Read the Catalog Online - Now
Order (Or Download) The Print Catalogs Here

Questions? LIVE CHAT

#132 Hi-Viz

Darien Jacket #132

65 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$537.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 65 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7
High-quality Armor Review by Doc
I've just had the jacket a little while, but the Aerostich quality is great. It will be nice when it softens up a little. That took quite a bit of riding for the pants, which I bought about 18 months ago. It's a suit of armor that feels like a suit of armor when you first get it, but much better later. (Posted on 10/26/12)
darien jacket Review by peter
I wore a Darien jacket on a 22,000 mile journey from the Arctic Circle in Alaska to Ushuaia in Patagonia. Whilst the other riders wore the BMW rider suits, it was the Darien jacket that survived the best. it still looks like new.
In the UK I wear the Katana electric liner which is great for everyday use, although it is too bulky to pack when touring.
Like others I found the neck a bit obtrusive at first but in foul weather it comes into its own.
IT truly is a quality bit of kit, non flashy but really functional (Posted on 10/9/12)
Love this Jacket Review by Brendon
I have to say, I depend heavily on product reviews when making a purchase, but rarely actually post a review.

When I placed the online order for my Darien, I promptly received a phone call from Aerostich, letting me know my product was on back order. They were extremely polite, and shipped out what they could ASAP. My Jacket came a week ahead of their estimate.

When you first open the box and take out the Jacket, WOW, the quality and craftsmanship is superb. The seams, the stitching, the velcro, the zippers, everything top notch.

I live in Northern Michigan, and the night I received the jacket it just so happened, that it was about 51 degrees, pouring rain, with about 30 MPH winds. I figured it was the perfect test. I rode about 110 miles in a torrential downpour, and I have never experienced anything like this jacket. 100% protection from the elements, with comfort. This morning, the weather became cold at 43 when I departed for work.. I plugged in the air vest electric liner, and turned my 20 mile ride to work into a 65 mile ride to work, with only a t-shirt under my Aerostich combo. Complete comfort!

Add to this the exceptional customer service, MADE IN AMERICA, and get this: when you call, no automated answering, a HUMAN BEING answers the phone.

I honestly cannot remember the last time I was this happy with a purchase!

Highly recommend the product and the company. (Posted on 9/19/12)
A riders (dry) dream Review by Jay
This jacket was obviously designed by people who ride and with 'function' at the top of the list of design features.
I rode with a different jacket for several months as I eased back into riding (the upfront costs can be a bit daunting). After months of frustration with tiny pockets, zip-in thermal and waterproof liners, and poor construction I saved up and bought the Darien. Wow- EVERYTHING is waterproof not just a 'special' pocket and I don't need to add a liner to keep from getting wet. The pockets are HUGE and easy to get to. I also purchased the windstopper liner and am very pleased with how it integrates into the jacket. The vents make riding on warmer days tolerable and encourage wearing protection when I am tempted not to. The neck closure is comfortable and accommodating to extra layers (Euclid's fairing fits well). I only wish I had waited a few months to get the upgraded version. Great product and worth every penny. (Posted on 8/20/12)
Great Jacket Review by Brad
Have put ~7000 km on gravel roads in this jacket in a year in the north, pacific northwest of BC, Have not ridden a lot in really heavy rain but when I did, no issues, as it is extremely comfortable and well designed for inclement weather. I have been down a couple of times on the TF3 pads and while they are not going to prevent an injury, they certainly can lessen one.

For my uses, an excellent jacket... (Posted on 7/27/12)
Darien Jacket - why buy anything else Review by Barry from Oz
After over 40 years of M/C riding and to many jackets to count, I finally circum and bought a Darien jacket. A bit more expensive then some but it is worth it. The fit and comfort is second to none. Instead of carrying 2 jackets (one for normal protection and the other for weather protection) I just wear the Darien and forget about trying to predict what to wear. When it comes time to replace the jacket, it will be with another Darien. (Posted on 5/31/12)
Tested on First Ride Review by RoverDover
After years of toting around both my leather jacket and a saddle-bag filling rain suit, I finally decided that carrying two jackets is silly. Time for one jacket that's both weather protection and road protection.

Based on this last weekend, it looks like I found it - my new Darien jacket.

