Read the Catalog Online - Now
Order (Or Download) The Print Catalogs Here

Questions? LIVE CHAT

Tan

DarienLight Jacket #260

32 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$527.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 32 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Best Jacket owned to date! Review by Bob 1811
I purchased the High Viz Darien Light jacket about a year ago. Having previously purchased other Aerostich products, including Darien pants and combat light boots, I had confidence in the quality and workmanship but was very concerned about the discomfort associated with a long break in period. To my surprise, the jacket was comfortable out of the box and was nice after one machine washing. I have worn the jacket in temps from the 90's (never used my vented jacket this summer) down to the 30's (with heated liner) and it has met my needs. I have ridden in torrential rainstorms and have remained completely dry, although the pockets filled with water; lesson learned, pockets aren't waterproof. Despite that I highly recommend the jacket. (Posted on 12/19/13)
For bikes of all types - including pedal Review by John
I use this jacket for commuting on my KTM 690 Duke occasionally, but most often on my bicycle.

Working the swing shift, the Hi-Vis Yellow makes the 10PM ride home less nerve-wracking. It has even stopped a SUV driver from pulling out of a parking lot into my path during the ride to work, although I was ready to stop if he didn't.

Unlined because I sweat heavily even with temps in the upper 40's while pedaling. On the Duke, the railroad shirt is heavy enough for comfort in the same temps.

I moved my Bohn back protector from my old Roadcrafter one-piece to the Darien Light, and my hip pads from the Roadcrafter to my Darien Light over-pants. Hopefully the crash protection will never be tested, but it's there just-in-case. It isn't cold enough to wear the gray over-pants on the bicycle. Living in central Arizona, blue jeans should be heavy enough this winter for bicycling.

I'm glad I bought the Darien Light jacket and pants.
(Posted on 10/29/13)
Darien Light jacket built to last Review by Rod
I scraped up my money and bought a black Darien Light jacket in 1999, and it's been the only jacket I've worn ever since for long cross-country trips and everyday wear. And I think it's still got a few years of life left in it. After 14 years there is some delamination of the material showing and a little wear and tear in places, but it still keeps me bone dry.

Over the years the good folks in Duluth have made some zipper and zipper pull repairs for me, but that's all it has needed, except for the occasional washing and recommended treatment.

The jacket has never leaked, even in spring and summer Midwest thunderstorms and downpours. In hot weather, opening the wrists, pits and back vents is like turning on air conditioning--as long as you're moving and the air is flowing through. When it's hot, hot... layering with a wet t-shirt or evap vest has helped--as long as you're moving.

