Questions? LIVE CHAT

#132 Hi-Viz

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Darien Jacket

72 Review(s)
SKU: 132

Availability: In stock

$597.00

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews (72)

Items 41 to 50 of 72 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
Velrco strips come off where pads attachReview by Mark
I brought the hip pads for the pants and the bad pad for the jacket and on both of them the velcro attachments strips have come off. When I called I informed that I would need to return the jacket and pants for what would be a 3 week repair. Not sure but I may have had to pay for return shipping. I used good old duct tape for now. (Posted on 4/30/11)
Good Coat!Review by Doug
First off...let me start by saying that the coat is made very well. With that in mind I had to ask myself if I was willing to order another Aerostitch product when I gained some weight (I know...lose the weight). I opted for a Darien Light because the regular Darien is a very heavy coat. If you plan on staying in the cold this coat is for you. I've ridden with the heavier Darien in 100 degree and 20 degree temps. It does alright in both but better in the cold. Good coat. Very heavy...as the others have said, it will soften up after washing with tec wash. (Posted on 4/20/11)
Great Jacket & Great serviceReview by Tincup John
This is the best all around jacket I have had in my 40 years of riding, got the jacket w/liner just before christmas and have used it in Big Bend TX., Death Vally, Colorado, Wyoming even snowmobiling I would say to anyone ( GET THE LINNER) its worth the extra cost! trust me it works very good! jacket is a little stiff at first but after two washes takes shape to your body very good, zipers do take a little time to get used too! but all jackets are like that. I have worn out my BMW (rally-pro)jacket and was a litte slow to try the Darien becuse of all the weather changes in Colorado were I most ride, the darien is so much better jacket " it works " and very well too! best of all it's made in USA not China! Thanks: aerostich keep up the great work & service (Posted on 2/21/11)
Great Jacket but...Review by DeMinimis
Absolutely one tough and functional jacket. However, Aerostich needs to offer more sizing options off-the-self instead of charging for alterations. Now that sizing is based on chest size other than SM-XL like before (which is a great improvement), there still needs to be long sizing available too. For example, 48L. When buying a new Darien, paying another $60 to have the arms lengthened doesn't seem right. As a result, I've opted for a equally priced European jacket this go-'round with the needed length. When Stich offers long sizes in the Darien, I suspect I'll be back. (Posted on 1/11/11)
I Like It!!!!Review by Joe
Fits great.
Looks Great.
My first high quaility riding jacket and I like it!! (previous leather jackets), It has great features and functionality. (Posted on 12/11/10)
Hard to get used to, but love it nowReview by lobojon
Personal Stats = 5.7, 165 lbs
Jacket Size = 44 with armor in shoulders, elbows, and spine
Prior 2 piece suit = Belstaff large with armor in shoulders, elbows, and spine
Yamaha FZ1 2005 in deserts, the mountains, and near the coast

My Belstaff had an insulation layer built into the suit. I could see behind me in my front mirrors and my neck was protected from the wind.

Before you read on, let me say that I like this suit more than I dislike it and that I am happy to be wearing it. I bought it because several road dogs I know swear by them. I am just trying to add some details that I would like to have known when I was reading about the suits…not to malign the jacket.

The Darien was a little longer in the sleeves and in the body, which was not a problem. The barrel of the body, however, was MUCH roomier than my Belstaff. This was strange at first. I put on my standard layers to see how it felt. It was still bulky and VERY stiff. Washing the suit does soften it up.

The jacket collar is lower than my Belstaff and open, which means that I have to wear a gaitor and that it is breezy. Not only that, but it presses into my Adam’s Apple. My Belstaff had a neck wind block snapped onto to it.

The jacket zipper was always a problem, but after a washing it improved. It is still a hassle. Is this because it is a little lower than it should be for my height and not a design error? Could be.

The big pockets are great for gloves and stuff. The suit is SUPER durable. I like the arm sleave zippered pouch.

The spine pad hits my seat and pushes on my helmet, so I will probably have to live with that or cut it to my body size.

The shoulder pads block my mirror view, so I bought mirror extenders. This did not really help, so I can no longer really see behind me like before.

My prior suit was black and insulated, but this black shell is MUCH hotter than my other suit. It is breezy, so that helps. And, it does have zipper vents.

