Questions? LIVE CHAT

#404 Combat Lites

Aerostich Combat Lite Boots #404-484

77 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$347.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly.

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 77 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8
Jury Is Still Out... Review by TOMBO
Alright, hmm, where to start. I've waited 2 years before writing this review. I wanted to get ample time in them and I can't stand reading reviews where in the end the author states they've had the item for two weeks and love it.

I drooled over these boots for almost three years before finally buying them. And I'm not totally happy with my purchase.

The Good: These boots are very well built and very rugged, and if they fit you right you should have years and years of adventures in them. The grey soles are very grippy and look good as well. And the leather is the real deal..this is manly stuff here.

The Bad: My 11EE feet are pretty normal.. nothing odd about them. The width of the boot is perfect, but the box toe is so low that it's constantly pressing down on the toenail of my big toe. This does two things... makes the boots unbearable after an hour or two, and wears holes in the big toe area of my socks after a day's worth of riding. If the toe box just had even an extra 1/4 inch of height I would be able to wear these boots more. This is probably my biggest problem with these boots.

Also, the weird fit of the boot makes them tight on the top of my foot. Like I said the width is perfect, which makes it strange that the top of the boot is tight. Even when adjusted properly the boot presses down on the top of my foot and causes aches. I was able to remedy this with a boot stretcher and soaking the boots before stretching, but I still need to wear very thin socks and there's no way I can use a thicker, more cushioned insole which I greatly desire.

My last complaint is that the leather of both boots has creased just above my heal, and because I need to wear thin socks the creases rub my skin and cause blisters. Sure I'm tough and can take blisters but should I really have to for this price? I own boots of all kinds of Wolverines to Wesco riding and work boots and no other off the rack sizing fits me as poorly as these Combat Lites. I just don't get it.

Like I said.. the boots are constructed with very high quality and attention to detail, but after two years of wear and the boots definitely being fully broken in they just aren't my go to boots like I thought they would be. I have the same kind problems with my Falstaff jacket. It's good but not good enough. I like Aerostitch and maybe I just need to stick to buying non clothing related products from them. (Posted on 4/4/13)
Best Boots I Own Review by ThatFixedIt
I bought mine a size larger than the chart indicated to make room for electric socks in winter. They do that perfectly. In summer I use an extra thick insole which gives all day comfort fit and reduced vibration. That's all good.

The boots are nearly perfect, although an extended heavy rain will soak through. I use cheap rubber over boots now for all day rain and couldn't be happier.

I used Picard leather lotion and then AquaSeal Leather Treatment for breaking in and water proofing. Both products worked as advertised. Soaking in water and walking dry isn't necessary at all. (Posted on 1/8/13)
Awesome boot Review by chad
I've had these for about 6 years. I bought these because I liked the longer version of these boots and I ride everyday in them. This is the boot I wear if I'm going on a road trip, I also wear them through the rainy season on the road. In the dirt I wear the longer ones. (Posted on 12/6/12)
Worth the wait. Review by John
I had to wait nearly three months for these jewels. Seems the SIDI folks were on a holiday or some such nonsense. Fortunately it was worth the wait.

There is much discussion on the break in of these boots. First to all the non-believers, these are real leather boots not some fashion statement. As with any high quality leather boot the break in will take longer than a pair of basketball sneakers. TIP: wear a pair of heavy padded socks the first 10 miles of walking and 1000 miles of riding. Honestly, I wore then every day, all day for over a month before they were totally broken in to my specs. Wimpy dress socks will not work and you will have blisters galore.
I can and do wear these all day at work even if is not casual Friday. They look nice if you keep them polished up. I polished over the grey colored sole with black polish and like them even more.
These should last for many years. (Posted on 11/25/12)
Good purchase Review by D. Harman
I pondered getting the combat lights for a couple of years. I ride my Street Glide to work almost year around and in Seattle, that means riding in rain. I was tired of getting a new pair of engineer style riding boots every two years and even more tired of wet socks! I picked up the CLs last month and even though I had read all the reviews, I was surprised at how stiff they were. It was like walking in ski boots at first. I pondered "casing" them but thought I would try conventional methods first. Short walks for a few days and then one just under two miles. Then I greased the hinge lines that had formed and let that soak in before doing it again. They are still stiff but are no problem walking in and are a joy to ride in. I have yet put them to the test of spead out on the highwaypegs while riding in a downpour but that is coming. The one complaint I do have is the laces. As many have said, the laces suck and constantly stick to the velcro. Problem solved with some parachute cord though and now they are the right length and no velcro stick. I do think that I will be adding the custom insoles once the boots get a little more broken in as I have a little too much room in the heal. Other than that, the sizing seemed accurate. All in all, a great product, seems bullet proof and I'm glad I made the purchase. (Posted on 9/27/12)
Love these boots Review by Randy
Great boots true to size and very durable!

From SoCal i rode up to the Bay area to do some camping. I had only a few days to break-in these boots. All i had to do was to flex the toe box by holding each boot vertically and kind of applying pressure on the heel.
Temperature ranged on this trip from 109* down to 40*. Athletic wicking socks work really well with these boots as well. I love how easy it is to put on and take especially with riding suit. The only thing that was irritating was the laces get stuck in the velcro but not a big deal.
Overall very stisfied with these boots. (Posted on 9/9/12)
the jury is still out on these boots ... Review by Ran
I agree with other reviews that said, "I wanted to like these boots." and I may still get to like them. The pair I received last month is very stiff, and I walked around the house in them for several days to try to loosen them up before going for a ride.

