Read the Catalog Online - Now
126 Page 2014 Supplement

Questions? LIVE CHAT

Aerostich Standard Silk Scarf

Aerostich Standard Silk Scarf #1549

36 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$27.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly.

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 36 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
yet another good product Review by David
Got it just in time for a three day trip through the mountains. It was hot and dusty during the days, cold at night and the scarf was so comfortable I don't think I ever took it off, even slept with it on. Its a great interface between you and an unlined jacket. But the toughs on the chrome cruisers don't wave at ya!? (Posted on 7/4/14)
Perfect! Review by Tom
Gave this scarf to myself as a present, but honestly had a few doubts about using it. I'm a convert! It's warm when it needs to be, and cool when it needs to be. After my riding buddies stopped giving me sh!t about wearing it, I think they've become a bit jealous of my newfound comfort and style. Go ahead! Get one! You'll LOVE the way it works. Looks pretty cool, too! (Posted on 1/6/14)
Works great Review by The last edition
Works great with the wifes mink vest. (Posted on 12/29/13)
Great Scarf Review by Keith
Couldn't have received this scarf at a better time. It is -15 this morning and the scarf kept all of the drafts from coming down my jacket. It also fits great under my jacket not like those bulky wool and synthetic scarfs. Shipping was fast too. Another great product from a great company. Thank you and Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all at Aerostich. (Posted on 12/24/13)
Quality products Review by Ton Up Teddy
I like to wear a scarf in the winter as a "gasket" around my neck to seal the opening in the top of my coat or jacket. The wool ones that I previously used would stick to the whiskers on my neck and were not very comfortable. This silk scarf is "slippery" and does not stick, but at the same time keeps me quite warm. I'm going to order a couple more to keep in the pockets of other coats. (Posted on 12/18/13)
Had my doubts... Review by BajaRambler
I put the scarf on when it arrived in the mail, I made a loop out of it and then like a big slipknot put it over my head. I looked like Prince. Man, I thought, what the heck did I just do- I AM NOT going to use this thing. Flash forward two days and I'm flying past Las Vegas into Arizona and Utah- NOW it all makes sense: No back of the neck sunburn and a nice, silky, smooth, cool wrap around my neck keeping me all chafe free. Wow- this and my sheepskin butt pad became my favorite bike farkles on that 7 day, 2100 mile trip. I'm sold- and you should be too. (Posted on 10/15/13)
No more chaffing Review by David
This is the second scarf I've purchased. I lost the last one at night in a rain storm in Tennessee. I bought the scarf to prevent chaffing around my neck from the interaction of my textile jacket and whiskers. It works great ! Soak it in cool water (wring it out a bit) and it will help cool you down on a hot day! (Posted on 8/22/13)
seems good Review by sean
i purchaced two of these. one for my wife and one for myself. so far so good. it keeps the wind out and looks pretty cool. we tool around in a ural with open face helmets and goggles. the silk scarfs complete the absurd look. they seem well made and are a good lenth for wrapping your neck up. (Posted on 3/19/13)
Sweet Silk Scarf Review by Mike
Got my silk scarf from the Aerostich guys. It's a fabulous garment. I've been using it instead of my tube-buffie-thingie during the heat of Texas this summer. Kept my neck free of chafe and triggered remarks like, "classic...need to breakout one." Not to mention it reminds me of an original Army Air Corp/Air Force scarf that dad gave me, that was his. Sweet Silk Scarf. (Posted on 9/21/12)
Nothing beats silk Review by Richard
Very pleased with the scarf. Just returned form a trip in the Canadian Rockies and wore the scarf every day. It kept out the draft and prevented chaffing when constantly turning your head to look at the amazing scenery. Didn't have any hot weather on the trip but plenty of wet and cold and the scarf performed well in those conditions. Found an ingenious way to tie it on YouTube that improves coverage and avoids a lump at the knot (Posted on 7/5/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 36 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Mil-spec 'big H' history...

Silk was so important that its trade probably changed the world history more than any other technology. The famous 'Silk Road' connected Europe to the Far East during the middle ages, and this brought together global knowledge that advanced civilization and helped begin the renaissance.

Strategic military considerations, not demand for fashionable garments, caused the establishment of this trade route. During the middle ages front-line soldiers lived, traveled and fought wearing coarse tunics and outer uniforms. Silk scarves allowed soldiers to close their protective battle (and outdoor survival) garments tightly around their necks without chafing or discomfort, so they could fight better and travel farther. This was a true battlefield advantage.

As recently as World War I this remained so. Early planes and cars were all 'open cockpit'. Soldiers still lived and campaigned outdoors for weeks at a time, and this meant wearing heavy gear. After the war civilian pilots, race car drivers, motorcyclists and movie idols (Douglas Fairbanks, Errol Flynn...) further enshrined silk scarves as garb synonymous with bravery, courage and endurance.

Then airplanes and cars became enclosed and military dress adapted. Soft, slippery scarves became unnecessary. Silk's swashbuckler history and function was not only forgotten, it became a laughable cliché. Something only worn by old men.

The last vestiges of the silk scarf's centuries-long military role evolved into the fashion of men wearing neckties with their sport coats, blazers and business suits. Silk scarves had become decorative neckwear. (Now you know where neckties come from.)

That's sort of a sad ending for such an important habiliment -- except once again riders have rediscovered how great these scarves work when worn with modern riding gear closed tightly around one's neck. Once you've tried wearing one, you'll never look back. Make some history.

- Mr Subjective, 12-29-13

X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required