Questions? LIVE CHAT

#404 Combat Lites

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Aerostich Combat Lite Boots

93 Review(s)
SKU: 404-484

Availability: In stock

$347.00

Customer Reviews (93)

Lived InReview by HondoTX
I lived in these boots for 23 days and 12,000 miles in June (2011). From Texas to Key West [HOT] to Deadhorse, AK and back. I applied regular paste water-proofing and they endured over 3,000 miles of rain, some was frog-drowning rain. My little footsies felt safe and comfortable even on the Dalton Highway. Recommended. (Posted on 10/27/11)
good boots, especially with the sizing insoleReview by Robert
I soaked mine twice and walked my dogs. I still thought they were a bit big in the ankle area so I bought the sizing insole and they fit perfect. Definitely need broken in, especially if you ride a sportbike. I like the wedge sole because of the small heel. I am a size ten and that is what i ordered, not sure if a 9 would have worked, but the sizing insole did the trick for me. I might even do one more soak and walk just to get the boots nice and limber before waterproofing them. They seem well made and like they will last a long time. (Posted on 10/26/11)
Quality and ComfortReview by johnj
After a lot of comparison shopping I decided on Combat Touring Lites. Reading all the hype about a "break-in" period left some doubt as to how they would feel. After wearing them for 2 months I have not experienced any discomfort at all. The didn't require any major break-in time. I got size 9, plenty of toe room. They are excellent quality, shed water nicely and are comfortable to walk in. I don't mind spending the money for quality and that is exactly what I got. (Posted on 10/21/11)
Good product but misleading descriptionReview by ChrisFournier
I have had only one snag with these boots, I didn't pay close enough attention to the product description when ordering. Aerostitch goes against conventional boot nomenclature and calls their amber heeled sole a "wedge sole" because the lug pattern is wedge like. The rest of the footwear world refers to a wedge sole as a sole with no heel. I think that Aerostitch should sort this out in their catalogue as it makes no sense and is needlessly misleading. Nonetheless they kindly compensated me a bit for the cross up in ordering, thank you! I wore the boots straight out of the box for two weeks while on a trip from Canada to Texas. Sure they broke in but I wouldn't have noticed as they were a perfect fit with no presure points from the very beginning. Sizing was spot on with my other Euro sized footwear US 10/10.5 = 45. The Lites are all I need for roadwork. They offer great support and protection but can enjoyed while walking. I personally had to make no adjustment to my footwork on the controls of my BMW. I went through considerable heat and they were ok, they were fine in the wet and cold as well. A great compromise for a one boot for all seasons. I use dubbin to keep mine waterproof and have no complaints. I would recommend these boots to any road adventurer!

(Posted on 10/16/11)
Excellent BootsReview by Dave
The boots were initially stiff but no where near as stiff as I expected. I was able to walk comfortably in them right out of the box with no problem. Getting my foot under my GL1800's shift lever took some getting used to at first but it is becoming easier as the boots break in. I typically wear a size 10 and these boots were just slightly loose with a pair of light wool socks. I expect there will be plenty of room to comfortably wear heavy wool socks especially given the adjustable buckle. In my opinion the boots look great under a pair of jeans, they also clean up easily and a little black shoe polish makes them look brand new. In short, I am very happy with my new combat lite boots and I expect to get many years of service from them. (Posted on 9/19/11)
Great boots.Review by Grant
I’ve now had my Combat Touring Lites with cleated sole for one year and over 15,000 miles, and I’m very happy with them. They were stiff at first. But they’re basically comfortable after a couple weeks of near daily wear. In my opinion, you don’t need to soak them in water or anything else too strange. All they need is a dab of leather conditioner and some time on the feet. Mine have broken in nicely, the shifting is easy, and I often wear them all day at the office. The lower portion of the boots molded nicely to my feet within a month. I do wear Wigwam ski socks with them, though, since I tend to get a blister above my right heel with ordinary athletic crew socks.

