Order / Download Print Catalogs
Read the Catalog Online - Now

Questions? LIVE CHAT

#217 Aerostich Electric Warmbib

Aerostich Electric Warmbib #217-221-229-231

28 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$97.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 28 of 28 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
toasty warm Review by alexdog911
works really well, put the heat right where you need it , over your heart, and your heart circulates warm blood out to the hands and feet. remarkably effective. (Posted on 10/22/11)
kept my tittyboobies warm warm warm Review by Donald
On a three week camping ride through the northwest, I rode through and camped at Lava Beds National Monument in far northern California, near the Oregon border, last week October 3 and it was snowing then it stopped and temperatures plunged below 30 and I was so very warm. I had compromised and wore an Olympus mesh jumpsuit with bicycle water proofs under neath. The vest made the difference between a bone chilling ride and one of comfort and joy. I don't hang with motorcyclist cause their usually a kinda weird bunch, present company excepted of course, but on several occasions I bragged to riders I met that I was riding with the breeze flowing through my lightweight mesh suit AND heat waves emanating from chest. PS the airflow is sufficient around the back to obviate a full wrap around vest. Get one for your whole family... (Posted on 10/12/11)
Small and Warm Review by Geezer
It took me 61 years to buy my first electric vest. Something about "new fangled contraptions" and "losing my macho" kept me from joining the 20th Century until we were into the 21st Century. Early in 2008, I bought an Aerostich Kanetsu Airvantage electric vest and wore it for several months, extending my fall comfort range right up until ice began to stick to the streets. In 2009, I discovered another warm electric product, the Kanetsu Electric Warmbib. At $67, even a cheapskate can justify mobile electric heat. Like all things Aerostich, the construction quality of the Warmbib is exceptional. Mr. Goldfine wants me to say that my test product was "1st generation" and that the current version is improved. I haven't seen the improvements, but my bib is terrific.

My only complaint about the Airvantage is that it's fairly bulky. I'm either committed to wearing it or it stays at home. I was too cheap to buy the sleeves for the Airvantage, so that's a problem, too. The biggest reason I wanted to test this product was because I hoped it would fit under my Darien liner and that the self-packing feature would allow me to stuff the bib into my tank bag. Both assumptions were accurate.

For example, on a moderately cool March weekend, I decided to make a run across town for some computer gear. I tossed my Darien over whatever I'd been wearing around the house and hit the road. About two miles from home, I realized 45F on the bike was a lot colder than 45F in the sun in my backyard. I stopped, pulled the Warmbib from my tankbag, strapped it on (without having to remove my jacket, helmet, or gloves), plugged in, and hit the road in near-instant comfort. With only the Warmbib and my liner-less Darien gear, I was polar bear toasty for the rest of the trip.

The Warmbib is held in place only with a hook-and-loop patch that is the end of the stretch fleece collar. You just pull it around your neck and push the collar on to the hook patch and you're set. The Warmbib uses the usual Aerostich wiring gear, including a lighted switch or not, and I simply plugged mine into the wiring I installed for the Airvantage. The the slick Gore-tex® Windstopper® material on the front allows the bib to slip under your jacket while the fleece at the back of the bib does a fine job of holding the bib in place. Compared to typical heated vests, the Warmbib's 2.5A, 30W consumption is 66-250% less demanding on your bike's electrical system. That's worth considering for dual purpose or scooter applications. In fact, I installed wiring for the Warmbib on my Kawasaki KL250; a bike that has a limited electrical system capacity.

