Read the Catalog Online - Now
Order (Or Download) The Print Catalogs Here

Questions? LIVE CHAT

#132 Hi-Viz

Darien Jacket #132

65 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$537.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 65 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7
Above and beyond! Review by Mark
I had previously posted a review (April 30, 2011) where I identified a problem with loose Velcro strips. In a long overdue followup I would like to thank the Aerostich service team(Cam, Matt and Ida) for an exceptional job. They went above and beyond what I ever expected. They more then stood behind their product. Much appreciated! (Posted on 3/28/14)
The work horse of synthetic motorcycle geatr Review by Nick
I have had my (light blue) Darien since 1997. It has been used for everything... touring, off road, dualsport riding... the lot. It has definately 'matured' with age and now fits like the proverbial glove. I have never had to test its crashworthiness but the 'armour' is certainly still re-assuring. Best of all it cleans up well in the washing machine and still looks like new. A great product. (Posted on 2/3/14)
The Swiss Army Knife of jackets Review by John
I've debated buying the Darien for several years. In the mean time I bought several textile and a few leather jackets for riding. I am a touring rider and am very glad I bought the Darien. Since I live in south Florida I'll admit I don't wear the jacket for quick trips. But when it comes to long rides it has become my "go to" jacket. This one jacket does it all. Excellent protection from wind, rain and that dreaded unplanned "get off". Quality, US made and rugged enough to pass on to your ancestors, this jacket is head and shoulders above anything else I own. If you decide on the Darien I strongly suggest you use the online fitting guide or call and talk to someone who can get you the right size. Also I think the back pad should be standard equipment but since it isn't, buy one anyway. (Posted on 12/24/13)
Darien Jacket IS Improved and More Better :-) Review by Mac
This is my 3rd Darien jacket and pants (don't ask :-)
The last pair just were beyond repair after 13 years and untold miles all over the place. I never washed them! Yea, I know...

