Read the Catalog Online - Now
Order (Or Download) The Print Catalogs Here

Questions? LIVE CHAT

Michael Carion - 2013

Falstaff Motorcycle Jacket #170

40 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$527.00
OR

Share Your Review

Share your comments and experience with Aerostich products. Please login (click here) to the Aerostich web site (logging-in is required to post a review). All reviews are screened before posting.

If you have comments about product selections, pricing, ordering, delivery, business policies or other customer service issues, please do not use a product review. Instead, directly for a resolution.

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 40 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Great Jacket Review by Mark R
Got this from my lovely wife for Christmas. Have had a strangely warm winter so I have got some riding in with it. Just bought and new BMW R1200 GSA and am really putting the miles on now! Has been warm, dry, and vents well when the weather has been really warm. Only in a couple of rain storms so far but stayed quite dry. Has a bit if an odor but was expected and now it smells like FUN. It is rapidly becoming the best jacket I have owned. Will report back later in the season. (Posted on 4/5/12)
Falstaff Jacket Review Review by Nelson
I really like this jacket. I use it more for everyday use. Some advise- get it larger if you plan to use the pads that come with it. They are unusually bulky, I removed them and use the pads from my BMW jacket or a separate armor layer. I am glad I went with the reflective delete option, it makes it more versatile to wear. It is well constructed and versatile. It is easy to misplace items with so many pockets but they are a fun addition to a very adaptable garment. (Posted on 2/11/12)
Hit the Christmas Jackpot! Review by Much Loved Wife
I ordered this jacket for my husband for Christmas because he is impossible to buy for. I saw it in the catalog and thought it was nice looking. What I didn't know was that he had wanted one but didn't want to spend the money on himself. He was practically speechless, which never happens in this house! Want to be a much loved wife? Order this jacket! (Posted on 12/28/11)
How much Retro does a man need ! Review by Mark
First impressions and I was in love. First couple of rides and OK it's a bit different. But the fit was spot on, with plenty of room for layering. The armour seems a little stiff and bulky, but it is brand new. Not real keen on the little strap to do the collar up, longevity maybe a concern here. Make the strap the same width as the collar itself, with velcro on either side. Have not ridden in the rain yet, so cannot comment there. The only other thing is geographical, your zips do up the opposite way. But I guess thats the same as our water going down the drain the other way down here in Australia. I have two old Goretex jackets hanging in my garage that leak like teabags and cost twice the price. I love my Fallstaff. Thanks. (Posted on 10/4/11)
Not Bad, I like it Review by ROBERT
Got this jacket last January. I decided to wait till I had worn it through a Georgia summer to write a review. This jacket works very well for layering in colder weather as I expected and to my surprise ventilates better, and there for is cooler, than the warm season synthetic jacket I have. The fit was good and by the chart. The pockets are numerous and I am constantly looking for something I know is in there but I can't quite lay my hands on. I add some reproofing soon after I got it. If you're looking for a sleek body hugging deign, this is not it. It is comfortable and well made. (Posted on 9/8/11)
Waiting for Winter Review by Russ
I live in Tucson Arizona, and this jacket is way too heavy until at least late November here in the desert.
I will review it at that time, I will say that it fits nice and the material has a great distressed look to it.
Looking foward to testing it out, and I will get back in a couple of months! (Posted on 9/7/11)
I like it Review by Usmusket
I got this jacket last winter and waited to review it until I had a chance to wear it a while and see how I liked in the summer here in Georgia. Of the four jackets I have I like this one the best. I am quite impressed with the quality of the construction. While it's still hot to wear in the summer it ventilates better than the "summer" nylon jacket I have and is consequently the coolest summer jacket I have. I didn't have the fit problem that some have. The neck closure doesn't work well and there are so many pockets that I tend lose small things. If your looking sleek close fitting jacket, this ain't it; but it is my favorite all around jacket now. (Posted on 8/23/11)
This jacket is a joke Review by SF_Rider
This jacket is a huge sail and catches wind and flutters like nothing else I have ever worn. Avoid this product unless you use it while driving a car or have some other enclosed cockpit.

I can't believe they sell this jacket... (Posted on 7/26/11)
Performance; sizing; proofing Review by Tom
My last favorite jacket was a Belstaff Trialmaster, and before that a Barbour. (I've ridden full-time since 1965.)

When the Falstaff came, I was concerned that zipper overlaps would catch rain. They may, but rain does not get in. I'm on the southern Oregon coast. Eight months of the year rain and wind come as closely- coupled as newlyweds. The Falstaff does not leak.

Make sure it fits before you wear it.
My shirt size is 17 X 36/37. I'm 6 feet tall and weigh 225. I ordered the jacket in XL. I wore it a couple of months before I realized that the trunk fit well but the sleeves were too short. For a decent fee, the company added 2 inches to the sleeves. Now the cuff breaks on the back of my hand close to the knuckles when I stand, and perfectly when I ride. If you have fairly long arms, order the jacket with fairly long arms.

The company says you won't have to reproof for a long time. I've used Barbour, Belstaff, and now Aerostitch, so trust me:
ride a couple of months to get your own wrinkles into the fabric, then on a warm day reproof liberally with a paste wax and take a good ride.

Last: the other reviewers are right. The neck closure is uncertain. The Belstaff buckle provides a better one. But if you wear a scarf that doesn't wick and pair the jacket with a Darien trouser, you will stay dry, warm, and happy in the worst of rains -even ours.

Tom

p.s. The best scarf: slice a 6-inch strip off the bottom of an acrylic blanket, double it, wrap it around your neck, and tuck the tails into your suspenders. You'll still have plenty of blanket to crawl under when you get home. (Posted on 6/8/11)
falsfaff jacket Review by charles
Its a great jacket BUT...bought the Falstaff last spring to replace a very worn out old Belstaff wax jacket.I had experimented with a UK Ride Recommended Textile Jacket but found the pop in pop out liners plain awkward,the sleeve ending up inside out every time I took it off.The Falstaff appealed because it was a waterproof outer and I could add my own liner jackets to keep warm.
It is certainly an easy jacket to pull on and off and fits well over my Primaloft insulated jacket and has the feel and look of a quality garment.My main beef is with the fit and some of the functionality.I checked with AS as to the fit and they recommeneded a medium but I found it restricted my arm movements.Sending it back from the UK was more expensive than I care to remember.I am glad I chose the lighter armour but did not realise that I should also have chosen a longer arm length.The large gives more freedom but is definitely too long in the body and requires hitching up at the waist.

The bottom velcro tab struggles to stay closed,perhaps a popper would be more positive or ideally a reduction in the length at the front of the jacket-something most other manufactures already do.

Some of the better European brands seem to recognize that some bikers with longer legs need shorter jackets and I would say thet AS need to take this on board at some point.The other issue is that the trademark vented pit zips are useful occassionally but do compromise articulation and comfort.I suspect they may also pull the already short sleeve up and away from the wrist.If you are buying,you really need to get them to confirm elbow to wrist lenght as,as standard it is an inch or two short for a bike jacket.The velcro at the cuff also tends to tug the zip open,the rear reflector flutters , the sleeves really do need anti flutter tabs as standard and the neck is only airtight with a buff or scarf.
Its a bit frustrating to buy a classic product only to find that there is a list of features that should be sorted but aren't.AS have a great website but more detailed information about sizing and making sure all the options had to be ticked or not ticked prior to sale would help. (Posted on 5/26/11)

Items 11 to 20 of 40 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
X

Receive advance product news, exclusive deals and special sale offers first!

* indicates required