Read the Catalog Online - Now
Order (Or Download) The Print Catalogs Here

Questions? LIVE CHAT

#404 Combat Lites

Aerostich Combat Lite Boots #404-484

81 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$347.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews

Items 61 to 70 of 81 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 5
  4. 6
  5. 7
  6. 8
  7. 9
Aerostich Customer Service Review by customerservice
Todd, I am sending you some Picard’s leather treatment. Work it into the leather where it folds and ‘hinges’, and also put some on the inner gusset. This should eliminate the squeak you are experiencing and soften the leather around the ankle area. -- Aerostich Customer Service. (Posted on 5/10/10)
Break-in Review by Todd
I have been wearing these boots for over a year now almost daily. I am still waiting for the so called break in of the boots. They are still versy stiff and difficult to walk in. I have the cleated sole and the sole itself is great and long lasting but still very stiff and doesn't seem to bend easily when I walk.

I also hate the squeaking, which has nothing to do with the sole or the crappy buckle. The squeaking occurs due to the rubber membrain that seals the tongue area of the shoe. Since I have skinnier feet the membraine sort of bunches up and absolutely rubs when walking causing an anoying squeak for myself and those around me. I had thought about cutting it out but that defeats the purpose of the boot being water proof. Which, by the way it definetly is. I have stood in 3 inch deep water without an issue. I have rode in terential downpours without my feet getting wet.

To sum this review, if you want a boot that will keep your feet dry and you are only wearing them for riding then this boot is for you. If you plan on walking around in them then forget it. These are too stiff and squeaky. Instead, look for a boot with more flexibility.

If you are looking for a long lasting boot I think these may last a lifetime, with perhaps the exception of the buckle. And who know, maybe they will break in this year.... (Posted on 5/4/10)
A Very Good Boot Review by JB
I love these boots. I had always purchased BMW boots in the past and was very pleased. These boots are better in my opinion even without the Gore-Tex liner in the BMW's.
I took the time to break-in before leaving for a 15 day trip wore the boots everyday including some rain, served me well. I ordered two pair one of each sole offered. I kept the wedge sole for a couple of reasons: 1) I like the pronounced heel and 2) the wedged was much easier to shift gears due the heel.
The cleated sole probably would do much better on concrete and asphalt than the wedge but I did not keep them for the reasons stated above.

This is a far better product than most other boots especially with the Norwegian style sole that is not just glued but stitched as well. The lining inside is very good quality.
The one thing I did was swap the laces which were constantly getting caught in the Velcro, this is an easy fix but you do need a hard lace to replace the only cheesy part of the boots. (Posted on 9/25/09)
Perfect everyday riding boot Review by J
This boot offers some serious protection with understated style. I've been wearing them for about a year commuting five days a week to work. Crash tested them twice on the street and they've held up remarkably. They look like regular boots underneath your pants. Even got compliments on them from a girl who is a professional stylist. They are not as comfortable walking around as sneakers but that's an acceptable trade-off. The buckle is fully adjustable and has never been a problem for me. These are superb boots. (Posted on 9/24/09)
think about it Review by sean
I've been using the combat lites for almost a full season now.

Pros: Great in any weather. They kept me warm in 25 degree weather with just a pair of gym socks on. And in 95 degree heat they were great too. I've never worn them in the rain, but I don't doubt that they'll be waterproof. The leather inside is the most plush I have ever seen. I like that the inside leather is white so it does not stain your socks and feet.

Cons: The buckles are terrible. A boot this expensive with cheap buckles is unacceptable. Sidi has better buckles on some of their mountain biking shoes. The buckles don't stay adjusted the way you set them and they dig in to the top of your foot. Totally unacceptable.

Other reviewers have said that they can walk in these boots for miles. I do not echo that assessment. They are uncomfortable to walk in. Another reviewer complained that the boots squeaked- the wedge soles do not squeak at all.

These boots are better suited for boulevard cruisers than sport bikes- they just don't have the feel and flexibility for sport bikes.

