Read the Catalog Online - Now
126 Page 2014 Supplement

Questions? LIVE CHAT

#285 Aerostich Windstopper® Electric Vest

Aerostich WINDSTOPPER Electric Vest #285-286-287

10 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$197.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly.

Customer Reviews

10 Item(s)

per page
Warm, thin, well built Review by MeefZah
I ride year round, 30,000 miles a year, on a V-Strom with OEM windshield; and I live in Ohio, so temps range from mid 20s F - 100 F.

I've owned 2 non windstopper (standard model) Aerostich vests, and 1 non windstopper Aerostich AirVantage vest over the past decade. My wife still owns and regularly uses a non windstopper Aerostich vest that is 5+ years old.

I recently got rid of the somewhat ill fitting AirVantage (I had bought it used so I took the size it was offered in which was a tad big) and replaced it with a correctly sized new Aerostich windstopper vest. The windstopper is my favorite of all the ones I've used, as it is warmer than the non-windstopper versions, thinner, and lighter. It packs much smaller, too. USA made and the quality is top notch - I have no doubt this will last, just as the others did, for years. I replaced the others only due to size fluctuations over the years, not due to any defect in the product.

I would strongly suggest spending the extra $10 and getting the windstopper version.

I personally prefer no arms on the vest (that's what makes it a vest, duh!) because it keeps the vest much smaller to pack; and the optional arms aren't heated anyway.

Also, a note on sizing because I didn't see anything already posted specific to that: follow the sizing chart, it is accurate. I found myself right on the line between L and XL. Under normal circumstances, I'd be inclined to go to the next largest size (XL) but in this instance I opted to go to the smaller size (L) and it was a good call. The vest is perfectly snug, which is what you want for optimum heat transfer. I am 6-00, 220, 39-40" waist, 44-46" chest.

Lastly, a note on a thermostat vs. the standard switch - obviously opinions vary, but I found that I like my vest either "on" or "off". My AirVantage had a thermostat control with it, and I disliked it immensely. It added weight, complicated things (where to hang it?), and I felt the heat output was diminished at maximum setting from what it was with the standard switch that comes with the vest. I personally would not opt for the thermostat.

I think the basic windstopper vest by itself is a gamechanger and a top notch product, no accessories needed. (Posted on 3/14/14)
Can't believe I waited 10 years to buy one! Review by David
The vest fits closer than I am used to clothes fitting on my tall skinny frame. It is warm and wonderful when riding. The SAE connectors definitely start out very stiff. Working them on and off one pin at a time as per the included suggestion makes them connect and disconnect smoothly. I really can't believe that I didn't get a heated vest before now. (Posted on 1/29/14)
Why did I wait so long Review by David
I have been riding for over 30 years and have endured some very bone chilling rides with multiple layers of clothing. Finally I broke down and bought the Windstopper Electric vest and I could just kick myself for having waited so long to do so. The incredible warmth and comfort this vest provides is unbelievable. I wear it between a cotton turtleneck and my Darien liner (not zipped into the Darien). I then put on my Darien light and ride in total comfort even down into the low 40s. The vest is exactly what I have come to expect from Aerostitch, a high quality product made right here in the USA. I highly recommend this vest. (Posted on 12/2/13)
Great vest Review by Robert
This is my second Aerostitch electric vest. I replaced my original one with this vest and appreciate the improvements. The lighted switch is a nice addition and easy to read even in daylight. The vest has even heat distribution and is a nice fit under my leathers. As others have noted, once you have an electric vest you wonder how you ever got along without it. Just get one... (Posted on 10/11/13)
Just what you'd expect Review by Roadracer Al
This is my second electric vest. The first was a Widder which lasted 20 years and is still going strong. The Aerostitch vest is every bit as well constructed, if not better.

If you've never used one, picture an electric blanket which you wear under your riding gear.

Uh huh. Warm and fuzzy. That's what I'm talking about. :)

I am a bit curious as to why the power cord connector is horizontal, and not vertical so the cord hangs straight down. The connector always seems to twist a little and dig into my flank slightly.

I like the cord pocket, however: nice feature. (Posted on 1/25/13)
should have bought one sooner Review by monkey wrench
i just started using this vest a few weeks ago so i dont have a ton of miles with it yet. Also, this is the first heated vest I have owned so I cant compair with others.