I was worried that I'd really miss the heat my Airvantage applies to my back, especially on below freezing days, but that hasn't been much of a sacrifice. In use, the Warmbib might even be a diet device. I'm not kidding. The bib heats your chest and stomach, but the heat on my gut isn't much different from the warm afterglow of a big meal. As a daily commuter accessory, the Warmbib does the job effectively. I include mine on any spring or fall ride that has the slightest chance of turning cold. Now that cold weather is upon us, it's back in my luggage and I'm ready for winter. (Posted on 3/8/11)
Great piece of gear! Review by David
This is one of those items that made me wonder: why didn't they come up with this a long time ago? I can only say that it works really well. I keep mine in my tank bag and it is so nice to have. I often wear a "bomber" jacket and my bib allows me to comfortably ride in temperatures that would otherwise be much too chilling . A nice bonus of keeping your core warm is that your extremities also fare much better. I now consider this a "must have" piece of gear! Highly recommended! (Posted on 11/30/10)
It's Grrrreat Review by Biker 650
I have a Kanetsu fleece vest with sleeves; I love it when I use it; I hate it when I pack it. This is the best $70 I've ever spent, period. I have it when I need it & it works. Cold mornings, returning after dark, rain, mountains etc. Surprisingly effective. I have a thermostat from the vest but mostly I just wear this closer to the skin when it gets colder & over a sweater when it's warmer. Made in America & I'm a Canadian & that's important to me. For the price of a meal for two at a moderate restaurant or a night in a moderate motel, you can be comfortable & keep your mind on the road, not on how uncomfortable you are. Buy it!! (Posted on 10/22/10)
Arrived Just in Time Review by Blacksanction
I ordered the warmbib last week Sunday night and it arrived on my doorstep on Thursday afternoon. I packed it in my saddlebag and rode to work on Friday night. On Saturday morning I left work at 6am and it was 4C or 39F. I plugged my bib in, crossed my fingers and rode home. Man I was glad that I packed it as it did a great job of keeping my warm all the way home.
The bib is a keeper. I have an electric liner and had thought that the bib would be a great backup if I had a pillion who got cold. No I am thinking that I might not share at all- lol. (Posted on 10/3/10)
Pros & Cons Review by BigLew
I wear Gerbing liner, gloves and socks for serious cold weather riding. They have worked well for me, but pack large. The Aerostich bib is small, easy to pack and simple to use. It heats the torso nicely and makes 20-40 degree Fahrenheit days more comfortable. If you're riding on the cooler side of 35 degrees without hand guards, all the leather in the world won't change things. So the bib is a great addition to "cold" riding in the southern states and is also a smile producing item on those unexpectedly cold spring/summer/fall evenings when you didn't pack any serious clothing and need to stay toasty without a lot of bulk. I keep it in the sidecase of my FJR year-round now, because I live farther south but still enjoy being comfortable in the other three seasons. Can't beat it for the bucks. bl (Posted on 1/15/10)
Great! Unplugged or plugged Review by mugwump58
Used in the 20's to the 50's now. Useful plugged or unplugged. Stores very small. I will carry this on long trips in the summer. I did have to stop and buy a newspaper once this summer. I'll never freeze again even in my summer gear or winter for that matter. Yayyy WarmBib. (Posted on 11/14/09)

Items 21 to 28 of 28 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Simplifying Comfort (...a Better Power-cord)

We have been making this pretty neat coil cord power control for twenty years. I remember designing it to be an illuminated hi-low inline switch of such small dimension that it would not be a 'lump' in the middle of a compact coily power cord. We went round-and-round trying to find a switch which would allow a better functioning and packaging design. Something tactually, visually, and ergonomically lighter and cleaner.

And there still isn't anything as good in terms of simplicity and overall handy-ness. I wanted this cord switch to be so easy to use one could forgo a thermostat. They always seemed useless over-complexity...even the newer nice digital ones everyone uses now (just yesterday all were stupid power-hungry inefficient resistance rheostats). I'd used one several times but wanted something thoughtlessly simple, super-compact and field-reparable if ever needed. (This last consideration turned out irrelevant.)

It's just too easy to be riding along and without looking down move my left hand downward from the grip momentarily to find the cord lying across my left thigh and then by touch alone (finger or thumb) push or release the illuminated in-out button…then move my hand back to the left grip.

It's only one second, done without thinking, and there's no fumbling around. I can feel at a touch if the button is in high or low position to maintain temperature at a nice level all day long, with neither thought or effort. Just click-on and click-off as needed for comfort, and if there's ever question about power status a quick glance down shows the red pilot light glowing on or off through the button's cap. Even in daylight.

So today if I were for some reason forced to use some non-Aerostich electric garment, I'd still want this simple, intuitive and reliable coil cord and switch.

- Mr. Subjective 12-13

Electric Bib Story

A few years ago John Chase (designer and co-founder of the pioneering motorcycle luggage company Chase Harper) wanted some electric heating wires for an experimental off-road chest protector. One prototype led to another and pretty soon we were making prototype versions of this Kanestu electric bib. They worked so well…much better than we'd anticipated…and there was nothing else even remotely like them on the market. So we applied for a US Patent (#D641,543S) and somewhat surprisingly received one.

With perfect hindsight it's easy to see why this non-obvious invention is so wonderful. Generations of riders have put layers of newspaper under their jackets, carefully positioned across their chest to block cold winds. At the same time our circulatory system is incredibly efficient at moving any calorie of added heat to all areas of our body, no matter where those calories are added. Doesn't matter if they come via heated grips, saddles, vests, liners, bibs or from a just-imbibed piping hot cup of cocoa. Calories are the same wherever they're added.

Worn beneath an Aerostich textile suit aboard my unfaired bike I'm good to temps in the lowish fifties during all-day-long rides...and down into the forties under a Transit jacket.

Whenever cool weather is anticipated I'll also carry a wind block jersey and a 100wt micro fleece...and layer-up as needed: electric bib first, then fleece, then the jersey and lastly the Roadcrafter/Darien or Transit. The combination takes me five to ten degrees lower.

Is this electric bib is the most important new Aerostich product we've added during the last five or ten years? I don't know. But if it's not it's near the top of the list.

-- Mr. Subjective, 9-13

X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required