Questions? LIVE CHAT

Tan

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

DarienLight Jacket

36 Review(s)
SKU: 260

Availability: In stock

$587.00

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews (36)

Items 21 to 30 of 36 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Darien Light Jacket (Hi-Viz)Review by Warren
I first bought a size 44 Darien Light jacket since I wear the same size in the Roadcrafter one piece suit. The jacket seemed too big and too loose for me and the collar stood up and was difficult to deal with. I sent it back then looked forever for a good jacket that had an outer waterproof shell like the Darien but could never settle on anything. I then decided to give the Darien another try and ordered a size 42 in Hi-Viz. This is a fantastic jacket! This one fits better and I still have plenty of room to layer up underneath. The collar was a bit stiff in the beginning but I've learned how to turn it down better and I think it'll break in over time. There are so many great things about this jacket. First, the outer shell is waterproof so you don't have the outer shell loading up with water as when using an inner waterproof liner. The armor is easy to remove when washing the jacket. There are plenty of pockets and the venting is great. This jacket will work in a very wide range of temperatures. You've got the back and under arm vents, but what's really great is the sleeve cuffs can expand quite large which allows ram-air to go up the sleeves and throughout the jacket. This jacket mostly eliminates the need for a mesh jacket in the hot summer. The venting is that good when moving. And that collar I thought was too tall? Well, it's great when the weather gets cold and your neck is good and warm. (Posted on 10/6/11)
What they saidReview by johnzero
Yea, it's like they said. This is just a great jacket for riding. There are at least three ways to regulate the flow of air into the inside of the jacket - the snugness of the cuffs, the underarm flaps, and the back vent. Between those three, it's a very versatile jacket, cool at 80 and a pretty good start for staying warm at 40. Lots of pockets exactly where you always wished they were, and velcro straps in enough places to allow you to get a great fit. Leathers are sexy as hell, but this is like wearing the right tool for the job. (Posted on 9/20/11)
TmoPnruBxLxeKEReview by Katherine
I'm impressed! You've managed the aolmst impossible. (Posted on 6/2/11)
Really quite amazingReview by Arlin
I bought a hi-viz yellow Darien Light jacket last summer for daily commuting and moseying around the countryside.

The yellow is bright but no brighter than my bicycling jacket. It looks like a firefighter's jacket. I'm cool with that.

I was concerned that the jacket would be too warm for hot summer days, but I was pleasantly surprised. With the cuffs not cinched tight and all vents open the air flow through the jacket is quite cooling. For me, it's more comfortable than no jacket!

I also discovered that the fabric breathes quite noticably, which concerned me for winter use, but here again I was pleasantly surprised. With just a t-shirt and a fleece pull-over under it, this jacket kept me comfortable down to 45 degrees (and most of my commute is at highway speeds).

When new the jacket was a bit stiff, but it has softened noticably. I have no trouble with the zippers. Well, I do have one small difficulty with zippers: the cuff zippers want to ride up (i.e. unzip) a bit. It would be nice if these had locking zipper tabs. This is a small issue, but it would be nice.

The shoulder pads obstructed my ability to turn my head, so I took them out. (I wear a full-coverage helmet.)

I am a rather stocky fellow, so I ordered the jacket with the hem flair. You can't tell from looking at it that this has been done. It still has smooth lines, and it doesn't bind when swinging my leg over the bike.

In short, a well thought-out jacket. Keeps you dry, cool and warm, is comfortable to wear, and the hi-viz is that. (Posted on 5/9/11)
No ProblemReview by Jerry
Alaskan mosquitoes, No Problem
Hail in North Dakota, No Problem
Tornado with driving rain in North Dakota, No Problem
All I can say is WOW! Twenty years ago and twenty different suits ago, I wish I had found Aerostich. The DarienLight worked from Pennsylvania to Prudhoe Bay, AK.
I could not believe it was cooler than my mesh jacket at 98 degrees. Just move the air up the sleeves and out the neck and back and let evaporation cool you.
Layer up in the cold or use electric.
The best part, no stopping to put on rain gear or under liners, if it starts to rain.
This is the best gear.
PS, I try my best to not slide down the road without my wheels under me, I can not attest to the survivability of the suite or body under it.

Thanks for a great product (Posted on 1/17/11)
Jacket worth every penny!Review by William
Thank you so much for making my motorcycle riding expierience that much more enjoyable. Up here in the midwest this jacked is wearable all 4 seasons. Great rain jacket and alone with vents open warmer weather also. The blue liner works great as a stand alone jacket. The only bad things this jacket has made most of my other outer wear obsolete. (Posted on 11/4/10)
The Best You Can GetReview by Paul
I spent 14,000 miles this summer wrapped in Darien Light jacket and pants, and after that experience I won't ride any multi-day trip without them. The only thing not waterproof on the jacket is the neck and arm holes, and there's plenty of wind protection with everything zipped up tight. My total upper body comfort was the Darien Light and a Kanetsu electric vest. This combination should take care of any combination of cold and wet you can still mange to pilot a bike through.
In hot weather, the single layer Gore-Tex material of the Darien is key. All these jackets with an internal liner, even if it's mesh nylon, only serve to trap air and increase the heat level. Open up the vents, the arms and neck of the Darien jacket, and you'll be as cool as you can get while still wearing a protective outfit.
Two months of riding convinced me. This is my favorite gear. (Posted on 10/6/10)
Great all around jacketReview by Joe D
Used these on a recent 1000 mile plus trip and they delivered as advertised. Temps on the trip ranged from the low 40s in the Snowies and Sierra Madres and hi 80s crossing the Great Divide Basin. In addition, they I stayed dry and comfortable in the several showers that I ecountered. During hot summer weather the gray color made riding on sunny days more comfortable than standard black H-D motorclothes. Great job Aerostich! (Posted on 9/30/10)
GREAT JACKETReview by UPDOWNLONGWAYAROUNF
The best jacket ever
Peter Bruce Photo (Posted on 9/28/10)
close to perfectionReview by Freek
The final test of this jacket was a three week over 5000 km. trip from Holland to Denmark and then by ferry to Iceland for a big inland all-road trip. Temperatures were between 30 and 90 `F, we had heavy downpours and a lot of wind. In every circumstance the jacket performed well and after my bike and I submerged in a glacial torrent both the jacket (and the Darien light pants) dried up amazingly fast. That's what I liked most about the combination: no liners and other fancy stuff that need ours of dry time after being soaked by all these deep river crossings. Less is more!

The jacket is perfect for travelling with all these pockets and an outstanding collar. The only minus is the lack of two completely waterproof pockets for cigarettes or passports and the lot.

Freek Strebe, The Netherlands (Posted on 8/26/10)

Items 21 to 30 of 36 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4