Get a print catalog here!
Read the catalog online here!

Questions? LIVE CHAT

#404 Combat Lites

Aerostich Combat Lite Boots #404-484

92 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$347.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 92 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 10
New boots Review by Oosik
In my earlier review I forgot an important item. The new boots with a new paper thin insole replacing the OEM insole are a perfect fit.

My "normal" size is 10 1/2 - - 3E. I ordered size 11 for my Combat Lite boots. (Posted on 7/23/15)
New boots Review by Oosik
Five days after I placed my order FedEx delivered the boots. I've never owned a pair of boots with such thick leather. However - I've worn them around the house for about three hours and I can already feel them loosening up. Contrary to most folks I took the insole out and replaced it with a paper thin insole. I've got a real case of what I call "Norwegian fat foot". Very wide and super thick - kind of looks like a duck. The boots look very nice and have very nice workmanship. I can see what folks say about the laces tangling in the velcro. Just have to remember to tuck them in on the side. Just a note on the fit - my normal size is 10 1/2 - - 3E and these boots with the thin insole are a PERFECT fit.
I'm extremely pleased with my new boots.

Again - Thank You Aerostich for a great product. (Posted on 7/23/15)
Boot-tiful Review by Mike
This is a review after six weeks, so I'll touch on fit, break-in and initial quality and leave longevity for another time.

The initial fit was spot on per my usual boot sizing and I'm fortunate to not need insoles. I'm of shorter stature (5'7"), with cycling calves, and the height of the Combat Lite comfortably sites and mid calf for me. The quality of the leather, sole and overall construction is fantastic.

As many, many other have stated (including Mr. Subjective, himself), they are very stiff out of the box. I used both Shea Butter and Aqua Seal to soften and improve water resistance, respectively. After application of those substances (not at the same time), I'd walk around for a bit, do some knee bends, and a variety of other funny walks that were apparently of endless amusement to my significant other. Fortunately, the boots began to break-in well before my pride. After needing to be extremely deliberate while shifting during the first couple of rides, it only took a week or so of commuting before they had enough dexterity for my shifting method to return to normal attentiveness.

While the boots continue to break-in with every ride, the initial period passed must quicker than I anticipated and have been one of my favorite motorcycle related purchases of all time. The are amazingly comfortable, the speed lacing concept and single buckle work like a charm and they look phenomenal with all bottom wear, from kilts (just guessing), to bermuda shorts and any and all Aerostich pants.

The only area of improvement I'd like to see, would be the inclusion of the upgraded laces. Previous reviews mentioning the propensity of the laces to catch on anything that remotely resembles velcro are spot on. They're easy enough to replace, but with every other facet of the Combat Lites screaming quality and attention to detail, it does seem out of place.

These boots offer all day comfort, and I am very much looking forward to wearing them for many years to come.

(Posted on 7/18/15)
Great boots, but... Review by Milt
I've had mine for about 18 months and have worn them mostly off-road. They are great while riding on or off-road: great protection, great comfort, great quality. But, why would the maker put a sewn seam up the center of the heel cup? The first time I walked around for an hour, my heel developed a deep blister that's still a tender spot. I tried moleskin pads, athletic tape, and a large bandage, but nothing can cover up the ridge that makes walking torturous. I love the boots for riding, but have to take them off when off the bike. (Posted on 7/15/15)
Solid boots that absolutely ooze quality. Review by Sam
I'll start this off by saying as a motorcycle courier I practically live in my gear. I demand a lot out of it - it's gotta be easy to put on and comfortable on the bike so I'll actually use it, it's gotta be comfortable enough off the bike that I don't feel the need to take it off every stop, it's got to have quality construction so I don't need new stuff every couple months, and it's got to keep all my favorite body parts where they belong. Sounds easy enough - but it seems only Aerostich can get it all right.

Alright, so Sidi makes these boots, but they make them the way Aerostich wants them. The opening comments all apply.These boots are at least as well put together as a solid pair of old-school Redwings, like my Iron Rangers, except that they're probably even more well-made. The leather is VERY thick. The stitching is heavy-duty. These boots just ooze quality craftsmanship.

There is most certainly a break-in period, however after reading the reviews I was expecting way worse. Right out of the box, after making reasonably sure I had a proper fit, I wore them to work. Stiff, sure. Too much to deal with? Not by half. I had around 12 start and stops, on and off, pounding a little pavement in between. Day after, and my feet are no worse for the wear. I missed a couple shifts due to the stiffness. I can already feel them becoming more flexible, so I'm sure that'll be gone within a few days of work. I have the wedge sole. The grip is excellent, but living in California means it'll be a while before I get to test them in any "real" weather.

