Questions? LIVE CHAT

#404 Combat Lites

Aerostich Combat Lite Boots #404-484

77 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$347.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly.

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 77 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8
Combat Lites Review by R. Owens
They are the most incredible thing on the planet when it comes to boots. You just can't kill them. (Posted on 12/21/13)
Solid Review by Matt
Ten years(?) of daily commuting in the deluge that is Everett, WA. They've been perfectly waterproof up until this winter when the rubberized tongues disintegrated and let mother in. Awesome boots for walking and riding, I'll buy another pair when I wear these out....might be a while. (Posted on 11/8/13)
tried but succss Review by Austin
i really wanted these boots to work but the toe box was too shallow. the quality looked outstanding and the fit, other than the toe box, was great (Posted on 10/26/13)
Good Boots, but Not best fitting Review by David
Since these are made for Aerostitch by Sidi, and I have two pairs of the latter, I ordered my exact size - European 45. However, the left boot did not fit well, was slightly large, and despite various insoles, my heel moved when I walked and created painful blisters. The boots are really stiff and took forever to break in. Nearly sent them back. Finally, after yet more insole combo trials, using a synthetic very thin sock and the friction-reducing roll-on lube runners use, I was able to wear them. Left boot still doesn't fit as well as I believe it should, but boots have proved ideal for dualsport riding. One other niggling complaint: why even ship the boots with the crappy stock yellow laces? For this much $$, the non-fraying laces in appropriate length should be standard. (Posted on 10/8/13)
one year later ... Review by ran
I've used these for over a year now, and I still don't love them but they have their positives.

I wore them on a few hot-weather rides this past Summer, and the boots are very hot and uncomfortable. No way to open them up and get any ventilation. OTOH, they are nice and warm on cold weather rides. And yesterday I was out in a surprisingly heavy rain storm, and the boots kept my feet completely dry.

And they're okay for walking around when you're off the bike. So I'll give them a 6 out 10 and use some other boots for hot weather rides. (Posted on 9/24/13)
Best footware I own Review by Jason
After hemming and hawing for a year, over width (I have duck feet), which sole, cost, etc, I pulled the trigger...

I bought them last month, i have ridden 3500 miles in them, and walked 20, I could not be happier, these are the best pair of footwear I own.

Size 10ee feet, got the 10 wedges, boots fit great, and they are great on and off road. Superb boots. Wish I didn't wait a year to do it... (Posted on 9/2/13)
This should do it Review by Phillip
This is my new all time favorite purchase from Aerostich. They took a couple weeks to break in and boom!!!! I'm hooked. The wedge sole is more stylish to me but, wow, what a boot. The size was perfect. Thanks again and again Aerostich. (Posted on 5/19/13)
Great boots Review by Brian
The first time I put them on they felt like ski boots,I went for a 30 min walk just to see if they would bite and they did so I changed the insole with what I normally wear in my work boots THAT MADE ALL THE DIFFERENCE they felt like a totally different boot ,I wore them to work the next day with no discomfort at all no soaking no blisters.sizing seems to be very accurate they just need better insoles. (Posted on 5/14/13)
Best Investment yet Review by Ref
I finally pulled the trigger on the best pair of boots I have ever owned. After wasting my money on the Tourmaster Solutions which began to fall apart after less than one year, I purchased a pair of the Combat Lites. I expected the boots to require some break in time and it was shorter than I thought. I picked the size that was suggested...I usually wear 13 in tennis shoes and got the 12.5 in the CT. I am very pleased and highly recommend them. So far I am batting 1000 on Aerostich products. (Posted on 5/7/13)
Great Boots Review by Ron
Amazing how heavy the leather is that these boots are made of..Wow! As some of the other owners have said.. the laces are cheap.. replaced them right away... Break in will take awhile, after 2 weeks they are feeling great.. I expect these to be the last boots I will ever buy, they are that good! (Posted on 5/6/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 77 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8

The brief CBT History...

These were the first general purpose riding boot of this style in the world. Their origination story is simple: We wanted a basic old-fashioned heavy-duty rider's boot that provided support like an MX boot, was fast and easy to get in and out of,and held onto one's foot well -- but without all the added-on MX boot armor. More supportive than the classic 'engineer' style boot, and much heavier-duty than the typical zippered race, street or touring boot. A de-contented MX boot.

In hindsight it's hard to believe that twenty five years ago there wasn't anything else like this available. The CBT boot was the original. A new type of hybrid existing halfway between a street boot and an off road boot. It created an entirely new product category.

After about ten years we'd sold a good number of them and (also as 'adventure' style bikes became more popular) other boot companies started to make their versions of the CBT boot. Even Sidi came out with a version. All these subsequent versions from others were more complicated or 'improved' in some way: More buckles, pleated areas, waterproof liners, etc. The others wanted to be able to say they were better than the CBT boot.

This is like the way designer jeans manufacturers sometimes say they are better than original Wrangler's, Lee, and Levi's 501's maybe. Every market works like this. There's an original...and if it's successful there are others that are similar but supposedly 'improved' in some way.

Mr. Subjective 11-13

CBT Boot Break-In:

Breaking them in? I did it last week, to have a pair to leave with a motorcycle I co-own in Arizona. This was the fourth time in twenty years I've had to break in a pair. I ride in the third pair every day. The first pair are still in use by a friend, after 20 years. They were the prototypes. The second pair are also in use.  My feet got longer and this pair went to another friend. This time and the last time (#3 and #4) I soaked the boots in a sinkful of water, let them drip dry for a couple of hours, then went for a two mile walk in them. And got blisters. Then I left them for several days to air dry fully, with the tops propped open with a chopstick. The I oiled the folds and hinge lines, and let that soak in for a couple of days. Now I've worn them for about the last week on a motorcycle trip (I'm in the middle of it now...) and they are perfect. I added our fancy semi-orthotic insole and I'm set for life, probably. A pair in MN and this pair which will stay in Arizona...

Executive Summary: They need two things: 1. A two week break-in, starting with soaking overnight in water, draining for an hour, walking in them wet for a couple of miles, then slow drying for several days, propped open.  Then lightly lubricating the hinge folds (or the whole boot) with a soak-in leather dressing. 2. A higher quality insole. I use the more expensive of the two we sell.  The standard insole is not supportive enough for me.

Mr. Subjective 12/09
X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required