They're fine for normal walking. I wouldn’t want to hike in them, but I have a desk job, and for everyday walking and getting around they're perfectly comfortable for all-day wear. I’ve also done my share of 400 mile rides where I’ve walked a few miles over the course of the day, and they’re fine for that, too.

I don’t do much maintenance. Every four or five months I clean them with a little water and a brush. Let dry, then rub some leather conditioner (I use Bick-4) into them, then apply a thin coat of Sno-Seal, and they’re good for another few months. I also bought a pair of replacement buckles if and when the originals break. But so far, so good.

The CTLs are wearing as one would expect from motorcycle boots. The shifting area on the toe of the left boot is scuffed up, but it doesn’t hurt the boot. The left boot’s sole is wearing faster than the right, which makes sense as that’s the boot I have on the ground when stopped. I figure that I’ll replace the soles next spring.

The boots are also comfortable in the north Texas heat. I’ve worn them all summer, and my feet have never been uncomfortable. They’re actually more comfortable and breathe better than my TCX (Oxtar) Gore-Tex lined mesh boots. I’m convinced that good heavy leather makes for a better and cooler all-round boot than anything with Gore-Tex.

Idle thoughts:
- I bought the size 10 (Aerostich’s Euro 45) and it was perfect. My normal U.S. sized shoe is 11 to 11 ½.
- They’re heavy. But you get used to it.
- The toes are boxy. But you get used to it.
- I was initially annoyed at the laces sticking to the velcro, but I don't even notice it anymore. Its no big deal.
- My feet have never been wet in the CTLs.
- I thought I'd miss shin armor, but the thick leather does just fine against the typical pebbles and junk that hits my shins.

They’re a fine pair of boots. I hope to wear them for a long time. (Posted on 9/8/11)
worth itReview by Adam
I got the LITES in April as I was looking forward to getting some miles under my belt for the summer, and felt that I had better have some sturdy footwear. The sticker shock was a blow to the bankbook, but I can tell you now (after thousands of miles) that they are worth every penny! They have a few "over-comeable" drawbacks - they are like wooden planks when you first get them - so make sure to wear them out and about as you would a new pair of hiking boots BEFORE you ride with them. They are NOT insulated, so make sure to account for that in sizing, as you will need 2 pairs of socks in cold weather. I recommend getting gerbings electric socks.
On the upside, once broken in, I no longer needed to carry "work shoes" for my work commute. I just wear the LITES all day and they are crazy comfy! When these wear out, I'll get them re-soled and re-vitalized and wear them out again.
Seriously - worth every penny! (Posted on 9/6/11)
Boots are comfortable but had initial adjustment to shifting with them. I am getting the hang of it after 1 weeks wearing, and riding my BMW R1100RReview by Jeff
Boots are comfortable and are breaking in without the soaking in water that was suggested. It was tough to shift initially with them (I have a BMW R1100R) but I am slowly getting the hang of it. Very superior protection to that which I had before. Alternative laces should be supplied with the boots since they are just way too long. (Posted on 7/26/11)
Great BootsReview by Swinny
I have just received my Combat Lite Boots, Hhhmmmm, comfy and good lookin’.

I have a wide foot and ordered the size 12 Combat Lites. The boots were a perfect fit, straight out of the box. I read many reviews and consulted a mate who has two pair of Combat Lites, so I was prepared for a two day break in period involving wet and sore feet. Coupled with a pair of Merino Wool Luxury Socks (from your cattledog as well), they are boots you don't want to take off.

Shipping to Australia via Fedex went well, arriving half a day ahead of planned delivery time. (Posted on 7/15/11)
combat litesReview by strombo
The more I wear these the more I love them. The only thing I don't like are the laces that come with em. (Posted on 5/20/11)

Items 51 to 60 of 93 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 4
  4. 5
  5. 6
  6. 7
  7. 8
  8. ...
  9. 10

Share Your Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required