I was most impressed with the feeling of these babies on the pegs. The most on-the-bike comfort I've ever had out of a boot. I didn't even know what I was missing.

The stock laces do kinda stink. I will attempt to clip them to a more manageable length but will probably have to replace them with something more substantial within a few months. Does this hurt my experience? None at all. Laces are cheap and now I get to be picky about things like length and quality once I get it sorted out.

I'm looking forward to many miles in my new favorite boots. Thanks again, Aerostich! (Posted on 7/12/15)
Could be better Review by Tom
Well...overall pretty happy with these boots....BUT...not happy with the longevity of the lining. It lasted just long enough for me to resole the boots. Trying to glue it back in to place, but not holding out much hope. Somewhat disappointing..... (Posted on 6/18/15)
Flaps... Review by Tom
I love my Lights, but it may be worthwhile looking at a 45 degree cut on the lower corner of the flaps. Mine are curling a bit. (Posted on 5/28/15)
BEST M/C BOOTS EVER Review by Pete
Combat Lites with wedge sole-simply the BEST(no contest ~real leather, quality drips from these boots just like water). Ya' Get What Ya' Pay For! (Posted on 5/21/15)
My boots fit perfect! Review by Daniel
I received my Combat Lites a few days ago.im usually a size 10 to 10 1/2,I ordered size 10 ,and they were too small,so I exchanged for size 11.Perfect ,and the first thing I did was take out the yellow laces,to replace with leather ones.Ive been wearing these boots for two days,and they are still stiff,but not uncomfortable. They appear to be very well made ,so should last me for years.I ordered mine with Amber wedge soles,and while out for a ride on my CB900F they feel great,and grip the road surface well.i rubbed some 'Sno Seal' on my new boots today,and I'm glad I took advantage of the sale on 12/13/14,saved a bunch (Posted on 1/18/15)
Awesome boots Review by Craig
I waited to review these until I had broken them in and wore them for a while. As with any good boot it took some time to break in. Since then they just seem to get better every time that I wear them. I love them and plan on having them for a very long time. They are very well built. The fit is perfect. I emailed customer service to assist in fitting me. Very helpful. (Posted on 1/10/15)

Items 1 to 10 of 92 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 10

The brief CBT History...

These were the first general purpose riding boot of this style in the world. Their origination story is simple: We wanted a basic old-fashioned heavy-duty rider's boot that provided support like an MX boot, was fast and easy to get in and out of,and held onto one's foot well -- but without all the added-on MX boot armor. More supportive than the classic 'engineer' style boot, and much heavier-duty than the typical zippered race, street or touring boot. A de-contented MX boot.

In hindsight it's hard to believe that twenty five years ago there wasn't anything else like this available. The CBT boot was the original. A new type of hybrid existing halfway between a street boot and an off road boot. It created an entirely new product category.

After about ten years we'd sold a good number of them and (also as 'adventure' style bikes became more popular) other boot companies started to make their versions of the CBT boot. Even Sidi came out with a version. All these subsequent versions from others were more complicated or 'improved' in some way: More buckles, pleated areas, waterproof liners, etc. The others wanted to be able to say they were better than the CBT boot.

This is like the way designer jeans manufacturers sometimes say they are better than original Wrangler's, Lee, and Levi's 501's maybe. Every market works like this. There's an original...and if it's successful there are others that are similar but supposedly 'improved' in some way.

Mr. Subjective 11-13

CBT Boot Break-In:

Breaking them in? I did it last week, to have a pair to leave with a motorcycle I co-own in Arizona. This was the fourth time in twenty years I've had to break in a pair. I ride in the third pair every day. The first pair are still in use by a friend, after 20 years. They were the prototypes. The second pair are also in use.  My feet got longer and this pair went to another friend. This time and the last time (#3 and #4) I soaked the boots in a sinkful of water, let them drip dry for a couple of hours, then went for a two mile walk in them. And got blisters. Then I left them for several days to air dry fully, with the tops propped open with a chopstick. The I oiled the folds and hinge lines, and let that soak in for a couple of days. Now I've worn them for about the last week on a motorcycle trip (I'm in the middle of it now...) and they are perfect. I added our fancy semi-orthotic insole and I'm set for life, probably. A pair in MN and this pair which will stay in Arizona...

Executive Summary: They need two things: 1. A two week break-in, starting with soaking overnight in water, draining for an hour, walking in them wet for a couple of miles, then slow drying for several days, propped open.  Then lightly lubricating the hinge folds (or the whole boot) with a soak-in leather dressing. 2. A higher quality insole. I use the more expensive of the two we sell.  The standard insole is not supportive enough for me.

Mr. Subjective 12/09
X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required