There's no better jacket and I'm sure I'll buy a new one, if this one ever really wears out. (Posted on 6/14/13)
Darien Light - Perfect for Australia Review by Nigel from Perth
I just bought a Darien Light (jacket and pants) because my Darien "Heavy" (for want of another name - the 500 denier one) is really too hot for Australian summers, though, admittedly, great at other times.
I wish I had bought the Darien Light initially, as it is just perfect for all Australian conditions, especially with the Kanetsu liner for use in our only really cold places, the Alpine areas in Victoria and New South Wales.
I have used the "Darien heavy" since mid 2011 on some long trips around Australia in both winter (which is generally pretty mild in this part of the world) and summer (which is not mild, but pretty hot) though, as mentioned, the heavier weight Darien is too hot for comfort .
It accompanied me up the north of Western Australia in winter, and over to Sydney and back in summer, and has travelled about 40,000 km, though is still pretty stiff.
I floated the idea with Aerostich's marketing guys to put me on their advertised scheme of volunteers who will "run your Darien in for you", but they did not take me up on the offer.
But the Darien Light on the other hand is just the right weight and affords as much protection as I should ever need (fingers crossed) and is so much cooler, and also stows away in the panniers a lot more easily than the "Heavy".
I particularly like the quality of manufacture (superb) and all those useful pockets, as well as the all round comfort, especially around the neck.
This is a product that outperforms all the riding gear that I have ever had in the past.
I recommend the Darien Light to any Aussie who wants fantastic riding gear.
(Posted on 2/5/13)
Just Between Us Girls... Review by Bobbie
...and ok, smaller frame guys. At 5'6" and 145, I ordered a Hi-Viz 38 as recommended by the most amazingly great sizers at Aerostich. Off the hanger, I looked like Carol Burnett in the Scarlett O'Hara skit with the curtain rod shoulders. The TF3 armor was enormous on me which made the high neck an issue. Matt tackled my problem by suggesting a trade-out of the TF3 with the TF5 armor of the Transit Jacket. I paid the difference and with mad skills, (ok, took me an hour), finally got all the TF5 pieces (pads and pad sleeves) put in the right places. Ahhh. (and I also have new-found respect for all those stichers who work with these fabrics!) Now the jacket fits and protects. As with all men's stuff, hip space isn't included, but you can size up a bit for that problem if you can deal with the shoulder/elbow pad sizing with this fix. I love my Roadcrafter Suit (size 40) and love this addition when I just want a shorter jaunt. The Hi-Viz makes me feel safer too. The adjustable Waist Belt works neat to make it look less like a straightjacket and a bit more feminine as long as you've accounted for the straightline zipper sizing for your hips. Love the magnets for holding the collar in place if you don't need it high & tight. Thanks to Aerostich for helping me work through the issues. Hopefully, one day, they will have some gear that is specifically built for a women's frame...its great gear! Hope this helps. (Posted on 11/7/12)
Darien Light Review by Secondgear
I bought the Darien light hi-viz to go with my grey Darien pants (which I have loved) I have only worn the jacket twice - both at about 87 degrees. Very comfortable when moving. I know I will like it - I do keep my sunglasses on tho - pretty bright (as ordered). The collar is stiff - I was expecting this from other reviews. It is not very becoming to the female figure, and certainly not a fashion statement, BUT it is exactly what I wanted!! ..jacket that is highly visible, waterproof, cool & when layered properly will be warm. Many thanks. (Posted on 9/20/12)
How do I spell awesome? Review by Greg
I spell it D.A.R.I.E.N. that's how. I bought the standard Darien Light in Grey & custom Darien Light pants (extra 3"). Just got back from an 8 day / ~4000KMs bike camping trip around costal New Brunswick, Gaspé Peninsula and Saguenay Lac Saint-Jean. Encountered hot days, cold days, and heavy rain days. The jacket & pants performed flawlessly! I've owned MANY jackets & pants & I love not having to put on "sweat-box" rain gear any more!!! These have delivered me from infernal rainsuits, yahoo!! Don't know why I waited so flippin' long to get them. Loved having a large pocket on the front for maps, love the magnetized colar, etc. Only minor complaint would be to have the fleece windblocker liner a bit longer (I'm 6'4") to prevent lower back "windage". (Posted on 9/10/12)
Good Stuff Review by Moto Photojournalist
I got the Darien Light pants and jacket while my roadcrafter went in for minor repairs after 108,000 miles. The roadcrafter is pretty hot in the summer riding around in the Mid-Atlantic area so I thought Id try the Darien Light suit. Ive ridden 2000 miles with trips from VA to upstate NY and VA to GA in the past two weeks. Ive been in heavy rain, really hot and really cool conditions and this suit is the best all around suit Ive ever owned.......hands down I'll replace it when I wear it out. Love it. (Posted on 6/15/12)
Best Jacket Ever Review by George
I have had the Darien Light jacket for about three months and 7,000 miles. This jacket has worked flawlessly in temperatures from 25F to 95F. It has been in numerous rains including a couple frog-stranglers, and have remained completely dry. The ventilation is superior as is the design. I use the back protector also.

My only regret is not having purchased this jacket years ago. I look forward to many years and many miles of use. (Posted on 6/7/12)
Darien Light Review by Lyal 650
I went up to Areostich s open house in 2011 and first of all had a great time meeting everyone that was present.A interesting tour to see first hand how items are hand built.Bought a prototype Darien Light, good move! My gals a seemstress and did some minor hemming to "complete" a great jacket.Took it on a trip around Minnesota and it went from 80 down to 40s and raining.I was amazed how a "light" was so effective! Gotta get the pants next, riding 40+ years and the best gear is made right HERE!Thanks! (Posted on 3/27/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 32 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Darien ‘Cutaway’ Hem Roll

The Darien is a ¾ length design – it’s just long enough to cover a suitcoat and is the perfect length for standing-on-the-pegs dual sporting and adventure riding. For all camping and other rugged outdoor activities, too. But sometimes it feels a little too long, especially if you ride a sport or sport touring bike with the classic lean-forward body position handlebars.

An easy solution for some riders is to roll/fold the jacket front hem up underneath the zipper. After a couple of times it becomes automatic. You don’t even think about it because it takes not even two seconds. Give it a try.

—Mr. Subjective, 2014

Darien ‘Cutaway’ Hem Roll Darien ‘Cutaway’ Hem Roll
X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required