Read the Catalog Online - Now
Order (Or Download) The Print Catalogs Here

Questions? LIVE CHAT

#217 Aerostich Electric Warmbib

Aerostich Electric Warmbib #217-221-229-231

28 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$97.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 28 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Warmth. Cheap. Review by Mark
I've had my warmbib for several months now. Once or twice, for a little additional warmth, I've worn it without bothering to plug it in, and it definitely helps in borderline conditions (particularly if your outer layer isn't especially windproof). This past weekend, temps dipped into the 20s -- colder than "borderline" in my book -- so I fired her up. Oooohhh! That's nice! Just the right amount of warmth, where it's needed most. Clipped to my tankbag, the partially-coiled cord let me stand on the pegs when I needed to without causing a disconnect. I'm very pleased. The warmbib is a great value. Now to find some heated gloves... (Posted on 2/18/14)
Fixed Review by Rob
I decided on a Warm Bib from Aerostich as part of my "Dual Sport Ensemble". Yeah, that's kinda lame, but it is what it is. I ride with a 'stich on my Versys, layering up or down underneath as needed. It's been an a fine solution for 12 years, a great design, and nothing needed fixing (I did have it crash repaired once, and had the pants zips replaced with the new ones last year). It can be a bit warm for Dual sporting though.
I have a jacket from another company that I picked up barely used and I've been using it on the DR. The jacket works pretty well and it has a toasty zip-in liner. The liner provides a nice insulated layer everywhere- except down the front! The DR spills a lot of air at the chest, and once I got the bike I really noticed the gap. Initially I dealt with the problem by ditching the liner and using a wind-block fleece. This eliminated the cold spot and fixed another issue of the jacket- the collar chafes when fully closed. It was more tolerable than toasty though, and layering my Aero heated vest under it was bulky, especially at the collar. I didn't have a power port for the vest on the DR anyway.
Snatching victory from the jaws of defeat, I decided to take the plunge on the warm bib. I also bought the Battery Tender Jr., and am just using the pigtail from the BT to power the bib. The liner went back into the jacket, the warm bib blocks the wind at the gap and adds toasty heat at the core when plugged in. Works great! Warm core means more blood flow to the hands AND feet, also the heat is added at a well insulated spot and doesn't get blown away or sucked into the aluminum bars. I'm holding off on the heated grips for now, though I may end up caving, warm grips are deliciously decadent.
The bib has a comfy fleece collar, adds very little (additional) bulk under the jacket, and packs up small enough to ride in the US10. The pigtail hides behind the left-side panel keeping the spartan aesthetic intact, and I get to keep the cool Oury grips.
So I fixed my jacket from the other guys with a modestly priced piece from Aerostich. What's that? Shoulda bought a Darien? (Posted on 12/6/13)
Fantastic! Review by Tom
This is a fantastic item! Went for a ride this morning (42F) just to test it out (OK, and to meet my crazy motorcycle buddies for coffee) On top of a short sleeve tee, and under a medium weight fleece, topped off with a Darien Lite. No windshield, either. Warm and toasty. Brilliant idea!!!!! (Posted on 10/26/13)
Just Right Review by Dominic
Received my Warmbib earlier this week. Yesterday was cloudy and 46 degrees, so I thought that I would take it for a ride to see how well it worked. I sit behind a windshield on my bike that comes up to about chin level. I also had my grip heaters set to high. I wore the bib between a t-shirt and a fleece, then I put on my Roadcrafter jacket. With the bib off...too cold. With the bib on...too hot! Using a thermostat set at mid position...just right. Very nice! (Posted on 10/25/13)
Just what I needed Review by Brian
Made a 140 mile ride to Aerostich in Duluth on a drizzly 40-50 degree day and picked up a Warmbib there for the ride home. Between my Goldwing heated seat and my Warmbib under my riding gear I was all toasty cozy. What I like best is the Warmbib is small enough keep stored with my rain gear at all times in case my wife or myself gets cold on a long ride. The only improvement I could see is the addition of a rheostat type switch to adjust the temperature instead of just on/off. (Posted on 5/29/13)
Great item! Review by Chilled one
This is one great little item. Not as bulky as a coat, but kept me warm on a chilly day. A second use, I have a bad back...so I plugged it in, turned it around, and had toasty warmth on my back. Almost like a heating pad on a bike. Keeps me going all day now! :) (Posted on 3/31/13)
Yeah, It really works, Review by Clint
I have been using the Warmbib for most of a month under a Roadcrafter in the cold Seattle rain. It has made a big difference. The warmth on my chest takes that cold tension out of my body . I just feel warmer and more able to concentrate on the bad drivers on cell phones and less on how cold I am. I like the fact you can put it on without taking off your suit or jacket.. Makes it easier to use. Very cool product . (Posted on 2/21/13)
not a vest Review by KW
Good value but my back was chilled riding a Bmw r1150rt - glad it was on the bike in Nov. in Mi. (Posted on 11/8/12)
Warmbib should be called COZY Bib!! Review by Starrider
I purchased this Cozy Bib about 2 weeks ago, just before the onset of cold season (elev.7000'). Normally, by this time of the year, I would have my favorite past-time up on blocks with the Battery Tender hooked up!! I've been able to ride EVERY day since this purchase because the bib genuinely keeps me toasty warm even when I'm creating my on Wind chill factor (I can't do 55)!! This Warm (cozy) bib is the best purchase of it's type that I have ever made and the theory behind it (keeps your core heated) really works!! If you ride in "COLD" weather and you don't have ANY heated gear, this is a very affordable way to start your collection!! (Posted on 11/2/12)
Electric Warmbib Review by Eddie
I have been using the Warmbib for three years now and I could not be happier with it. I Have been all over Australia on my Suzuki GSF1250S including the snowy mountains where temperatures were down to -10 degrees. Toes were cold but body remained warm. Bib does not seem to affect alternator output. (Posted on 10/6/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 28 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Simplifying Comfort (...a Better Power-cord)

