Read the Catalog Online - Now
Order (Or Download) The Print Catalogs Here

Questions? LIVE CHAT

#1567 Competition & #1549 Standard Silk Scarf

Aerostich Competition Silk Scarves #1567-1568

22 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$34.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 22 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Not a foo-foo item Review by Urban Coyote
I love these scarves! Yes new they are slippery and will slide right off from the wind unless secured properly I've lost two (it takes me a while, slow learner ).Yes the white gets dirty. But the look and feel of silk is unmatched. I really tuck mine in to my jacket, I don't wipe my dirty oily hands on it and I'm so pleased I give them as gifts. Nuff said (Posted on 8/13/12)
7/25/12 Review by David
Received my new Scarf before I left on my 2012 summer trip. I have been wearing a Buff neck gator for many years & miles. At first I was trying to find the best way for me to tie it on & make it comfortable. Once I figured that out WOW, what a great purchase! After 12 days & 3500 miles Im sold. Would buy again in a heart beat. (Posted on 7/25/12)
Great soaked! Review by Paul
With the toasty weather so far, I've been running my Competition scarf under some water, throwing it in the freezer (for that instant chill as I first walk out to the bike); throwing on my RC or Vanson leathers, wrap-on the chilled scarf, and boom! Silky-smooth evaporap, good for an hour jaunt somewhere!
Can't wait to try in cooler weather! (Posted on 7/11/12)
Silk Scarf Review by SlabRider
I was disappointed that the Black scarf was back ordered, but the cheery and prompt substitution of a white scarf kept me happy. (Posted on 6/11/12)
Comfortable, Simple Review by mateo
Comfortable and oddly warm for it silkiness. You have to be a real man to pull off a white silk scarf in general company. Good news: Being white gets it dirty real quick.
Couple my chain-grease-stained scarf with a ratty scraped-up dual-sport and I can trick most strangers into thinking that I am that guy. (Posted on 4/13/12)
waiting Review by Kimmer
Love my standard weight white scarf;so I am looking forward to receiving Comp weight BLACK (Posted on 12/20/11)
Silk Scarf Review by Sam
A great addition to my wardrobe, it's warm and I receive compliments on it all of the time. (Posted on 12/13/11)
Smooth as Silk Review by Henway
Love it, got two, one for me, one as a gift. Seals out the cold AK air, and will be nice in summer, too. Feels chic. (Posted on 12/4/11)
Scarf Review by West Coast
Living on the West Coast we get a lot of cooler weather. The scarf keeps the cold wind off my neck. It makes the morning ride to work a lot more comfortable. (Posted on 11/8/11)
It works Review by Shoe
My new black silk scarf went with me on a 1500 mile ride the week it arrived. It does everything they say it will in the promo paragraph- it's cool and silky on the skin, stops the wind from going down your neck and stops all chafing. Excellent product I'm happy to wear.
Plus it freaks out all those biker night dudes who ride their Harley wearing no gear to see me on the Electra Glide with my full face Bell, full black leather suit and black scarf. They know they can't hang and part like the red sea to let me motor on by. (Posted on 10/11/11)

Items 11 to 20 of 22 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Mil-spec 'big H' history...

Silk was so important that its trade probably changed the world history more than any other technology. The famous 'Silk Road' connected Europe to the Far East during the middle ages, and this brought together global knowledge that advanced civilization and helped begin the renaissance.

Strategic military considerations, not demand for fashionable garments, caused the establishment of this trade route. During the middle ages front-line soldiers lived, traveled and fought wearing coarse tunics and outer uniforms. Silk scarves allowed soldiers to close their protective battle (and outdoor survival) garments tightly around their necks without chafing or discomfort, so they could fight better and travel farther. This was a true battlefield advantage.

As recently as World War I this remained so. Early planes and cars were all 'open cockpit'. Soldiers still lived and campaigned outdoors for weeks at a time, and this meant wearing heavy gear. After the war civilian pilots, race car drivers, motorcyclists and movie idols (Douglas Fairbanks, Errol Flynn...) further enshrined silk scarves as garb synonymous with bravery, courage and endurance.

Then airplanes and cars became enclosed and military dress adapted. Soft, slippery scarves became unnecessary. Silk's swashbuckler history and function was not only forgotten, it became a laughable cliché. Something only worn by old men.

The last vestiges of the silk scarf's centuries-long military role evolved into the fashion of men wearing neckties with their sport coats, blazers and business suits. Silk scarves had become decorative neckwear. (Now you know where neckties come from.)

That's sort of a sad ending for such an important habiliment -- except once again riders have rediscovered how great these scarves work when worn with modern riding gear closed tightly around one's neck. Once you've tried wearing one, you'll never look back. Make some history.

- Mr Subjective, 12-29-13

X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required