Questions? LIVE CHAT

#120 Grey/Black

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Men's Roadcrafter Classic One Piece Suit

132 Review(s)
SKU: 120

Availability: In stock

$1,287.00

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews (132)

Items 61 to 70 of 132 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 5
  4. 6
  5. 7
  6. 8
  7. 9
  8. ...
  9. 14
Roadcrafter 1 pieceReview by Apeman2000
Extremely pleased with my roadcrafter. Bought mine with alterations to fit my slightly larger frame and they came out perfect for me. I have several of my riding buddies who are jealous of me now, so maybe there will be a couple more being sold in my neck of the woods now. Superb craftsmanship with signatures of each person who touched it in the "building process" to show the pride put into the suit. (This suit was BUILT, not made for the purpose of which it was created for) It has performed as expected and advertised, and then some. I am looking forward to many years with this product. (Posted on 3/16/11)
The best suitReview by Ron
I've ridden a long time, 400,000 miles by my calculations. In the summer I always went without gear for years for fear of being "too hot", then got into the mesh leather gear which worked relatively well. I've had my roadcrafter for nearly 2 yrs now and wear it every day from riding to work to a 1500 mile in 24hr BBG ride and it has worked fabulous for me. I have hit very little rain to test this part, but what I have encountered I have had no problems. I have ridden in temps ranging from around 10 degrees to 110 degrees amd have had no problem. I add an extra layer in cold weather. In hot weather it has not been a problem. I rode through Kansas for several hours at over 100 degrees and yes I was warm, but better than my prior days of mesh leather and 10x better than going with shirt sleeves. I've got around 20,000 miles on my roadcrafter and recently took a 30mph dump. Obviously 30mph is not a huge test, but the suit came out basically without a noticable blemish, and I came out likewise. The only trouble I have had is the snaps down at the legs have gone bad. Zippers work fine. The suit is fine and I look forward to wearing it, unlike prior things.

(Posted on 3/8/11)
The best suitReview by Ron
I've ridden a long time, 400,000 miles by my calculations. In the summer I always went without gear for years for fear of being "too hot", then got into the mesh leather gear which worked relatively well. I've had my roadcrafter for nearly 2 yrs now and wear it every day from riding to work to a 1500 mile in 24hr BBG ride and it has worked fabulous for me. I have hit very little rain o test this part, but have ridden in temps rnging from around 10 degrees to 110 degrees amd have had no problem. I add an extra layer in cold weather. In hot weather it ha not been a problem. I rode through Kansas for several hours at over 100 degrees and yes I ws warm, but better than my pryor days of mesh leather an 10x better than going with shirt sleeves. I've got around 20,000 miles on my roadcrafter and recently took a 30mph dump. Obviously 30mph is not a huge test, but the suit came out basically without a noticable blemish, and I came out likewise. The only trouble I have had is the wnaps down at the legs have gon bad. Zipper work fine. The suit is fine and I look forward to wearing it, unlike prior things. (Posted on 3/8/11)
Why I wear a AeroStich RoadcrafterReview by DeOneDeOnly
(Response to a buddy looking for riding gear advice)
Why I wear a AeroStich Roadcrafter

1. Ease of use:
-Quickly put on / taken off, 10-20 seconds
-Plenty of easily accessible pockets
2. Quality construction:
-Best zippers, velcro, available
-Made in USA, 'nuff said!
-Real Velcro, not "Hook and Loop"
-Real Gore-Tex, not imitation
3. Protection equal to an other suit:
-Shoulder, elbow, knee protection standard
-hip and back protection available (very good idea)
-Extra heavy Cordura material at shoulders, knees
-TF2 and TF3 pads, soft normally, stiffen when shocked
4. Weather protection:
-Keep the sun off of you in summer;plenty of vents to allow airlow
-Keep the wind off of you in summer and winter; ever had wind-burn?
-Rain and cold; I rode 450 miles in 38 deg rain in January of '07 dry and warm
(with heated vest and grips!)
5. Durability:
-As of April of 2011, will have had mine for 6 years; ~30,000 miles on the '82
Yamaha XJ750; 43,000 miles on the '06 Kawasaki Concours; 11,000 miles on the '05
Kawasaki KLR 650; ~1000 miles on the Honda 230L; ~ 1000 miles on the '85 XJ700;
That's about 86,000 miles. About 14,000 miles per year... and counting!

6. Conclusion:
-There are many other options, and they all have their strong points; but for me,
the money I spent for my 'Stich was well spent, and even though I haven't needed
the crash-protection, it has always provided much peace of mind over the years.
If you think you will be riding for any length of time, it should be high on your
list of riding gear. There are literally thousands of testimonials to the quality,
durability, and effectiveness of this suit... and for damn good reason! Do your
research, compare, and decide whats best for you... (Posted on 1/24/11)
New suit after 15 years?Review by Ron
I bought my 2nd RoadCrafter suit in 1995 after many great years with the first.
It's survived countless commutes and trips, and it also survived a spectacular 45 mph t-bone into a left-turner. Actually, the suit may have been the only item to emerge that day unscathed (counting the car which was totalled). I dusted the suit off, replaced the pads, and kept using it for 13 more years.

It's time for my 3rd RoadCrafter now.