I have used it under my leather riding jacket and my aerostitch suit. it works very well. The windblocker fabric inside the vest helps keep my core warm even when the vest is not on. I like the vest since it does not add bulk in the sleeves of my jacket or suit. I like the freedom of movement this affords me.

once turned on, its heats up nicely. with the vest in my suit and grip heaters, i've been comfortable down to the low 40s high 30s. i have not been able to ride in temps lower then that but i suspect that combo will keep me warm well bellow freezing.
the construction looks top notch and the electrical equiptment that came with it looks high quality as well.

i cant comment on the durability since i just bought it but so far so good. its made in the usa and good quality materials. I feel i got my $ worth. I generaly subscribe to the buy once, cry once philosophy. i'll spend the extra dough on the good stuff. no regrets on this purchace. (Posted on 10/31/12)
Game Changer Review by Mike
I've been using this vest for 3 years, and words can't describe how great this thing is. I live in Northern California, and while the folks who live in truly cold climates might laugh at this, I'm a year-round, rain or shine commuter, with a 110 mile round trip commute daily. I typically experience sub-freezing morning commutes 30 or so days a year, and foggy and cool is the norm even in the summer. I've been doing said commute for 12 years, and this vest has been a total game changer for me. Not only does it boost my core temp, to stave off shivering, it also keeps my hands and feet warmer. Believe what you hear about electric vests. They really do make you warmer all over. This one is quality too. 3 years, and 75K moto miles, and the thing has never let me down and shows virtually no signs of wear. If you're on the fence, get one. Like me, you'll likely wish you'd made the leap sooner. (Posted on 1/9/12)
Christian's Comment - Windstopper Vest Review by Pete
Christian, although I do not currently own 1 of these, I really appreciated you review and comments regarding : " buying locally and made in the USA ". I do own several Aerostitch products and they are superb!! Right on!!!!!! (Posted on 11/11/11)
great product...use accordingly Review by Christian
Owned for a couple months. Usual quality fit and finish of an Aero product. I wear a size 40L roadcrafter, vest is size large. I have learned that style of use will dictate heat transfer to torso of bi-ped while operating a motorcycle.
(background of rider: lightweight with minimal body fat and thin build = always need more layers than most) I started with vest as layer directly under my roadcrafter. Heat was noticable, but not really as warm as I would like / expected. For the times I really want the heat, I wear as a second layer directly over a light shirt. Then put one or two thin wool sweaters over the top, then pull on the roadcrafter. wow, now that really works. Clip switch to the storm flap of the chest pocket of roadcrafter for easy on / off with left hand.
Heats up quick and the windstoper effect is VERY noticable at higher speeds. I think of this as really adding a bit more heat than it actually supplies because it reduces the heat that is lost through the wind coming through the roadcrafter (which is more than I thought).
Combined with heated grips I have since ridden in 30 degree Oregon snow flurries for commute and fun rides of an hour of two. totally comfortable.
...and by the way REMEMBER that this is another product made in the USA by American hands right in the ground floor of the Aero building in Duluth. Buy local, be vocal. Thanks again Andy, don't change a thing. (Posted on 3/17/11)
Excellent vest, some wiring issues Review by Eric
This vest ROCKS! I have had it for about four years. Vest works great, and is really all you need to stay warm under another layer. I used this vest almost daily for two years of commuting, and quite a bit the other two years. Unfortunately it seems to have reached end of functional life as I have now had it returned for electrical wire repairs a couple times, and it just keeps failing. I will definately be purchasing another, probably with full sleeves as it is worth every penny. (Posted on 3/4/11)

10 Item(s)

per page

Simplifying Comfort (...a Better Power-cord)

We have been making this pretty neat coil cord power control for twenty years. I remember designing it to be an illuminated hi-low inline switch of such small dimension that it would not be a 'lump' in the middle of a compact coily power cord. We went round-and-round trying to find a switch which would allow a better functioning and packaging design. Something tactually, visually, and ergonomically lighter and cleaner.

And there still isn't anything as good in terms of simplicity and overall handy-ness. I wanted this cord switch to be so easy to use one could forgo a thermostat. They always seemed useless over-complexity...even the newer nice digital ones everyone uses now (just yesterday all were stupid power-hungry inefficient resistance rheostats). I'd used one several times but wanted something thoughtlessly simple, super-compact and field-reparable if ever needed. (This last consideration turned out irrelevant.)

It's just too easy to be riding along and without looking down move my left hand downward from the grip momentarily to find the cord lying across my left thigh and then by touch alone (finger or thumb) push or release the illuminated in-out button…then move my hand back to the left grip.

It's only one second, done without thinking, and there's no fumbling around. I can feel at a touch if the button is in high or low position to maintain temperature at a nice level all day long, with neither thought or effort. Just click-on and click-off as needed for comfort, and if there's ever question about power status a quick glance down shows the red pilot light glowing on or off through the button's cap. Even in daylight.

So today if I were for some reason forced to use some non-Aerostich electric garment, I'd still want this simple, intuitive and reliable coil cord and switch.

- Mr. Subjective 12-13

Motorcycle Consumer News Review

"As expected from an Aerostich garment, the Kanetsu's overall build quality is superb. The Kanetsu lives up to Aerostich's reputation and was the best of all liners tested. Also...the Kanetsu did an admirable job of blocking windchill. Its Windstopper exterior allowed for a lower setting on the controllers to achieve the same equivalent feeling of toasty warmth as the other two liners on higher settings. Heat was evenly distributed, with no dramatic cold or hot spots detected." - April 2010 Motorcycle Consumer News Heated Riding Gear Comparison, by Moshe K. Levy.
X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required