The newest jacket is even more better than its' predecessor IMO due to the softer collar and the fabulous idea of using magnets to hold the collar down to the jacket when the collar is not velcroed closed. More waterproof zippers too.
Wonderful (Posted on 12/24/13)
Best Riding Gear I've Ever Had Review by Sjaak
I ordered the Darien from Holland, having had the Aerostitch brand floating in the back of my mind for ages; their gear seemed to feature everything I wanted as a daily rider come rain, sleet or shine. I submitted my sizes, but on arrival the sleeves were an inch short, falling on the bony wrist protrusion. However, sans shoulder and elbow pads, sleeve length was spot on. As good fortune had it, I soon decided anyway to use the Darien without the pads, but with the optional Competition back protector. An injured spine gets you in a wheel chair. Used thus, the Darien is extremely comfortable and leaves room to move without the jacket pulling. All pockets, adjusting tabs and the collar are extremely functional. I'm totally happy with the jacket. Two caveats are the sizing for longish limbs which is tricky or somehow missed by the sizing dept., in my case with luck no problem, and the two lower front pockets have nicely angled entrance, but their zippers are very hard to pull close (direction belly button) becaus the jacket "gives". You really need two hands, one to hold the jacket tight when you pull the zipper with the other. Recommended! (Posted on 12/17/13)
Performes as promissed Review by Jeff
This jacket performs as promised. Took it on a 5500km round trip across the Trans-Labrador HWY and Newfoundland in September (not recommended). 8 of the 10 days were wet. Most just a constant light rain. But 3 of those days saw long heavy downpours. I was the only one in the group to stay dry.
Only complaint is the chest pockets do get wet. Had some papers in there that didn't survive. (Posted on 12/17/13)
Darien Crash results Review by Bob
Last week a buck jumped into my st1300 from the side of the road. The deer was killed, my bike totaled so I thought I'd give a report on the performance of the Darien jacket. The jacket was about 2 years old with 71k miles on it. I hit pavement at about 50-60 mph and slid a considerable distance ending up on mt stomach with the bike another 30 or so ft down road.
The jacket did sustain damage almost all of which was on the left side which il landed on. The lowest outside pocket had several rips and holes which I attribute to their having been a spare clip for my 32 in it. The clip itself was destroyed. The damage was limited to to
He outer layer of the pocket and did not pierce the part of the pocket touching rider. This should be very repairable there was a lot of abrasion on the left hip but nothing all the way thru. The left forearm took a beating with two holes about quarter size. The shoulder took a significant hit but did not tear. The only right side damage was on the elbow where the material ground down to the elbow pad. I had both shoulder and elbow pads in and they did an excellent job. Perhaps the most impressive thing is that I lost NO SKIN anywhere the jacket covered. I did get some good bruises, and I broke 10 ribs. I had on AD1 pants as well and they held up even better than the jacket.
If I ever head on a deer at 60 mph this is the gear I want on. I'll be an aero stitch customer forever (Posted on 8/12/13)
Update my previous review Review by Pete
Need to update my previous review, after examining my original purchase receipt I realize that this 2013 is my 10th riding season in my Hi-Vis Darien. I love the substantial feeling of the 500 weight condura, reminds me of well worn cardboard. Also has not dropped a stitch in multiple washings & continuous use. Amazing Quality is what I bought, & will again, if this Darien ever wears out? (Posted on 5/15/13)
Best value for the money Review by Chris H
My Darien is 13 years old and it is completely servicable, faded and mostly waterproof (needs to rain sideways to get slighly wet on one arm) other than cleaning and taping a few wear holes it has survived averaging 14,000 miles a year. It is a little large on me now (dam diet) but layers well for year round use in New England weather.It is the most comfortable jacket I have owned and will replace it only with another Darien, maybe @ VBR III. Best value for the money spent! No regrets. (Posted on 4/4/13)
Darien combo Review by Sputnik
After commuting and riding the first two months of this Seattle winter in my new Darien jacket and pants I'm still dry. It is a pleasure to be able to fully attend to the challenges of riding in the rainy dark without being distracted by issues of physical discomfort.
My only issue with the jacket is as follows: for the first several weeks I could not figure out why I was having such difficulty zipping the thing up. I tried a little graphite on the lowest teeth without success; it just wouldn't start. I then discovered that the zipper slide was being obstructed by the pin at the bottom of the liner zipper (which I'm not using). Currently I need to push that pin aside with a finger but think that I may stitch it back for a less annoying fix. I may also install a snap on the corner of the overlying bottom flap; it separates, despite the velcro, for those several inches below the zipper.
Otherwise a fine jacket!
The pants are as excellent as advertised. (Posted on 12/10/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 65 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7

Darien ‘Cutaway’ Hem Roll

The Darien is a ¾ length design – it’s just long enough to cover a suitcoat and is the perfect length for standing-on-the-pegs dual sporting and adventure riding. For all camping and other rugged outdoor activities, too. But sometimes it feels a little too long, especially if you ride a sport or sport touring bike with the classic lean-forward body position handlebars.

An easy solution for some riders is to roll/fold the jacket front hem up underneath the zipper. After a couple of times it becomes automatic. You don’t even think about it because it takes not even two seconds. Give it a try.

—Mr. Subjective, 2014

Darien ‘Cutaway’ Hem Roll Darien ‘Cutaway’ Hem Roll

MMM Product Review: Aerostich Darien Jacket

My love affair with the Aerostich Darien jacket was quickly developed and has been growing stronger with every passing riding season. It was my first real motorcycle related purchase and one that I have benefited from every since.

Within a few months of the purchase of my first real bike I was off in a far away land (Iowa) searching for towns that may or may not exist with fellow I've Been Everywhere Grand Tour riders. My Aerostich Darien jacket was about to take its first test. We experienced damn near every type of summer weather on this ride and by the end of the summer I had the frost and snow feather in my cap too. Dirt roads, random rain storms and gusting wind. But nothing would compare to what was coming. We had decided it was time to head home. After a good meal and some 'BS'ing we were on the road. Destination, Des Moines. Turn north and blast home.

About an hour south of the Minnesota border we ran into a wall of water. Not just a rain storm, a wall of water. Now being a new rider, I figured we would find the next exit and wait it out or at least let it die down a bit. We didn't even slow down... Continue to Full Review

X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required