I bought the jacket in time for my late-spring ride weekend in Florida, which means packing all my riding gear in a duffle, then flying to Orlando to pick up my rental Harley. The jacket is much easier to pack and much lighter than my leather jacket and rainsuit that I used to take. But would it be waterproof?

That was tested too as during my ride back to the dealership, the Florida heavens opened, resulting in an hour-long ride in driving rain. The Darien jacket performed wonderfully. Now I had just put on my rain pants too.

Next up on my "wish list" is a pair of Darien Light rain pants - size 40 waist in black would be great. Got that Aerostitch? (Posted on 4/12/12)
Still satisfied after five years Review by Alan in CT
After using several other riding suits that I became discontented with for one reason or another, I bought a Darien jacket and pants about five years ago. The jacket is a size L from just before the switch to numerical sizing, and fits me decently at 6'2"' 180lbs.

I have worn the Darien jacket as my main riding garb almost daily in every kind of weather imaginable. I have never gotten wet in it even in biblically proportioned rainstorms. I have found it tolerable in 90+ temps, and with layers in sub-30 temps with layers. The pockets are useful and sensible, without a lot of excessive flaps, Velcro, or other frippery. I have been fortunate enough not to crash-test it, but it seems to hold up well for many who have.

After five years, the only appreciable wear is a few abraded spots on the Gore-tex laminate, but this does not seem to affect water resistance. Also, there is a layer of perma-crud that won't completely come out in its annual wash and rewaterproofing.

Although it is expensive, I would have saved myself some cash if I had bought it earlier instead of those other riding suits d'jour. If it ever wears out, I will probably get another. (Posted on 4/12/12)
Darien Hi Vis Review by Goggles
Best M/C jacket ever. Purchased 8 seasons prior, virtually no wear but zipper pulls broke, have replacements ready for install(someday). Wear it over my work clothes, fits fine. Weather resistant, pockets where I need them. Zippered air vents underarm & across back very useful. Very adaptive to wide range of temperatures. Looking forward to purchasing another, -if mine ever wears out, not looking like that will be for a while. Please, never stop offering this fine example of US designed & made product. I'm thinkin' with The Darien you fer sure get what ya paid fer! (Posted on 3/15/12)
Stiff, but works Review by Captain Curmudgeon
Have about 12,000 miles / 2 years on my Darien. Still stiff as a board even after washings. Also front cargo pockets are easily accessed but not at all waterproof. Do not carry anything there that cannot get damp like a cell phone or camera. Overall it works pretty well though and w/o the liner can be rolled up stored pretty compact when temp is unbearably hot. Other jackets may be more comfortable but not have the toughess of the Darien. (Posted on 3/15/12)

Items 11 to 20 of 65 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7

Darien ‘Cutaway’ Hem Roll

The Darien is a ¾ length design – it’s just long enough to cover a suitcoat and is the perfect length for standing-on-the-pegs dual sporting and adventure riding. For all camping and other rugged outdoor activities, too. But sometimes it feels a little too long, especially if you ride a sport or sport touring bike with the classic lean-forward body position handlebars.

An easy solution for some riders is to roll/fold the jacket front hem up underneath the zipper. After a couple of times it becomes automatic. You don’t even think about it because it takes not even two seconds. Give it a try.

—Mr. Subjective, 2014

Darien ‘Cutaway’ Hem Roll Darien ‘Cutaway’ Hem Roll

MMM Product Review: Aerostich Darien Jacket

My love affair with the Aerostich Darien jacket was quickly developed and has been growing stronger with every passing riding season. It was my first real motorcycle related purchase and one that I have benefited from every since.

Within a few months of the purchase of my first real bike I was off in a far away land (Iowa) searching for towns that may or may not exist with fellow I've Been Everywhere Grand Tour riders. My Aerostich Darien jacket was about to take its first test. We experienced damn near every type of summer weather on this ride and by the end of the summer I had the frost and snow feather in my cap too. Dirt roads, random rain storms and gusting wind. But nothing would compare to what was coming. We had decided it was time to head home. After a good meal and some 'BS'ing we were on the road. Destination, Des Moines. Turn north and blast home.

About an hour south of the Minnesota border we ran into a wall of water. Not just a rain storm, a wall of water. Now being a new rider, I figured we would find the next exit and wait it out or at least let it die down a bit. We didn't even slow down... Continue to Full Review

X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required