Questions? LIVE CHAT

Transit Two Piece Suit

Videos

Transit Two Piece Suit #248-259

41 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$1,784.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly.

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 41 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
The Absolute Best Suit at Any Price Review by Thomas
I have to admit I was a little skeptical buying a $1600 suit via online. But the truth is it really is better than described.
The quality is incredible. The fit goes like this: I am a 6' 215lb average build guy, this suit fits me like a glove! So if you are on the heavier side you will have to size up a little. I found the sizing chart to be dead on for me. I honestly could not believe it!
As far as cold and hot, this suit really nails it. It's comfort range for me seems to be from the 50s to the 80s. In that temp range you will be VERY comfortable. Over 80 it gets warm and under 50 you will need additional layers. Wind does not penetrate this suit. As far as water goes, forget about getting wet. It is totally dry. DOES NOT LEAK.
While heavy at first the suit has zippers that are first class and is made from very high quality leather and SUPER COMFORTABLE!!!
Totally worth the money!!!! (Posted on 3/24/14)
Still a great suit Review by Ron
This is an addendum to my 2011 review. I have now worn this suit for over 30K and cannot say enough good about it. It DOES NOT LEAK!
Yeah, it is heavy and can be hot, but as I said in my first comments, just about everything with any real protection is hot in summer climes. When you hit the pavement sliding, any number of hot, sweaty days will seem a cheap price to have paid.
If you can afford it, this is the suit to wear! (Posted on 9/19/13)
Great Suit....BUT can't be altered by Aerostitch Review by Steve
After submitting my completed "Aerostitch Sizing Tool" and talking on the telephone and via email, I ordered my Transit Suit based on the recommendations of Aerostitch Customer Service. They were very helpful during the ordering and sizing process.

The suit fits very well. The jacket sleeves may be about 1/2 inch long, but other than that the waist and chest of the jacket are perfect. The pants fit perfect in the waist, inseam, and length of the legs.

However, the knee pads are about 2 inches too low. Which is to be expected because not everybody has the same makeup.

My problem is...I have talked with three different customer service reps today, and they all state that they cannot do any alterations (raise the knee pads) on the Transit Suit.... "because it is made overseas".

Aerostitch has their name on the suits, markets and sells the suits, (at a hefty cost) but refuses to stand by their product and tailor it to meet the specific needs of each individual. I am sure they realize everyone has specific body measurements since they offer alterations on their other products.

In the short time I have had the suit, I've ridden in 95* temperatures, 60* mornings and in heavy rain. The suit performs as advertised.

However, I cannot recommend this suit, unless you have the additional funds to pay for alterations locally.

(Posted on 7/26/13)
Rain (and mud) Review by Geoff
2nd trip to Argentina. First trip no rain, just dust. This time, no dust, just rain and mud. I was totally dry and comfortable but my Transit suit looks like I was rolling around in a barnyard, but again, the suit dried quickly, and was a joy on the dry days. Temperatures ran from 90 down to 45 so I started with t-shirts and worked my way into thermals. This suit just never fails to impress. (Posted on 4/27/13)
rough start but high hopes Review by 05VFR
I’ve been looking at the Transit for a couple of years and finally pulled the trigger. I’m 5’8”, 150 pounds, 31” waist, and ride a 2005 Honda VFR. Ordered 40R jacket and 32R pants. Jacket sleeves were a little long so I exchanged for a 40S. Unfortunately, the exchange was missing a back pad and the main zipper would stick. Customer service was great but they wouldn’t have another exchange jacket for about 6 months. I really wanted to like the jacket so kept it as-is hoping the zipper would loosen with wear.

The jacket fits fine but is a little roomy around the waist. I agree with the reviews about the jacket sleeves being uncomfortable and full length zipper on the pants pinching a little. I’ve only put a hundred miles on the suit and assume this will all smooth out as it breaks in. I’ll follow up with more detail after a couple thousand miles on the suit.
(Posted on 1/27/13)
Incredible Suit Review by Fletch Lives
I was a bit reticent to spend the dough on this suit, but after reading the reviews and thinking how important it is to be safe, and dry (I live in rain country - Seattle), I decided to jump.
I am 6'0", 190lbs with 33/33 pants and an athletic build. My plan was to get something sized so that I could wear clothing underneath.
I wasn't super confident about what size to get, but thankfully ended up near perfect. My jacket is a 44 and I can comfortably wear a sweater and heated jacket underneath. My pants are a 38. While I think I might be slightly better off with 36 pants, the 38's work fine. I always wear jeans with a belt and wear a second belt on the pants. The cool thing is when sitting on the bike, there's essentially no gap between the pant and jacket for cold air or rain to get in and I think the 2 belts really make that possible. So overall I am pleased with the fit. When it gets warm enough that I don't wish to wear jeans under, I'll have to see if I feel the same way but I bet it'll still be good.
The Transit is completely rainproof. I don't bother zipping the two together and after 4500 miles in it, way too much in pouring rain, I have been kept BONE DRY. Period. Bone dry. Based on that alone I am thrilled with the suit.
I essentially feel impervious to the world around me with this suit. With full pads and very thick leather, I suspect it'll protect me very well should that day come where I have a get off.
I can don and doff it quickly as well and it feels like it should last a very long time.There are plenty of other expensive suits out there that I hear are not truly waterproof. This is. I highly recommend this suit. (Posted on 1/18/13)
Addendum to: The Best Riding Gear I have ever used! Review by Kai
I just thought I would post an update to my review below. My original jacket had the shock cord waist adjustment (1st Gen Jacket). The new jacket has replaced that with d-ring and a leather pull through strip on each side. Very nice update, and a lot more comfortable than the original design.