Even with a break-in period, it was difficult to move the boot around enough to shift when I took my first ride on my '92 R100 GS. It is also very hard (so far) to nudge the trans into neutral at stop lights - the boots are so heavy that there's no feel in the toe. Of course, heavy boots are a good thing for crash protection, so I'm going to live with that.

I also agree that the laces are awkward and get snagged in the velcro closure flap, so I cut the laces off shorter and I don't use the plastic "speed lace" fastener. The large velcro flap seems to hold the boots on tight, so the laces seem redundant.

And I agree with the review that said the boot's rubber "tongue" material has no structure and so you have to hold it out of the way with one hand, and use the other hand to put the boot on. Annoying.

The edges and stitching of the Aerostich labels inside each boot were really irritating to my calves unless I wore tall socks. I used some 120 grit sandpaper to smooth down the edges of the labels.

I like the protective height of the boot and the grip of the sole. The reflective patch on the back is a nice touch, and so far I don't have problems with the buckles.

I may try the overnight soak-and-walk technique and see if that speeds up the break-in period, and then update this review. (Posted on 8/10/12)
Disappointing Review by Robert
I waited to write this, because I wanted to like these boots. I REALLY wanted to like them. I wanted to own them for several years before I could afford to spend this much on a pair of boots.
They're very thick, stiff leather. I'm sure this is great in Minnesota winters or for riding off road. However, I live in Texas and if I go off road, it's because I made an error in a curve.
The description says: "More ideal for general touring, everyday urban riding and all day street and general purpose wear." I disagree. They are *awful* for general use. They're too heavy and too stiff. Like I said, I waited before I wrote this review. I wanted to make sure I gave them a fair shot and made sure to break them in well. I've owned them a year and a half now. Most of the time, I've only worn them back and forth to work and home - I left a pair of sneakers at work because these hurt my feet, my legs and my back.
I'm sure they're great for adventure-touring and off road riding, but sadly, they kind of suck for walking/standing in an urban/suburban environment.
Another positive note: they do seem to be pretty much waterproof.

Overall, this has been the most disappointing purchase I've made, second only to the H-D Sportster that spent more time in the shop than on the street. I think my pair is going on Craig's List soon. (Posted on 7/11/12)
good boot with liner Review by boatman
i ware a usa 8.5 and had heard that the boot runs on the large size. The size 8.5 is the european size 42 which has historicly been a bit large for my 8.5 foot. I got the 8.5 and it was to large but after installing a THIN foot pad the boot fits fine and seems to be breaking in easily. Ware them around the for a day or two b/4 putting into full use. I put four days on the boot in the dirt and prefoum well. A good product. You can replace the laces with 550 cord. (Posted on 6/23/12)
Well pleased Review by Morthwyl
First the bad:
I find the sole of the boots a little "Sticky" on cleated footpegs.
Then the Good:
Well made, easy on and off, stiff enough to offer protection but cut low enough to not be too hot (California). I was between sizes, so rounded up and put an insert in place with no problem.
Flexible enough in the ankle to not interfere with breaking/gear changes.
I went with the wedge sole to get a little more leg room as i am a little cramped for space on one of my bikes.
Very happy and will be getting a pair for my wife.
(Posted on 6/22/12)

Items 11 to 20 of 77 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8

The brief CBT History...

These were the first general purpose riding boot of this style in the world. Their origination story is simple: We wanted a basic old-fashioned heavy-duty rider's boot that provided support like an MX boot, was fast and easy to get in and out of,and held onto one's foot well -- but without all the added-on MX boot armor. More supportive than the classic 'engineer' style boot, and much heavier-duty than the typical zippered race, street or touring boot. A de-contented MX boot.

In hindsight it's hard to believe that twenty five years ago there wasn't anything else like this available. The CBT boot was the original. A new type of hybrid existing halfway between a street boot and an off road boot. It created an entirely new product category.

After about ten years we'd sold a good number of them and (also as 'adventure' style bikes became more popular) other boot companies started to make their versions of the CBT boot. Even Sidi came out with a version. All these subsequent versions from others were more complicated or 'improved' in some way: More buckles, pleated areas, waterproof liners, etc. The others wanted to be able to say they were better than the CBT boot.

This is like the way designer jeans manufacturers sometimes say they are better than original Wrangler's, Lee, and Levi's 501's maybe. Every market works like this. There's an original...and if it's successful there are others that are similar but supposedly 'improved' in some way.

Mr. Subjective 11-13

CBT Boot Break-In:

Breaking them in? I did it last week, to have a pair to leave with a motorcycle I co-own in Arizona. This was the fourth time in twenty years I've had to break in a pair. I ride in the third pair every day. The first pair are still in use by a friend, after 20 years. They were the prototypes. The second pair are also in use.  My feet got longer and this pair went to another friend. This time and the last time (#3 and #4) I soaked the boots in a sinkful of water, let them drip dry for a couple of hours, then went for a two mile walk in them. And got blisters. Then I left them for several days to air dry fully, with the tops propped open with a chopstick. The I oiled the folds and hinge lines, and let that soak in for a couple of days. Now I've worn them for about the last week on a motorcycle trip (I'm in the middle of it now...) and they are perfect. I added our fancy semi-orthotic insole and I'm set for life, probably. A pair in MN and this pair which will stay in Arizona...

Executive Summary: They need two things: 1. A two week break-in, starting with soaking overnight in water, draining for an hour, walking in them wet for a couple of miles, then slow drying for several days, propped open.  Then lightly lubricating the hinge folds (or the whole boot) with a soak-in leather dressing. 2. A higher quality insole. I use the more expensive of the two we sell.  The standard insole is not supportive enough for me.

Mr. Subjective 12/09
X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required