But I have 2 requests. which you will see recur in the other reviews. Aerostich, the zipper tabs are not up to the standard of the suit. They break off in a few months, usually leaving you stuck in the suit looking for a pair of pliers. Please, show us you're paying attention and fix them. I guess the good news is that once they broke, I replaced them with circular key rings that make far superior tabs when you have gloves.

The second request is for a better neck closure. Put on even one extra sweater, suit up, and you will have a cold neck for want of just another couple inches of strap and velcro. Almost everytime I check it, the velcro tab has let go and is flapping in the wind. I know you guys ride in cold weather, right? Show us you care and give us a neck that will close and stay closed over bulky under layers.

It's a fantastic suit. Why not finish the job and make it perfect?
(Posted on 12/19/10)
Great fit with a few drawbacksReview by Thmastr
I bought the Roadcrafter suit in March of 2010, after measurements and alterations my suit was ready at the end of april. The fit allowed me to stay warmer than with my previous riding gear; a plus for me since I commute year round on the bike rain or shine.
The suit was quite waterproof at the beginning, but after about 6 months and about 8000 miles the suit started leaking. Recently I was in the rain (very light and drizzling) for 5 hours and the suit ended up leaking. Considering that I only rode a total of 20 minutes in those 5 hours made me less than satisfied. I have done the same activity in similar conditions for 10 hours with my previous gear and gotten home dry. I expect better from this top of the line gear.

Again, great service, great fitting over the phone for custom alterations, and once again great customer service. The suit's fit is excellent thought I would like it to be more waterproof. (Posted on 10/29/10)
10 yrs and countingReview by JD
The absolute best money I have ever spent for motorcycling. Have owned my "stich" for over 10 years, it is used in daily commuting and touring. Basically anytime I'm on the bike I'm in the suite. It has stood me well in temps from 13 to 110 degrees. Rain, shine, sleet, and snow. I absolutely love this piece of gear. The zipper pulls could be better, I've replaced almost everyone of them atleast twice. The zippers are still working great, as is the velcro. Some of the stiching is starting to fail (on the liner) and there are a couple of small holes (two slow speed get-offs) but it still functions beautifully. When I decide to replace it, it will be with a new "stich". (Posted on 10/25/10)
I should have bought one years ago!Review by Edward
For many years I've been riding with a First Gear Scout leather jacket (with a liner "electricized" by Gerbing), Gerbing electric gloves in the winter, and lighter gloves in the summer, and a first-rate helmet, of course. For the past several years I have been looking at that Aerostich web page or catalog, thinking "maybe one day ..." Well, I remarried about 3 years ago, and when my wife found out about the suit (and the body armor), she encouraged me to buy one! (I'm 65, and not as flexible as I once was.)

I wanted to order a one-piece Roadcrafter in the hi-viz yellow with burgundy ballistics, so I called Aerostich. The lady said that they would send out a suit in hi-viz yellow with silver ballistics. I was a bit confused until she explained that the custom ballistics would make the suit non-exchangeable, so first I should try on one or more suits until I was absolutely sure of the fit. I was astounded. "You people will actually DO that?", I asked. "Oh, yes sir", she said. "We want you to be completely satisfied with your suit." So after shipments back and forth trying on two different suits, I finally made my actual order. Even the people at Aerostich remarked on what a nice color combination the hi-viz yellow and burgundy is.

I commute to work by motorcycle every day, and I've now been wearing this suit for two weeks. The first surprise was that the material is much more heavy weight than it appears in the catalog, so at first the suit was very stiff. The second surprise was how quickly the suit wears in. Already I find it very comfortable, and I have the optional standard spine protector (#129) and hard shell hip pads (#1053) installed.

I'll keep the Gerbing gloves, and I'll be getting a new light-weight electric jacket to go underneath when it's really cold, but I'm NEVER again riding without this suit!

It IS a bit warm on a hot day, warmer than the old leather jacket was, but I think that's a small price to pay for the increased safety you get from wearing the Roadcrafter. (Posted on 10/2/10)
The Swiss Army Knife of Riding ApparelReview by Michael
This is how I describe my one and two-piece Roadcrafter suits to riders and non-riders alike. Bought my red one-piece around 1995 and with the exception of fading, the suit has held up very well. I accidentally crushed a zipper pull and shipped the suit to Aerostich for repair and cleaning/waterproofing. Aerostich made some other minor sewing repairs on the liner and the suit was like new. A low-speed get-off put me down knee-first, followed by a sort of somersault which brought me to my feet. Without a doubt, the knee pad saved my knee cap and the suit was none the worse for the spill. It is the most versatile piece of riding apparel I own, and riding without it is like driving without a seatbelt in my car - it just doesnt' feel right. (Posted on 9/19/10)
Time to Step It UpReview by 01gsxr1000
I totally agree with the reivew "Good but certainly not perfect". Love the suits!!!

BUTT...
Time to update and change zippers and tags and we don't need five different sizes and styles of zippers. They break and are not water proof.

The velcro wears out after short while and re-weatherproofing does not work.

I have had four one-piece Roadcrafter suits - handed down three to brother-in-laws. I ride day in and day out all year long. They could be much better. (Posted on 8/12/10)

Items 61 to 70 of 132 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 5
  4. 6
  5. 7
  6. 8
  7. 9
  8. ...
  9. 14