We have been making this pretty neat coil cord power control for twenty years. I remember designing it to be an illuminated hi-low inline switch of such small dimension that it would not be a 'lump' in the middle of a compact coily power cord. We went round-and-round trying to find a switch which would allow a better functioning and packaging design. Something tactually, visually, and ergonomically lighter and cleaner.

And there still isn't anything as good in terms of simplicity and overall handy-ness. I wanted this cord switch to be so easy to use one could forgo a thermostat. They always seemed useless over-complexity...even the newer nice digital ones everyone uses now (just yesterday all were stupid power-hungry inefficient resistance rheostats). I'd used one several times but wanted something thoughtlessly simple, super-compact and field-reparable if ever needed. (This last consideration turned out irrelevant.)

It's just too easy to be riding along and without looking down move my left hand downward from the grip momentarily to find the cord lying across my left thigh and then by touch alone (finger or thumb) push or release the illuminated in-out button…then move my hand back to the left grip.

It's only one second, done without thinking, and there's no fumbling around. I can feel at a touch if the button is in high or low position to maintain temperature at a nice level all day long, with neither thought or effort. Just click-on and click-off as needed for comfort, and if there's ever question about power status a quick glance down shows the red pilot light glowing on or off through the button's cap. Even in daylight.

So today if I were for some reason forced to use some non-Aerostich electric garment, I'd still want this simple, intuitive and reliable coil cord and switch.

- Mr. Subjective 12-13

Electric Bib Story

A few years ago John Chase (designer and co-founder of the pioneering motorcycle luggage company Chase Harper) wanted some electric heating wires for an experimental off-road chest protector. One prototype led to another and pretty soon we were making prototype versions of this Kanestu electric bib. They worked so well…much better than we'd anticipated…and there was nothing else even remotely like them on the market. So we applied for a US Patent (#D641,543S) and somewhat surprisingly received one.

With perfect hindsight it's easy to see why this non-obvious invention is so wonderful. Generations of riders have put layers of newspaper under their jackets, carefully positioned across their chest to block cold winds. At the same time our circulatory system is incredibly efficient at moving any calorie of added heat to all areas of our body, no matter where those calories are added. Doesn't matter if they come via heated grips, saddles, vests, liners, bibs or from a just-imbibed piping hot cup of cocoa. Calories are the same wherever they're added.

Worn beneath an Aerostich textile suit aboard my unfaired bike I'm good to temps in the lowish fifties during all-day-long rides...and down into the forties under a Transit jacket.

Whenever cool weather is anticipated I'll also carry a wind block jersey and a 100wt micro fleece...and layer-up as needed: electric bib first, then fleece, then the jersey and lastly the Roadcrafter/Darien or Transit. The combination takes me five to ten degrees lower.

Is this electric bib is the most important new Aerostich product we've added during the last five or ten years? I don't know. But if it's not it's near the top of the list.

-- Mr. Subjective, 9-13

X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required