Questions? LIVE CHAT

#132 Hi-Viz

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Darien Jacket

76 Review(s)
SKU: 132

Availability: In stock

$597.00

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews (76)

Items 1 to 10 of 76 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8
Darien Suit reviewReview by John
Have been riding in the NE with this suit year round for the last 2 years. It is the only suit I use. I do own a mesh Alpinstars jacket but have not used it since buying the Darien gear. Cool enough in the heat and humidity of summer in New England and I can layer effectively under it in the winter. I have had no leakage in the rain and the zippered vents allow for enough air flow in the heat. I have the HiViz jacket which I think does help you be seen well. If you want a one suit does it all outfit then this suit is a good choice. I have no buyer's remorse in making this purchase. (Posted on 10/21/16)
Longtime Roadcrafter Owner Review of DarienReview by Rich
I have owned one Roadcrafter two-piece for 23 some-odd years, and have ridden all over the North American continent. I decided to try the Darien jacket and AD-1 pants.
Overall, same high quality, same excellent customer service, so I won't go into that. The Roadcrafter is still the champ at getting on and off; best for commuting. The Darien/AD-1 combo works better for me on long tours. Much more water-proof than the Roadcrafter (albeit mine is over 20 years old). I like the sleeve closures better on the Darien, as well as the collar. So far it seems to me the Darien/AD-1 combo is better in hot-humid conditions than the Roadcrafter.
Nits: The AD-1 pants are a royal pain to get into and out of, especially when wearing CBT's. That may improve with time, but it's then when I miss the Roadcrafter's slick lining. Also, the leg zippers on the AD-1's seem a bit under-designed for the task. Not the usual Industrial-Strength zippers of the Roadcrafter. Since the Darien has no lining, the temperature range is a bit narrower. I can go down to 62 in the Roadcrafter without layering, but in the Darien anything below 70 starts to get chilly. However, for most riding conditions in the Pacific Northwest where I live, a pull-over sweatshirt will take me down to 55 degrees with no problem. I do note that when I do use my electrics with the Darien, I have to crank it up higher than with the Roadcrafter.
To sum up, I will still use my Roadcrafter for daily commuting and Sunday putts, especially if I will be meeting up with friends for lunch and such. But for my sojourns to Tennessee, Colorado, Wyoming, Montana and other neat places, it's the Darien/AD-1 combo from here on. (Posted on 9/28/16)
Darien JacketReview by Jon
Just ordered my Darien jacket off a recommendation from a friend. However, this post is about Danielle in customer service. I don't know that I have ever had someone be more friendly, willing to answer any and all questions, and try everything to help me get the correct size jacket. She even mailed me one to try on. Mainly due to her, I will make Aerostich my first place to stop when I shop for motorcycle gear! (Posted on 6/26/16)
New Darien SuitReview by Oldbear
I recently purchased a new Hi-Viz yellow Darien jacket and black Darien pants. These were bought after years of making do with another brand. Frankly, I was somewhat concerned over venting in summer hear as the Darien has many fewer vents than my old gear. Yesterday I took a ride in 92F weather-humidity was 73% and dew point was 70. Was it hot? Yes, but no more so than anything else I've ever worn (it is ALL hot in direct sun when the temps are in the 90's, even standing around in a T shirt!). I found the Darien to vent VERY well at any kind of speed whatever. I was riding a Yamaha Super Tenere with a touring windscreen. Standing on the pegs gave a very nice breeze through the jacket and I put a smaller summer screen on today to give me that breeze while sitting. The Darien is a very solid and well built product and the armor really feels like it stays where it should be and would protect you if the need arises. VERY pleased with my purchase and customer service! Highly recommend to anyone wanting a set of "do it all" gear. Heading to Georgia from Ky next week (first of July) and will be running my new Darien suit. My older, vented jacket will be staying home. Well done Aerostich, just wish (1) I'd bought the Darien 10 years ago and (2) that it had been in stock when I ordered :). (Posted on 6/25/16)
Quality pays for itselfReview by John W
Thought I'd drop a line to tell you how much I love my Darien suit. I bought it in the early/mid-90s and I'm still wearing it today! I wore it every work day over business suits for two years while I commuted on my bike and on countless dual sport trips. I've used it in El Niños in California and in summer storms in the northeast. I'm currently commuting daily in the northeast where it rains every week and it keeps me as dry as the day I bought it. I originally thought the suit was expensive. Now, and see that quality pays for itself over time. Awesome product! (Posted on 6/24/16)
Darien Jacket, first outingReview by scritch
Took my brand-new Darien jacket out for its first spin today. I was very pleased with the construction. No obvious loose threads, seam tape well-placed and firmly-attached, looks to be first-class construction. The fit is great in the upper torso, but a bit tight in the belly (d'oh!). I suppose that's something *I* can fix.