Thank you Aerostich for making the best leather suit in the world. (Posted on 9/26/12)
This is one fine leather suit Review by L.E.
This suit is everything Aerostich claims it to be. It's a very substantial piece of leather gear. The pictures online don't do it justice at all. The armor feels great and is secure. The only thing I would change is the connecting zipper, wish it was 360 degree. This is the best suit I have ever owned. Love my Transit. Thanks for making such a fine piece of gear available. (Posted on 9/20/12)
The Best Riding Gear I hvae ever used! Review by Kai
I recently purchased my second Transit suit. My first did a stellar job for over a year, resisting the worst the elements could throw at me. Unfortunately, it met an early demise after a careless motorist t-boned me in traffic. I am happy to say the Transit likely helped reduce my injuries dramatically (no "road rash" at all, armour points protected the pointy bits). Sadly, the suit was effectively trashed, and given the complexity, I can see why they cannot repair it in house.

The crash replacement arrived just in time for my September road trip. I wore that suit for 8 to 10 hours a day for six days from Vancouver, th NoCal and back. Even in the heat of central Cali and southern Oregon, I was comfortable with the rear vent open wide, and the main zip lowered to allow air flow. Comfy indeed.

As to rain proof, yeah it is. I live in Vancouver, BC. We get more rain here in some months than some places will see in an entire year. I commute daily by M/C. I always arrive at my destination bone dry.

The suit's first real trial was a day ride back from Olympia. WA to Vancouver on the I-5 in May of last year. Poured rain the entire way. 5 1/2 hours of PNW downpour. And I stayed dry and warm.

The suit works. And is worth the price. Plus, I think it looks sharp as well. Leathers without having to look like either a Power Ranger or a Pirate. yeah, baby! (Posted on 9/14/12)
The ONE Suit Review by Black'n'White
The Transit was my fourth riding suit purchase from Aerostich. The first two were two piece Roadcrafters, the first more than twenty years ago. Along the way I picked up a Darien Light in hopes of having something more comfortable to use in the summer, but it really doesn't flow enough air. So when the Transit came along I was anxious to give it a try, especially in the hot summer sun.

I wasn't disappointed. Though a bit heavier than the Roadcrafter, and lots heavier than the Darian Light, the Transit's heft is only noticeable the first few times you put it on. And after more than two years and tens of thousands of miles, I don't notice it at all. At first I missed the large number of pockets from the other 'Stiches, but the Transit has enough pockets to get the job done. In trade I haven't lost anything in the Transit pockets yet because it's easy to check 'em all quickly. The only thing I really miss from the Roadcrafters is the sleeve pocket, which is handy for toll money, but since leaving the San Francisco Bay Area I don't need it and don't miss the commute traffic in the least. The lining in the Transit makes it easy to get on and off, and feels good against my skin if I decide to wear just a T-shirt underneath. With an electric jacket and a wind blocker fleece it'll keep me warm down to freezing. With synthetic shorts, pants, and long sleeve shirt it's comfortable (as long as I'm moving) to over a hundred degrees. I haven't figured out how to keep rain out of my collar yet, but everything else has been bone dry after a day spent in the rain.

I purchased mine large enough to wear pants and several layers of shirts/jackets underneath, so it's a bit baggy on my skinny frame. It won't win me any fashion contests, but that's the Aerostich way. My wife, however, loves the leather, and even likes the fit, especially the pants. I use a Bison Designs Last Chance belt which looks great, is easy to open and close, and may someday come in handy in case I need to rescue myself from going over a cliff.

Only three nits so far: The snap above the pants zipper pulled out of the fabric in the flap because the snap was always stiff and never eased up. The Bison belt keeps the flap in line so I haven't bothered to get that fixed. The left leg zipper is getting bad where it passes the knee. I've tried soap and bees wax to help it along, but it's time for a new zipper. It's been almost a year since the Rider Wearhouse staff commented on repairs here, and I was hoping for some good news but so far nothing. Lastly, no care instructions seem to be available. I've talked to several folks at Rider Wearhouse since the purchase and none of them can be any more specific than "use a quality leather conditioner". One of the things I really valued about my Roadcrafters and Darien is easy repairs and clear instructions on how to keep them clean and waterproof. The Transit is a vast departure from that standard, and for such an expensive purchase, I'm feeling a little anxious at this point. Just today I used saddle soap and a leather conditioning product from Griot's Garage in an attempt to get the bugs off and restore some of the suppleness to the leather. The color has faded on the front and top of the jacket and pants, and the leather near the zipper seams has lost all its color. The Griot's product helped bring some, but not all, of the new look back. It smells good, just like new auto upholstery. Sure hope I didn't screw up the breathe-ability of the perforated leather though.

At the end of the day the real question is "would you buy another Transit suit?" My answer is an unqualified "YES!". It's easily the most versatile riding suit I've ever used, it has a level of protection and padding far above the offerings from BMW, First Gear, etc. and hopefully with proper care it'll be the last suit (unless I "grow" or crash out of it) i'll ever need.

My wife also rides, and wishes there was a version more tailored to the female physique. Since her birthday is next month, I do, too! (Posted on 5/23/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 41 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required