My final notion: this is a fantastic, high quality jacket. I just do not like the zipper, the wide shoulder pads that block my view, and the open collar style. The zipper and shoulder issues could be merely a function of personal fit. The collar is about preference. Good luck.
(Posted on 11/12/10)
Cant beat it!Review by David
Had my Hi-Viz Darien for 6 years and approximately 100k kms of riding in the US and Europe in all seasons. Last few years I have started spending many hours in the jacket doing Iron Butt rides and it is probably the strongest testimony to the quality of the Darien that most of the IBA riders I have come across, ride in 'stiches and many in the Darien. On the heat thing - as long as you are moving, the jacket has fantastic ventilation - I rode in Italy in 36 degrees C for a week with no issues as long as I was moving. Hi-Viz never really was that hi-viz compared to jackets that are out now - really just a yellow jacket, but despite my early disappointment with the colour, I have grown to love the dirty yellow as a more subtle colour. Wash it twice a season with the TX products and it always comes up looking like new for a few weeks. The armour padding is starting to loose contact with the velcro inside the jacket and it looks like it is losing some of the goretex liner so will probably send it for repair to the folks at 'stitch before too long. If you have gone as far as to read this and the other reviews, you will be buying one soon - and believe me, you will not regret it. (Posted on 11/12/10)
On road off roadReview by Mark GL1800/R1200GSA
My Darien has six years and over 67000 miles both on pavement and off. I live in northern Wyoming and have used it from the mountains of Montana to the desert of Big Bend national park in Texas. With an electric liner and a Heat Gear type T-shirt I have remained dry and comfortable from 32F and snowing to over 90F and humid. I have and will only use the Hi-Vis Yellow. From the moment I put it on I gained at least two feet of space between myself and the on coming traffic on Two lane roads! Meeting a Pickup on a short blind corner you can actually see the front tire turn away. The safety factor from the visual impact is undeniable.Yes I get the " I thought you were a fireman" but so what woman like fireman and after a while it gets a worn in look that tells other riders you've been around.
The jacket is stiff when new. Throw it in the washer a couple of times and it will soften up. I have always used Nikwax tech wash and their wash in waterproofing and still remain dry in heavy rain.
With all the pads in place including the standard back pad the Darien feels heavy when you pick it up but I have never noticed the weight on either of my bikes when riding and it seems no heavier than other very high quailty jackets with all the pads I've looked at.
My jacket has never had a problem with any zipper or zipper pull and the main zipper is two way that lets you adjust the bottom to fit any bike. I like the adjustable elastic cord at the bottom for a snug fit at the hips. All of the velcrow is still in good shape. I added a piece to a front pocket to attach my heat controller that works great.
I have a 50 chest and no neck so the sholder and back pads were a little long for me but it was easy to trim them with a pair of sissors and with the velcrow adjustment you can get them just right.
The collar irratated the back of my neck in warm weather with only a T-shirt on. I solved that with a silk scarf from a local cowbow shop. Aerostich sells one. I use mine all the time it's cooler in the heat and warmer in the cold.
The Darien is my go to jacket it is very high quality well though out and works great for goldwing touring and GS adventure riding. I love all the pockets and would recommend it to any serious rider.
The Darien will work at any reasonable temp. but like others have said it gets hot above 85F-90F. I to would like to see a Darien lite mesh non gore-tex I could transfer my pads to and use with a cooling vest on those really hot days.
After six seasons my jacket shows a little wear as it should but is still in very good condition and will give me many more miles of protection. when it does wear out I will buy myself a new one for sure. (Posted on 10/17/10)
First-Rate Jacket for cool daysReview by Pastor Gene
The temps here just began to drop into fall ranges, and my hi-viz Darien jacket shines. I bought it in 2008 and use it for every ride. Aside from the occasional moment when I'm confused with a fireman, the color increases my confidence. Couple it with a yellow helmet, and I've done what I can to be seen. The rest is up to skill and care. This jacket really shines in cool and cold weather, particularly when it's coupled with the available fleece liner. Using the liner means getting a size larger, and it's noticeable during warmer months. Even with body armor and my body fat, the coat is huge. And it's hot. Man, is it hot. Stop in an Iowa intersection on an August day, and the sweat runs. Once I'm moving, it gets better. Opening the underarm and back panel zippers helps. A little. A mesh jacket is a better choice for summer. But when it gets colder, go to it. The neck closes tightly, and the sleeves do too. Put on a full-face helmet and gauntlet groves, and wind intrusion is minimal. Put on the liner, without zipping it into the coat, and you can easily remove it as the temp rises. Absolutely waterproof in the rain, amazingly so. A piece of advice: Don't use spray-on waterproofers, for they will discolor the coat. Use a wash-in like Nikwax. Mine is splotchy going in, but it comes out of the washer looking fine. It's an expensive coat, but the Gore-Tex and available body armor will help keep you in one piece when it is needed. (Posted on 10/5/10)
PEOPLE IN CARS SEE ME!Review by 4DIRT
I Can't say enough good thinks about this hi-viz jacket. I can tell people in cars see me. I wish I could send it back and have it fitted for my Leatt Brace. (Posted on 10/3/10)

Items 41 to 50 of 72 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8