I went out today for a short, but varied ride. It was 80+ degrees out, and as predicted, the jacket was a bit warm when moving very slowly or not at all. Many reviews wish that there was better venting. My other jacket has lots of vents, but is not rain-resistant in the slightest, and it balloons up like crazy in a cross-wind. The Darien actually allows a lot of air up the cuffs when fully-open, and this is quite cooling once moving. For me I don't see a big problem in hotter riding, but for those really sensitive to heat this jacket could be hot.

If I had any suggestions for a Darien design change, it would be to add a bit more venting in the sleeves, and to modify the venting in the back so that the back armor doesn't block airflow. My other jacket really opens up in the back with many (4) big vents, but it balloons when they are all open, and because they are vertical vents, the diameter of the jacket increases significantly, leading me to believe that in a get-off the jacket could easily move the armor off my shoulders and back. The Darien feels much, much, safer.

More later! (Posted on 6/4/16)
Darien jacket and pantsReview by Bob
well after roughly 2 years of use I can now write my review. first off the front chest pockets are not water proof. other than that I wouldn't trade the jacket for anything out there. I've ridden in down pours also a tornado warning last year on the tail of the dragon, I had stopped because I couldn't see due to the rain and wind gusts. the national emergency alert came on my phone alerting me to that.
made it back to the Blue ridge motorcycle camp ground after the worst of it. (Posted on 5/4/16)
Repair service "A Real PlusReview by Larry
After 8 years my Darien needed a bit of repair and a tune up. The pads had rubbed a few places and the folds in the sleeves had created some interior creases. I dropped it off at Aerostitch and got an estimate of $175 - $200, for the jacket and pants.

I asked to have a new collar with magnets added after a short while I got the new estimate and was PLEASANTLY surprised. The new estimate was only $135. The jacket came back with a few minor areas missed. I called Aerostitch, received a call tag and everything I expected and more was accomplished. BTW I Really like my Darien!! I've ridden over 11 hours in the rain and no leaks, itis an amazing set of gear!! (Posted on 2/26/16)
Ventilation could be improvedReview by Matt
I've had my Darien Hi-Viz for 4 years now and doing mostly commuting and weekend rides. It is the only jacket I wear in all weather and on every ride. The construction is impressive and it does wear great in nearly every weather. That being said, I'd like to see a couple things:

The rear zipper vent and side zips are good. I ride a standard/naked bike w/out any fairing so the wind hits my chest and at speed I struggle to get really good wind flow through the jacket when it's warm. I have to unzip the front a bit to get flow but even then the wind will often push the jacket to my chest, closing off the ventilation and rendering the sides and rear nearly useless. I'd like to see some chest-side air vents that stay open regardless of the position of the rider. This would also keep the bugs from hitting my open chest area, needing to lower the main zip.

One other small note, I see over and over again on your site about the Darien and other products (Roadcrafter, etc) how they were the FIRST in many tech areas or design. That's great and a nice point to note, but honestly, in the world of gear and tech it's all about, "What have you done for me lately?" I feel that sometimes, perhaps Aerostitch relies too much on tried-and-true and does not iterate on new ideas enough, perhaps? Please keep researching and incorporating new products! I love supporting your company.

Ride safe,
Matt (Posted on 6/1/15)
FitReview by John
Great jacket features and construction details. I live in Maine and wanted a suit that I could layer with a fleece jacket, electric vest and long underwear for an extended riding season. I found it. It took a while @ 2.5 months and three different sizes to get the best fit. Probably I need a custom. I am 6'3" and 198lbs. I used the sizing guide after performing all the measurements and reviewed these with Aerostich staff on the phone. Got a 40 HiViz first which was way too tight and short in the sleeves, then a 42, stiil too short in the arms and tight across the chest (couldn't get hands in the hand warmer chest pockets) finally tried the 44 which I think fits pretty well. Pants were pretty easy, got the 36L (normally wear a 34x34). Interestingly, I have not changed suit sizes and still wear a 40L suit jacket. Admittedly, I have the wing span of a turkey vulture and should have probably gone with a custom sleeve length; trying to decide on that now. My advice is if you are tall and relatively thin, have 2-3 sizes sent and keep the one that fits best. That will save a ton of time. I have had this jacket in 32 degree weather with sleet and rain at 60-70 mph and found it warm, well sealed and dry, now for the heat! (Posted on 5/7/15)

Items 1 to 10 of 76 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8