One other comment is about the finish of the outer leather. It looks like plastic. (Posted on 8/20/09)
Awesome fit, great support Review by Skypp
I am hard to fit, so it took about an hour of walking around the small showroom. I was entertained by Jim (an employee) and the customers who also owned and loved their "Combat Lites". I was treated with respect, and thou at times it was busy, never rushed,but looked in on enough to feel important! Customer service? Jim and an attracive young woman, are/were true customer service, and I thank them! The boots, I wore them for the next ten hours at the Bayfront Blues Festival, and again for the 8 hour ride home! They are worth the money!
Skypp (Posted on 8/17/09)
I bought the Combat Lites... Review by Patrick Lifsey
I bought the Combat Lites in January 09. They were stiff at first, but I broke them in by wearing them from the bus-stop to my office building. I love these boots and don't ride without them. They are comfrontable and provide the protection that I need. I couldn't imagine wearing anything else. (Posted on 5/9/09)
Thin sole adds no height ... Review by fred hefren
Thin sole adds no height but is very comfortable after break-in. I normally wear a 15 but the 14 fit fine and after break-in, I can even wear thick socks with them. Have worn them in torrential rain with only water ingress from the top. They stay very dry with only minimal maintenance and a slicker over the top. Best boot I've ever owned! (Posted on 4/16/09)
Lets start out by saying ... Review by robert zarick
Lets start out by saying I haven't done a review before. I have been riding m/c for 45 years and have not found a pair of m/c boots to fit until now. My feet are 12 4E and only New Balance 12 4E shoes will fit. To make things worse I have a small bunion on my right foot. I ordered size 12 and expected to returned them like all the others I received over the years. They looked stiff but they didn't feel that bad so I took them to the local shoe repair shop and had them stretched a little over the bunion area on the right boot. They didn't stretch that much but maybe it's just mental that they felt better. So I wore them for about 4 hrs. and that nite while watching tv I took those new little creases and worked them back a forth with some leather dressing. After three days I worked up to wearing them for eight hrs. and working them by hand at nite. Now their the only boots that I can ride, shift easily and walk in all day. Plus I got the cleated soles so they easy to walk, climb, hike and ride with. They look great and I wore them Christmas shopping and nobody noticed I was wearing anything special. To me most motorcycle boots look gaudy. These are the most comfortable boots I have ever owned and they broke in quickly with a little hand work. Thanks Rider Wearhouse Bob Zarick Jan. 01, 08 (Posted on 1/7/09)
Much better than the comb... Review by Mark Kondracki
Much better than the combat boots, for me anyway. Comfortable out of the box. Heavy - well built (why don't people make things with such craftmenship anymore?) Easy on/off. Really outstanding. The Combat regulars were too big, too stiff for me - these, while stiff, seem to offer more freedom of movement immediately. Definitely not moon man when off the bike. I practice all gear all the time so I needed something that didn't make me look silly off the bike. (Posted on 1/2/09)

Items 61 to 70 of 81 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 5
  4. 6
  5. 7
  6. 8
  7. 9

The brief CBT History...

These were the first general purpose riding boot of this style in the world. Their origination story is simple: We wanted a basic old-fashioned heavy-duty rider's boot that provided support like an MX boot, was fast and easy to get in and out of,and held onto one's foot well -- but without all the added-on MX boot armor. More supportive than the classic 'engineer' style boot, and much heavier-duty than the typical zippered race, street or touring boot. A de-contented MX boot.

In hindsight it's hard to believe that twenty five years ago there wasn't anything else like this available. The CBT boot was the original. A new type of hybrid existing halfway between a street boot and an off road boot. It created an entirely new product category.

After about ten years we'd sold a good number of them and (also as 'adventure' style bikes became more popular) other boot companies started to make their versions of the CBT boot. Even Sidi came out with a version. All these subsequent versions from others were more complicated or 'improved' in some way: More buckles, pleated areas, waterproof liners, etc. The others wanted to be able to say they were better than the CBT boot.

This is like the way designer jeans manufacturers sometimes say they are better than original Wrangler's, Lee, and Levi's 501's maybe. Every market works like this. There's an original...and if it's successful there are others that are similar but supposedly 'improved' in some way.

Mr. Subjective 11-13

CBT Boot Break-In:

Breaking them in? I did it last week, to have a pair to leave with a motorcycle I co-own in Arizona. This was the fourth time in twenty years I've had to break in a pair. I ride in the third pair every day. The first pair are still in use by a friend, after 20 years. They were the prototypes. The second pair are also in use.  My feet got longer and this pair went to another friend. This time and the last time (#3 and #4) I soaked the boots in a sinkful of water, let them drip dry for a couple of hours, then went for a two mile walk in them. And got blisters. Then I left them for several days to air dry fully, with the tops propped open with a chopstick. The I oiled the folds and hinge lines, and let that soak in for a couple of days. Now I've worn them for about the last week on a motorcycle trip (I'm in the middle of it now...) and they are perfect. I added our fancy semi-orthotic insole and I'm set for life, probably. A pair in MN and this pair which will stay in Arizona...

Executive Summary: They need two things: 1. A two week break-in, starting with soaking overnight in water, draining for an hour, walking in them wet for a couple of miles, then slow drying for several days, propped open.  Then lightly lubricating the hinge folds (or the whole boot) with a soak-in leather dressing. 2. A higher quality insole. I use the more expensive of the two we sell.  The standard insole is not supportive enough for me.

Mr. Subjective 12/09
X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required