stiff at first, its just been getting better and better. pretty good resistance to road spray in the rain with a little waterproofing goop slathered on before i left. my one complaint would be the laces used and the way the velcro is set up. the laces (and tall pair of wool socks) tend to get stuck in the velcro, and the laces that came with the boots are going to be little fur balls in short order. i anticipate having to get some new laces, hopefully will be able to find some that are not sticky to velcro. overall highly recommended though. (Posted on 10/24/11)
Good Boot Review by Kelley
Very nice boot. Break in is easy with the neatsfoot oil and pressing into shape method. I don't notice any weight at all. They feel quite light and walk very well. Comfortable all day. We'll see about longevity. (Posted on 10/5/11)
Stiff and heavy Review by netskink
OMG Stiff and heavy. Still breaking in. Its odd to not be able to feel your shifter or brake lever. Also some chaffing and blisters on feet. I wear a size 10.5 wide. I purchased a size 46/11. The first day I wore the boots, it was very tight on my left foot. I got a blister on my left foot. Afterwards, I coated them with mink oil and put shoe trees/expanders inside them and let them set for a week. I used them again and I got a blister on both Achilles tendons. At least the toe box had streched out some. I hope that when they are broken in they will be my boots of choice. Sometimes you have to swear at it before you swear by it, right?

I am not impressed with the shoe liner or speed lacing though. I'll comment more later if possible. (Posted on 7/25/11)

Items 11 to 20 of 44 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

The brief CBT History...

These were the first general purpose riding boot of this style in the world. Their origination story is simple: We wanted a basic old-fashioned heavy-duty rider's boot that provided support like an MX boot, was fast and easy to get in and out of,and held onto one's foot well -- but without all the added-on MX boot armor. More supportive than the classic 'engineer' style boot, and much heavier-duty than the typical zippered race, street or touring boot. A de-contented MX boot.

In hindsight it's hard to believe that twenty five years ago there wasn't anything else like this available. The CBT boot was the original. A new type of hybrid existing halfway between a street boot and an off road boot. It created an entirely new product category.

After about ten years we'd sold a good number of them and (also as 'adventure' style bikes became more popular) other boot companies started to make their versions of the CBT boot. Even Sidi came out with a version. All these subsequent versions from others were more complicated or 'improved' in some way: More buckles, pleated areas, waterproof liners, etc. The others wanted to be able to say they were better than the CBT boot.

This is like the way designer jeans manufacturers sometimes say they are better than original Wrangler's, Lee, and Levi's 501's maybe. Every market works like this. There's an original...and if it's successful there are others that are similar but supposedly 'improved' in some way.

Mr. Subjective 11-13

CBT Boot Break-In:

Breaking them in? I did it last week, to have a pair to leave with a motorcycle I co-own in Arizona. This was the fourth time in twenty years I've had to break in a pair. I ride in the third pair every day. The first pair are still in use by a friend, after 20 years. They were the prototypes. The second pair are also in use.  My feet got longer and this pair went to another friend. This time and the last time (#3 and #4) I soaked the boots in a sinkful of water, let them drip dry for a couple of hours, then went for a two mile walk in them. And got blisters. Then I left them for several days to air dry fully, with the tops propped open with a chopstick. The I oiled the folds and hinge lines, and let that soak in for a couple of days. Now I've worn them for about the last week on a motorcycle trip (I'm in the middle of it now...) and they are perfect. I added our fancy semi-orthotic insole and I'm set for life, probably. A pair in MN and this pair which will stay in Arizona...

Executive Summary: They need two things: 1. A two week break-in, starting with soaking overnight in water, draining for an hour, walking in them wet for a couple of miles, then slow drying for several days, propped open.  Then lightly lubricating the hinge folds (or the whole boot) with a soak-in leather dressing. 2. A higher quality insole. I use the more expensive of the two we sell.  The standard insole is not supportive enough for me.

Mr. Subjective 12/09
X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required